A Few Recent Discoveries…

Yesterday, I had to go and pick up my new eye glasses.  After spending about 30 minutes letting the technician, Vanessa, make sure my new glasses were properly fitted, I discovered what a “perfectionist” Vanessa is!    I asked Vanessa how many years she had been doing her job, to which she replied “forty-one years”.  That’s a lot of eye glasses to fit, and a lot of children to teach the correct way to use contact lenses!   It refreshing to find people who still take pride in their jobs, and want to make sure everything is “perfect”.  It’s getting to be a rare find, these days!

Following my visit to the optometrist, I went by the personal care home and had a nice visit with my mother-in-law.  She confided in me that the other ladies in the home always look forward to my hubby, Ed’s, bi-weekly visits to the home.  I chuckled at the image in my mind of those little old ladies “swooning” after my hubby.  I guess I should keep a closer eye on him 🙂

After the visit with my MIL, I decided to swing by and have lunch with Ed.  I didn’t have any idea what the menu at the hospital would be,  but it must have been my lucky day…  Fried chicken, roast beef /gravy, macaroni/cheese, green beans, mashed potatoes, peach cobbler, carrot cake–and that was only part of what was available to choose from!   The food was delicious, and my lunch companion was my favorite person.  At lunch, I teased him about the little old ladies at the home…

I still wasn’t ready to go home after lunch, so I ambled through a couple of little stores afterward.  While browsing, I discovered that the garments I’ve always known as “aprons”, now have a new name!  I saw a rack filled with aprons (something you don’t see much anymore), and they were labeled as “cooking dresses”.  These were the kind of aprons that go around the neck and tie around the waist.  I guess it’s not cool to wear an apron anymore, but it’s acceptable to wear a “cooking dress”?!

While browsing, I also discovered that there is still no Tylenol or Excedrin on store shelves–even after six months!  Has anyone else realized this?  Both items were recalled shortly after Christmas, and I haven’t been able to find them since!  Generic forms of both are available, but not the name-brand.  What’s up with that?  I swear by ” Tension Headache Excedrin” for my headache relief–and I can no longer find any!  Fortunately, I haven’t had many headaches lately.

My last stop was  “The Goodwill Store”.  I love to stop in there to see what I can find.  Yesterday I hit the jackpot of paperback books!  I love John Grisham novels, and apparently someone had recently unloaded their collection.  I’ll be reading legal thrillers for a while–and I only spent three dollars and forty cents for eight books!  I know a lot of people have Kindles now, but I still love the feel of a book in my hands…

That’s about it for my recent discoveries.  Have you made any interesting discoveries of your own lately?

Published in: on July 26, 2012 at 10:00 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/a-few-recent-discoveries/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There’s no tylenol? I’m sure I’ve purchased some recently…is it just a particular type that’s recalled?

  2. NO Tylenol or Excedrin? I think they’re available in NY. I’ll have to check and see.
    And on the subject of being loaded up with a supply of books. My late brother loved Steven king and writers similar to him and passed books on to my mother when he was through with them. After she died and the house was sold I hauled a whole carload home (not exaggerating). I didn’t buy a book or visit the library for over two years!

  3. Sounds like a good day. Yes those ladies must really enjoy Ed’s visit! I have aprons but always forget to use them. I didn’t know about shelves being empty with those items. We buy ours at Costco. I also love having a book in my hands! Enjoy the rest of your week and weekend.

  4. Sounds like you had a wonderful day!

    I didn’t know that Tylenol and Excedrin have been pulled from the shelves.


Leave a Reply

