Random Monday…

I’m sitting here at seven-thirty in the morning, underneath cloudy skies, waiting to see what this day will bring.  I’m watching the path of tropical storm, “Isaac”, along with everyone else.  This time, last year, we were watching hurricane “Irene”, and it interfered with our beach plans…  I hope we don’t receive a lot of rain from tropical storm “Isaac” because we are still trying to dry out from the last two weeks of rain…After three sunny days, rain is, once again, in our forecast for the next three days!

Ed and I spent part of a three-day weekend in Florida, visiting my brother and his wife.  Fortunately, they live on the opposite side of Florida from where “Isaac” is traveling!  We had a nice trip, and a very good visit.  I’m so glad we changed our  beach plans!  I think Ed and I broke a record on the trip home, when we stopped in every town between their home and ours–with the exception of two…We never drive straight through on the 180 mile trip, but we normally don’t make quite that many stops!  I had an excuse, I was using my “5 dollar off”  Dollar General Store coupons along the way!

All of my animals survived just fine during our absence.  I think “my girls”, the chickens, were the happiest to see us return home.  Although I left them plenty of food in my absence, they missed the numerous treats that I give them throughout the day!  I tell you, those girls are spoiled rotten, but they’re giving us plenty of eggs.  I’ll have to post a “chicken update” soon.

It just wouldn’t be Monday without joining Heather over at Acting Balanced for her “Meet Me On Monday” meme, so here it is!

Acting Balanced

1. When was the last time you tried something new?

Back in the spring when Ed and I decided to take on the tasks of raising chickens and growing a garden!

2. What’s a belief that you hold with which many people disagree?

The belief that our country is facing an imminent crisis in the “not too distant” future.

3. What kind of music do you enjoy listening to?

I enjoy all kinds of music, with the exception of rap.  I usually listen to country music, but sometimes I switch over and listen to my favorite pop “oldies” station.  You just can’t beat the music of the “70’s”!

4. What piece of advice would you give to a beginning blogger?

Write from the heart, and enjoy yourself!

My question for you…

5.  Are you  prepared for an emergency?

Published in: on August 27, 2012 at 8:36 am  Comments (15)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/08/27/random-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so glad you had fun at the beech and got to do a lot of shopping on the way home. I think a lot of us are looking at our country and thinking the same as you. If we stay on the course we are on now, we are in big trouble! We need to repent as a country and go back to following the God that we say we Trust so much. I hope you are spared from the rain.

  2. I am prepared for an emergency. In my car I have extra oil, water for drinking, flashlight and new batteries, a tow rope, and jumper cables. In my home I have flashlights, candles, bottled water and food that doesn’t need to be refrigerated. The most common emergency that we have is loss of electricity.
    I do agree that our country is sliding down a slippery slope to ruin unless we get back to the principles upon which our country was founded.

  3. DH and I always talk about making some stops along the way when we travel, but we’re always so excited about getting to the beach that we definitely don’t want to delay our arrival a second longer than we have to. And then by the time our trips are over, we’re always anxious to get back home as quickly as possible that we rarely stop along the way. Also part of the “problem” for us is that we’re a good 14+ hours away from our favorite beach destinations … it’s already a 2-day drive even without stopping along the way, so if we stopped more, we’d probably have to make it at least a 3-day drive. I’d rather save that money for another night’s motel/hotel and use it for another night at the beach. 😉

  4. If by emergency you mean hurricanes, I’m about as prepared as I can get. We got through Tropical Storm Isaac intact, though we are still getting some of the winds and rain and probably will be all day long. I hope you don’t get hit by it. Have a blessed week.

  5. I’d like to think that I’m prepared for emergencies. My family won’t go hungry at least as I always stay well stocked.

  6. Not as prepared as we should be however if the power goes out we have a gas stove, BBQ and coleman lamps. Our radio is also battery backed up so we can hear the news. We also keep one phone that is not cordless so we can have contact with our family and friends.

  7. Sounds like a nice weekend. Praying Issac stays away from you. Glad your girls enjoyed you coming home. Great questions. I believe in the crisis also. I’m afraid. I don’t think we are prepared enough for an emergency.

  8. I am not prepared.

  9. Our forecast was for rain all day today but we ended up with nothing. I hope you stay safe and dry. I’m not completely unprepared for an emergency, but not as prepared as I should be I guess. In winter I’m more prepared because we get a lot of snow and I know I can’t always count on getting out.

  10. I am prepared for an emergency! My husband has a pantry ready and a shelter in case we get severe weather. We get tornadoes here in Indiana. I also keep water and granola bars in my car.

  11. I’d like to think I’m prepared for an emergency, but it depends what said emergency is. I think there is always something last minute that will need to be taken care of regardless of how prepared I am though!

  12. Unfortunately I have to say we are definitely not prepared for an emergency. We spent all of last year traveling between home and my doctor in Cleveland getting my MS diagnosis and starting treatment (and arguing with the insurance company who didn’t want to pay for any of it) While we were on the medical tour, anything that needed tending in the house was neglected. Now we have a ton of clutter to clean up and I couldn’t even tell you where a flashlight is if the power goes off let alone any safe way for me to walk in the dark. We’re working on that.

  13. My son lives on the Gulf and was all boarded up, but the hurricane changed its course.
    I’m pretty prepared for an emergency with a pantry that’s usually stocked and plenty of drinking water, candles, flashlights, radio, batteries, first aid. We also have a “flee kit” in a big plastic tub. Washington has a state government site with lists of all the stuff you should have. Maybe other states do something like that too.

  14. On the Mississippi Gulf Coast here we are still having rain, an occasional gusts and tornado and flooding reports. Hubby had us prepared for Isaac and other emergencies.

  15. Unfortunately, I’m not prepared for an emergency. With these terrible economic times, I can hardly stay prepared for “regular” times. 😦 In fact, I’m out of milk and bread as we speak. 😦 Things are just hard financially for everyone lately – I think. I am hoping times will become easier for everyone.

    I’m sorry your trip didn’t go as planned, but I’m sure your brother enjoyed seeing you and spending what time he did with you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

