The 85th Edition Of Wednesday Hodgepodge…

Eighty-five?  Wow, that’s a lot of questions and answers!  I still look forward to Wednesdays, thanks to Joyce and her “Hodgepodge”, and  I hope you do, too.   If you haven’t joined us yet,  today would be a great time to!  Now, on to the questions…

1. The Summer Olympics begin next week and London is playing host. If you had the chance to go in person which (non-Olympic) London site would you most like to visit?

I don’t know much about London, but I think I’d like to visit Westminster Abby,  the sight of the Royal Wedding.  It looks massive, very impressive, and so beautiful…

2. What is something in your life right now that feels like an Olympic event?

Life in general feels like an Olympic event these days!  I’ve been fighting a flare up of Lichen Sclerosis, along with a urinary tract infection, and a yeast infection for over two weeks.  It hurts to sit, it’s painful to wear fitted clothing–and it’s hot outside!  Need I say more?

3. What’s your favorite supper to prepare and serve when it’s too hot to cook?

Anything that Ed  prepares on the grill!  Hamburgers/hot dogs are always a quick favorite of ours.

4. July 18th is National Get Out of the Doghouse Day…when was the last time you were ‘in the doghouse’?

About 3 weeks ago, when I unwittingly made a comment, which my daughter perceived the wrong way.

5. What television advertisement do you find particularly irritating or inappropriate? You may not answer with ‘all of them’. I know some of you were thinking about it.

Lawyer advertisements!  We have a couple of local law firms in our area who have the most disgusting commercials…One of them has a “rap jingle”, while the other has the slogan, “One call does it all!”   Here’s the “rap jingle”, which I find particularly disgusting:

6. Share one piece of interesting news from the year you were born.

Let’s see, it was 1954…Nothing came to mind, so I resorted to “Google”.  The major news events of 1954 seemed to center around “McCarthyism”.  More interesting to me were these prices from 1954:  the average price of a house – $10, 250.00,  a gallon of gasoline – 22 cents,  average cost of a new car – $1,700.00, average monthly rent – $85.00, and the price of a movie ticket – 70 cents.  Wow!

7. What’s the best part of your average day?

The best part of any day is having Ed come home from work each afternoon.  He always greets me with a smile and a kiss.

Random:

The “doghouse question” above brings an old memory back to mind… One year, for Christmas, my sister-in-law gave my parents a little wooden plaque known as “The Doghouse”.  On the plaque was a flat red doghouse, with a hook located inside of the doghouse door.  Also on the plaque, beside the doghouse were several little dogs, all holding little white frames that you could write names on.  The poem on the top of the plaque went like this:

All the family writes their names

On the dogs’ white picture frames

If your temper, you must show

In the doghouse you must go!

Our family had a lot of fun with that plaque, and it seemed like somebody was always in the doghouse!

I couldn’t find a photo of an exact replica, but this plaque is similar:

Published in: on July 18, 2012 at 7:15 am  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/the-85th-edition-of-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We grill a lot too. Lately it’s been too hot even for that! Last night I did dinner in the crock pot which is another good alternative to heating up the kitchen.

  2. Very cute doghouse plaque!

  3. I think my grandma had the same doghouse plaque! It was red, with flat plastic dogs for each member of the family. If I look hard at my mom’s house, I might just be able to find it! I had not thought about that in years, but it does go well with the doghouse question. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. 🙂 Have a great day!

  4. It’s been too hot here to ask DH to get out on the grill. Plus they’ve asked not to burn outdoors with the dry conditions due to the drought. Otherwise, grilling outdoors would be my answer to cooking when it’s just too hot to cook indoors. 😉

  5. I remember seeing those dog house thingys- we never had one but I thought they were so funny. Finally, after 28 years, the husband has learned how to grill without burning everything. So now we enjoy his grilling too!

  6. I always look forward to Hodgepodge each week. I remember those dog houses! Love your answer “when Frank comes home from work.”

  7. I hope you feel better soon. The doghouse plague is cute.

  8. Had the same answer to #1-love to visit London one day.
    Had to share the doghouse plaque with hub-thanks.

  9. My London place would be Kensington Palace. The Princess Diana thing you know. With air conditioning in the house, I sure don’t want to turn on an oven or burners for any length of time. I have made a macaroni salad with ham and cheese in it to go with tomatoes and cucumbers. (Sometimes I put in shrimp instead) That’s an easy one.

    I love the Olympics and I don’t know why. I am not really a sports kind of girl.

  10. I remember those dog houses, they were all the rage at one time. We are the same age. So in 1954 peanut M&M were created. Now that’s something to be happy about.

  11. Thank you for your comment today 🙂

  12. I think my family could have used the doghouse plaque when I was growing up, mostly for me1


Leave a Reply

