The Weekly Hodgepodge…July 25

It’s that time again!  Are you feeling all “Hodgepodgy”?    Come on!  Kick your shoes off, sit a spell and join me for Joyce’s 86th edition of “Wednesday Hodgepodge”.

1. The Summer Olympics officially begin this Friday night…will you be watching? If you could see just one event in person which one would you pick?

I’d choose to watch the ladies gymnastics.  It’s been my favorite Olympic sport to watch, since way back in 1972!

2.Do lazy days make you feel rested or unproductive?

Lately these warm, lazy days of summer have me feeling unproductive.  It’s too hot to be outside much, and I get tired of housework quickly.

3. July 25th is ‘officially’ Threading the Needle Day…can you sew? On a scale of 1-10 with 1 being not at all and 10 being Betsy Ross-like, how would you rate your skill with a needle and thread?

I learned how to sew while still in high school, and at one point, I  made most of my clothes for several years.  I also sewed some for others in the family.  I also used to make and sell dolls of all kinds.  These days I’d give my sewing skills a 5 because I’m very out-of-practice!  I made a simple doll dress a couple of years ago, and oh what a chore that turned out to be!

4. ‘Threading the Needle’ can also mean to walk a fine line between two things or issues (think awkward social situation). When was the last time you had to ‘thread the needle’, figuratively speaking?

It was during a visit with my brother and his wife back in 2008.  They supported one presidential candidate, while Ed and I supported the other.  We had to tread lightly and try to avoid the subject of politics as much as possible.

5. Kidney, pinto, black, or navy…your favorite bean?

None of the choices are very high on my food list, but I eat baked beans fairly often, so I’ll choose navy beans– because I think that’s what baked beans are made from.

6. Have you ever hosted a garage sale? Was it more success or bust?

I haven’t had a garage sale in several years, but I used to have at least one  per year while the children were growing up.  We were usually quite successful in getting rid of some excess clothes and clutter, and in making some money, too.  I could, and maybe I should, write a post about our garage sale experiences throughout the years.  There was always some sort of drama!

7. What makes you roll your eyes?

Here are just a few things guaranteed to make my eyes roll:

*Almost any time I hear a politician open his/her mouth, these days…

*Watching the previews of some of today’s television shows and movies

*Seeing the ridiculous amount (and content) of commercials on television

*Having a person in front of me, at the check out, (a) either not have enough money to pay for their items, or (b) need a price check on an item

*Having loud and unruly children running around in a store while I’m trying to shop

Random:

We live in a small town.  I have a good friend, from high school, who recently lost her husband to cancer.  I have another good friend whose husband is currently battling terminal cancer.  The husband of a third (and very special) friend recently suffered a stroke.  Miraculously, her husband suffered no serious, long-lasting, effects from the stroke, and is okay, but he was paralyzed and unable to speak for many hours.  With all of these recent events in mind, I’ve never been more acutely aware that none of us is promised a tomorrow, therefore, every today, with Ed, grows  more special to me by the minute!

Published in: on July 25, 2012 at 9:26 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/07/25/the-weekly-hodgepodge-july-25/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ha! I love your “eye roll list” and agree with them! Happy Wednesday!

  2. I really like your random thought. Yes, none of us are promised a tomorrow or even a finish to today. Enjoy all the days you have.

  3. amen, we are not promised tomorrow
    politicians are on my bad list; if i get one call a day, i get 40…so eager for our local election to be OVER!

  4. TV commercials for those movies make me roll my eyes for sure!

  5. That’s a great random thought. We all know in our heads we should enjoy the moment, appreciate the people in our lives, but somehow life gets in the way of remembering to really live it out.

    Stay cool!

  6. I love gymnastics too. I have learned over the years that politics and family don’t mix at all! So sorry about those who are suffering right now. Makes me wonder why I waste time on being angry when I should cherish each moment. Thank you for reminding me.

  7. I am sorry to read about the suffering of your friends. Daily life with good health, each and every day, is a blessing. Unfortunately we forget until we hear how quickly everything can change. And – I really liked your list of things that make you roll your eyes!

  8. How special that you have such a treasure in your Ed! That is really sweet. When shopping I seem to ask myself often, “why is it that I get on the line that doesn’t move or has a problem”! LOL>

  9. I love your random thought!

    I used to sew clothes, but for the last 30 years, all I’ve been sewing are quilts … so my clothes sewing skills have gotten quite rusty. It was harder than I thought it would be to sew my granddaughter an apron … and I purposely chose a pattern marked as “easy”. 😉

  10. I’m game!
    1. Unfortunately, I missed the opening games. My favorites are gymnastics, diving, and swimming of both genders and women’s volleyball. I, too, would choose women’s gymnastics if I could see only one event in person.
    2. Lazy days usually make me feel oh, so unproductive; however, lately, since I have started working full-time, lazy days are very restful and relaxing.
    3. Needle and thread, no machine, I would say I was a 4. I can do the basics and do them well enough. I bought a machine many years ago and never learned how to use it. 20 years later, I finally left it behind in Portland when I moved to Pennsylvania.
    4. I can’t say for sure what the last time was, but I can say I remember a time when I was the go between for my mother and one and only sister. They are best friends and lived miles from each other in Florida while I was out in Oregon, but my phone rang off the hook as I went back and forth between the two tearful women. Being objective and fair was quite difficult.
    5. Black bean, hands down! I make a wonderful black beans and rice dish that everyone loves and my best friend makes a black bean soup that is out of this world!
    6. Personally, no, but when I was growing up, my mother and my ‘babysitter’ or as they call it today, child care lady (errr, maybe not) had garage sales often. Three or four times within a summer. What I remember best was that we all got to eat Castle burgers and when Aunt Net (the sitter) was present, we did not have a limit and could eat as many as our tummies would hold. Good times and good memories!
    7. Well, apparently, there is one thing that makes my eyes roll that I dare not mention on here. LOL But, kidding aside, I roll my eyes when someone tries to explain something that I know more than they do about, treat me as a child or as if I am not very bright, or feel a need to repeat themselves over and over and over. The last three you listed also get my eyes a’rolling.
    Regarding your random sharing; I agree with you. I had not seen my mother in 12 years and never gave it much thought other than I have plenty of time to fly down to Florida and see her. Unfortunately, I never did see her. She had a freak accident 3 years ago that occurred on July 12th and complications that she was not strong enough to overcome ultimately led to her untimely death just 19 days later. She was only 62 years old and other than the events that led her to shatter her legs which caused bone marrow to travel and lodge in her lung, she was very healthy with a lot of life left to live and a lot of love to give. So, allow me to second your very true statement. NOT ONE of us is promised tomorrow. Don’t let today slip by leaving you full of regrets.
    Thank you so much for this post! I really enjoyed it! 🙂
    -Cindy


Leave a Reply

