Just Me On Monday…

Acting Balanced

I’ve been MIA after taking a few days off for some rest, relaxation, and rejuvenation,  but I’m back now to begin the week  anew.  Wow, the last four days sure went by in a hurry, but of course the good days always do, don’t they?

Ed and I  had reservations for a weekend beach get-away, this past weekend, but after several days of dealing with being sick and trying to gain some  perspective on life, I just couldn’t find the energy or enthusiasm to pack and make arrangements for a trip.  After much thought, we decided it was much less of a headache to just stay at home and relax.  However…

We took another day trip back to St. Simon’s Island on Friday, and we both agreed it was one of our best ones yet.  This was our third “day trip” this summer, and we’ve got the routine down pat now.  We began our day early, by throwing two umbrellas, two chairs, a cooler, and a beach bag into the car.  We spent the day just enjoying our surroundings and each other’s company.  It was  definitely a day to remember.

The rest of our long weekend was spent just doing things that needed to be done.  Some shopping, a little cleaning, and a lot of relaxing…We’d planned to take a second day trip to the beach over the course of our long weekend, but found ourselves just too tired, and decided to post-pone!

Now  that the weekend is history, what better way to begin a new week, than with a little Monday meme?  This fun meme is hosted by Heather from Acting Balanced.

1. What are your favorite pizza toppings?
Pepperoni is my favorite, but I love all pizza toppings except peppers.
 
2. What is the strangest name you’ve ever heard for a child?
I worked in education for fifteen years, and believe me, I’ve heard some strange names!   One of our most memorable students was named “Sharkeena”.  She was memorable not only because of her name, but also because her mother once sent me an ugly and”threatening” note because I refused to give “her child” a sticker for returning her report card. Sharkeena’s report card was a mess (all chewed up) when she finally brought it back so I chose to withhold the sticker I’m normally  a quiet and passive person, but this particular note hit me the wrong way!  It just so happened, after school that day, I ran into Sharkeena in the dollar store.  I asked Sharkeena to take me to her mother, who was waiting in her car.  Then I went out and confronted the mother about that nasty note!  Sharkeena’s mother is known for being “crazy”, and weighs well-over 250 pounds, but I was a woman on a mission!  Thankfully, nothing bad happened, and I felt better after confronting her.
 
3. What is the best vacation you’ve ever gone on?
My favorite trip was when Ed and I accompanied our youngest son, Brad, and his teacher, to Nashville, Tennessee, for a National FBLA competition.  While there, we stayed at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel, went to see the Grand Ole’ Opry, went to Memphis to see “Graceland”, went to the “Country Music Hall of Fame, visited the Ryman Auditorium, and took a tour of several country music star’s homes–including Alan Jackson’s.
 
4. What is your favorite quick summer meal?
Hamburgers or hot dogs cooked by Ed on the grill.
Here’s my question for you:
 
When, where, and how did your husband propose to you?
Ed proposed to me in his car, while sitting in front of my parents’ house, on the evening of August 15, 1970.  We’d picked out, and purchased the ring earlier in the day, so he quietly pulled the box out of his pocket, and said “I guess you’ll marry me?”  I remember it as if it were yesterday.  By the way, those are our wedding rings on my blog button…
Published in: on July 23, 2012 at 10:31 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/just-me-on-monday-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Just commented on someone else’s Meet Me post…back when I taught in the inner city we had a student named Marijuana. We called him Juan. A cruel name if ever there was one!

  2. I’ve worked “with the public” for decades so I’ve seen sone doosies. Mary Virgin Amen was one and April May June was the other that I will never forget.

    Glad you and Ed got some quiet time together. It’s been so hot that I’ve lost all interest in going to the beach and I do miss it. I’ve been to Nashville once and saw the Ryman and the Hall of Fame. My niece lives there now so her Mom and I threaten to desend upon her for the Country Music Fanfare event.

  3. So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Tennessee. It is rather nice here!

    My husband and I will be married 10 years in December. After 3 years of telling him I really did not think I would ever marry again he just up and asked me one day didn’t I think it was about we got married. I thought about it for a minute and agreed. We have a great marriage, we seldom ever argue and never even have a cross word for each other. After years of drama in my past, it is very nice!

    Have a great day!
    glosews

  4. I didn’t actually propose to Heather, she just announced we were getting married one day…

  5. Sounds like an amazing vacation!!
    My husband proposed to me at the Battery in downtown Charleston. He wanted to do it in he gazebo but it was occupied and he’s too shy to make a scene! It was very sweet.

  6. going to st. simon’s sounds like a good getaway!

  7. Ah, a day on SSI – that’s got to be pretty close to being a perfect day!

    My hubby proposed to me in his car, as we were sitting in my driveway at the end of our date. He said that he was going to propose in the restaurant when we had dinner … I’m sure glad that he didn’t! That would have been too embarrassing for me. 😉

  8. Well, this will be easy…
    1. Mushrooms, mushrooms, and mushrooms.
    2. My dad used to tell me, and to this day still swears they are true stories, that an officer he used to work with, whose last name was Pigg, named his first born daughter Ima, thus starting the poor girl off with the name, Ima Pigg.. Someone else with the last name of Lier named their daughter Crystal and middle name Chande, altogether being Crystal-Chande-Lier. Quite honestly, one name I do not understand is that celebrity, (I can’t remember who) named their daughter Apple. Huh???
    3. Best vacation I had was when my mother, sister, and I joined the sitter and her daughter and another girlfriend of theirs and her daughter and we all went to Disney World—my first of five trips there, when I was five years old. 🙂
    4. Favorite quick summer meal is a banana split. Once in a blue moon, when Mom would ask what we wanted for supper, we would tease her and say ice cream. She would surprise us by taking us to 33 flavors for just that. Very seldom, but what fun and a definite treat!
    Yeah, ok, I will leave the last one unanswered. Ex-husband, very bad relationship and don’t quite remember if he even did propose. Sad, I know. Happy for you though. Sounds like you are still newly-weds the way you speak so fondly of Ed. I do so love your stories!
    -Cindy


Leave a Reply

