Laboring Over The Hodgepodge…

Can you believe it?  It’s time for the final Hodgepodge of the month!  Time to labor over  answer the thought-provoking questions that our hostess, Joyce, has so graciously provided, then hop around and see how others have answered.  Come on, won’t you join us?

1. Americans will celebrate Labor Day this coming weekend. Do you know what we’re actually celebrating? (without consulting your friends Google or wikipedia, ahem) What’s a project you’re currently ‘laboring’ over?

I’m not certain what we’re celebrating, but since it’s called “Labor Day”, I’ll assume it has something to do with “work”.  That’s what I’ve always thought, anyway.  I’ve been laboring over the same project for well over a year–scanning and organizing old family photographs.  I also have a couple of unfinished scrapbooks waiting.

2. Labor Day also signals the unofficial end of summer for most of us…what summer food will you miss the most? If you’re in the southern hemisphere feel free to substitute winter for summer.

This answer is a toss up for me.  It’s between boiled peanuts and watermelon.

3. A well known proverb states, ‘It’s easier to seek forgiveness than ask permission.’ Your thoughts?

These days, I think more people than ever , are making the choice to do as they please, then suffering the consequences later–rather than asking for permission or seeking God’s will.  I’m guilty of doing this, at times, and there’s always a price to be paid.

4. Food critic, film critic, book critic, art critic….which hat would you most like to wear?

Once upon a time I would have loved being a film critic, but these days I’d prefer to be a book critic.  Books are so much better than movies!

5. When you were a kid, who (besides your parents) was your favorite adult?

While growing up, my favorite adult was my maternal grandmother.  She was a dear, sweet lady.

6. The astronaut, Neil Armstrong, passed away last week. He was regarded as a hero by many generations of people all around the world. Do we still have modern day heroes? What makes someone a hero?

Yes, we still have some modern day heroes.  Occasionally, we hear about them on the news– people who go out of their way to help others in some way,  without regard to their own safety.    Every time I hear about one of these stories, it restores a little bit of my faith in mankind.

7. I never get tired of--going to the beach.  Feeling those gentle ocean breezes, listening to some music, and having Ed resting in a chair beside me.  Love it!

Random:

Tomorrow is my birthday, and it looks like I’ll be spending at least part of my birthday at the gynecologist’s office, instead of at the beach.  What a way to celebrate:(   After two whole months of discomfort,  two previous trips to the doctor, and purchasing over two hundred dollars worth of medications, not covered by insurance, I’m still having problems!  Ugh!  I am so ready for some relief!

Published in: on August 29, 2012 at 9:17 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/laboring-over-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can’t imagine not having boiled peanuts year ’round! I think I would go crazy. LOL I agree that books are better than movies! I won’t see a movie that was a book first until after I’ve read the book. Books offer so much more. I’m sorry you’ll be spending your birthday at the gyno- maybe for your present, they’ll figure out the problem and solve it!

  2. I hope the doctor can help and find what is wrong and then fix it ! That is terrible. A lot of people said watermellon to that question. Happy Birthday to you, enjoy.

  3. Happy Birthday! Hope the dr. visit is successful : )

  4. Happy birthday – and I hope your dr visit tomorrow finally gets you relief. Good luck with that. After the appt, celebrate!

  5. Happy Birthday tomorrow – I hope for your birthday you get some answers from your doctor! I never get tired of the beach either – unfortunately it takes a ride in an airplane or a looooong car ride to get to a beach from my house!

  6. Way to go on doing your photos. I don’t think I will ever get to that project. I still need to try boiled peanuts. Yes, the beach is the best! Happy Birthday.

  7. Happy Birthday. Hope relief is one of your bday “happies.” Boiled peanuts, watermelon and books work for me, too.

  8. Boiled peanuts? I guess I haven’t lived yet.

  9. I’m so sorry that you have to visit your doctor on your birthday instead of spending it at the beach … hope you get some relief!

    I knew you’d answer the beach to #7 … as did I (I added my grands as well).

  10. I’d love to be a film critic. 🙂

    My favorite adult (other than my parents) was my sister’s husband, Gary (or as everyone knows him) “Tub”. LOL


Leave a Reply

