Doing A Little Hodgepodgin’…

It’s time for a little mid-week “Hodgepodgin'”.  Thanks, once again, to our hostess, Joyce, for doing another fantastic job with the questions.  I am always excited to see what questions she has for us each week…

1. Aloha! On August 21, 1959 Hawaii officially became a US state. Have you ever been? Upon arrival would you prefer an orchid or a hibiscus to tuck behind your ear?

Nope, I’ve never been to Hawaii, but  I’d sure love to go.  Hibiscus is one of my favorite flowers, so I’d prefer one of those to tuck behind my ear–if I ever get to Hawaii!  I’d like a pink one, please!

2. Since we’re talking tropical…what’s your favorite food or beverage made with pineapple?

I love punch made with pineapple juice, orange juice, and lemon juice, sugar, and water–the old-fashioned kind that used to be served at showers and weddings.

3. Do you believe in soul mates? Explain.

Yes I do believe in soul mates.  I think there are certain people in this world, who were made for each other, and are meant to be together.  ( they fit together like a hand and a glove.)  Many people marry, and their spouses may(or may not) become their soul mates, but I know, without a doubt,  there are also people in this world who are soul mates from the day they meet.

4. Share a memory about the house you grew up in.

I wasn’t fortunate to grow up in only one house, because my parents lost their home to foreclosure when I was  only eight years old.  We only lived there for five years.  We left that town (and state) after that, and lived in a series of rental houses until after I graduated from high school, and got married.

I still have a few select memories of the house that my parents owned though.  First of all, the house had a beautiful picture window in the living room.  This was popular, back in those days, and I’ve always loved big windows. The house also had walls made from actual knotted pine in the living room.  Sometimes at night I’d get scared because I used to think that the knots in the pine were large roaches!  It’s funny what you remember…

Believe it or not, after all of these years, I  can still remember the address of that house–2642 East Montgomery Street–and I still have a photograph…

Interesting footnote here:  My older brother still lives in the same city/state where our old home is located.  A few years back, Ed and I rode by and looked at the old house that once belonged to my parents.  It looks somewhat different, but was still recognizable–even after fifty years!  It was the first time I’d seen the house in many, many years.

5. Are you comfortable with silence?

Absolutely.  After raising three children,  working in an elementary school for fifteen years, and keeping twin baby girls for a couple of years, I’ve grown to love the sound of silence!

6. You spot a giant spider on your bedroom wall…what’s your next move? (all spiders are giant, right?)

Fortunately, I’m not particularly scared of spiders,  with the exception of black widows, so I’d probably catch it in a glass, and throw it outside.  If I couldn’t catch it,  then I’d probably get out my can of insect spray, then spray it.

7. My idea of fun does NOT include…sweating or pesky insects.

Random:

I wish  I could bottle some of our excessive amounts rain and clouds and ship them to the drought-stricken parts of the country.  We received three inches of rain on Sunday afternoon alone!  At one point, our yard looked like a lake.  I can’t  even begin to explain about southern humidity or the massive amounts of new mosquitoes around here…  Our garden is a muddy, boggy mess–but the weeds are still thriving!  It’s cloudy and dreary again this morning…

Published in: on August 22, 2012 at 9:54 am  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/doing-a-little-hodgepodgin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve heard West Nile is really bad this year…there are loads of mosquitos!

    I still like that punch too : )

  2. Of course the weeds are thriving. They’re thriving here, too – in spite of the drought and heat waves.

  3. You are brave around spiders! I’m not! We had rain last week every evening for about 2 hours and then it stopped. Funny to see it come and go like that for the entire week. This week it’s cool.

  4. I can deal with spiders too- except the jumping ones- but I HATE cock roaches. And we have them in the low-country. We’ve managed to keep them out of our house organically but I see them everywhere else. And then I think that maybe I just don’t see them in here but they’re here crawling on me at night and I freak out!

  5. I moved to a semi-desert to get away from the rain. I could still use a little of yours. But not too much, thank-you.

  6. uugh! I hate being sweaty too! I am so thirsty for some of that punch you were describing now 🙂

  7. Great answers Kathy. I enjoyed reading what you said.

  8. I would love to go to Hawaii. 🙂

    I’ve had punch made with pineapples and it’s good. My mother used to put pineapples and cherries on the hams she baked. And I really like pineapple cream cheese on my bagels. LOL

    I’m not afraid of spiders either. I am woman – hear me roar !!! LOL


Leave a Reply

