Meet Me On Monday – The Labor Day Edition

I took a bit of a break from blogging over the past several days to enjoy spending more time with Ed.  He’s still off today, so my blog post today will be brief, but I wanted to join Heather for her Monday meme.  I’m a creature of habit, what can I say?

1. What was the toughest job you ever had?

Does anyone remember those little tourist stops from back in the sixties?  You know, those little stores that carried all kinds of souvenirs, jams, jellies, moccasins, etc.  (You can occasionally still find those little shops down in Florida.)  Anyway, when I was a young teen,  my uncle owned one of those shops.  His store also had a little “fast food” restaurant in one corner of it.  I  once worked in the restaurant section of that store .  I had to take the orders, prepare the food, serve the food, and clean up the mess!   I only lasted about two days before I quit!  I wasn’t tough enough to do it all back then!

2. What one characteristic makes a good boss?

Fairness–in other words, not showing  partiality to certain employees.

3. How did you celebrate ‘the end of summer’?

I didn’t do anything special to celebrate the end of summer.  Ed and I had tentatively planned a day at the beach, but we never made it there.  Instead, we just hung around the house, did a few odd jobs, and spent a lot of time together.  Ed’s grilling hot dogs for lunch today.  I guess that will have to qualify as our “official cookout”.

4. Do you follow the fashion rules about Labor Day being the end of wearing white etc?

I won’t wear white sandals or dress shoes after Labor Day, but I’ll continue to wear my white shorts until it gets too cold to wear shorts.

My question for you is…

5.  Do you swim in the ocean?  

I’ll wade, but won’t go deeper than the tops of my legs.  I don’t care much for the feeling of salt water on my skin–and then there’s the little problem with sharks…

Published in: on September 3, 2012 at 12:16 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/meet-me-on-monday-the-labor-day-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. As you know, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the beach … but I won’t go in more than ankle deep into the ocean … I don’t get into water where I can’t see who/what is swimming with me. 😉

  2. I don’t get a lot of chances to swim in the ocean except when I visit the family in Charleston and I got wet but didn’t actually swim too far.

  3. I will wade in the ocean but that’ about it. Living here in CA we don’t seem to follow the rules of not wearing white after Labor Day like we did in the Midwest years ago.

  4. I’m not the strongest swimmer, so the few times I’ve been to the ocean, I’ve been a wader. My ex-husband’s nephew would scare the heck out of me by going 40-50ft out and diving through the waves.

  5. Ocean is okay, but I prefer a salt water pool. That is heavenly. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. I still love to swim in the ocean: ). We’re going to a birthday party next weekend and the theme is black/white. I’m wearing my white jeans. I know it will be past Labor Day but I’m wearing them anyway!

  7. Your Labor Day sounds a lot like mine. Time with our good guys is always special, even “hanging around the house.”

  8. Hi Kathy–I’m a competitive swimmer and I LOVE the ocean. We swam in the Columbia River yesterday which is minutes from our house. I also love swimming in milfoil which is a fragile water plant. Unfortunately, people who aren’t good swimmers sometimes panic when they’re in it because they think they’re getting tangled. Kurt and I always swim together for safety. I have a lot of respect for the power of currents.

  9. I don’t go to the beach anymore, bur I used to wade, but thigh-deep.. I swam in salt water in Rimini, Italy when I was there when I was 13.

  10. I, too, follow the Labor Day Dress Rules…LOL

    As far as the ocean – I love swimming in it. I do tend to go out over my head though. I simply love the ocean. ♥


Leave a Reply

