An August Wednesday Hodgepodge…

Hey, it’s August, and the weather is miserable outside.  Why not crank up the air conditioning, sit a spell, and join us for a little Wednesday Hodgepodge?  Here are today’s questions, graciously submitted by our faithful hostess, Joyce:

1. I included this quote (attributed to William H. Danforth) in my blog post yesterday… “The best cure for a sluggish mind is to disturb it’s routine.” When was the last time you ‘disturbed your routine’ and how’d you do it?

The last time I “disturbed my routine” was about eight years ago when I decided to take some on-line college courses!  Keep in mind, I was fifty years old, and it was my first time taking ANY college courses.  When I decide to disturb my routine, you could say that I do it in a BIG way 🙂

2. What’s your favorite fried food indulgence?

Fried chicken!  (Hopefully “my girls” won’t hear my answer…)

3. Did you have an allowance as a kid? What did you do with it? Do you give your own kids an allowance?

I don’t remember ever having “a regular allowance”, as a child, but my parents always gave me money whenever I needed some.  When I became old enough, I got a job.

We didn’t give our children a regular allowance either, but instead gave them occasional spending money.  Both of our boys got jobs during high school, but our daughter didn’t take her first job until after high school graduation–mainly because she helped us by driving her younger brothers wherever they needed to go.

4. What’s something you wish you knew more about?

Computers!  They are fascinating machines.  Both of our sons can do things with a computer that boggles my mind.

5. Is there anything you feel too old to do anymore? If so, what?

Yes!   A lot of things come to mind, but I know without a doubt that  I’m definitely too old to wear mini skirts or bikinis anymore!  I also feel confident that I can safely add running and jumping to that list!

6. What’s a song you think has a great first line?

How about “Sittin’ On the Dock of the Bay“?

Sittin’ in the morning sun, I’ll be sittin’ when the evening comes

Watching the ships roll in, then I watch ’em roll away again…

That’s my kind of song!

7. Who are you writing to/for when you create a blog post? In other words…as you write, who is the audience in your head?

When I originally began my blog, I was just sort of talking to myself–you know, kind of reflecting over my life.  I wanted to leave a journal, of sorts, for my family to have, after I’m gone.  After blogging and reflecting for a long time, I find myself thinking more and more about  you–the readers– whenever I write.

Random:

Got eggs?  We do!

On Sunday, “the girls” laid a total of four eggs!  Every time I went out to the chicken coop, I found another egg.  It felt a little bit like Easter!   I went from finding two eggs per day, to suddenly finding four!  We’ve used over a dozen of our farm fresh eggs, and still have a dozen more in the refrigerator.  Ed made omelets for supper last night, and they were delicious!

Published in: on August 15, 2012 at 11:46 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/08/15/an-august-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Amazed when I went to the beach this summer-men and women had to be at least 65 or 70 in spandex and bikinis! My two daughters in their 20’s were shocked!
    Glad the eggs were delicious-I miss fresh farm eggs.

  2. I miss my chickies!
    I’m on a US Masters swim team. The great thing about seeing people of all shapes and sizes in swimsuits is that I don’t feel naked in a swim suit anymore.

  3. Jumping should have been on my list as well. I mean really, who wants to see that! Eggs are good for you so I’m glad you get so many every day.

  4. Love fried chicken and that was a good song to pick. Love it. My brother and his wife have chickens and the fresh eggs are so good.

  5. I don’t think I was EVER young enough for mini-skirts and bikinis … or maybe I should say that I don’t think I ever had the figure for them. Glad your girls are keeping you in eggs. I won’t tell them you said “fried chicken” to #2. 😉

  6. Never liked miniskirts or bikinis on me. Definitely not my style, then or now!Your girls are doing good!

  7. So now that you have your girls do you still eat chicken. I’m not sure I could do that. I’ve never had a fresh egg, how are they?

  8. Oh my – fried chicken is my all-time favorite meal. (Don’t tell “the girls” that I said that.) LOL

    And it seems that my list of things I fell too old to do anymore is growing longer and longer with each passing day. 😦


Leave a Reply

