Our First September Hodgepodge…

The month of August is but a fading memory, as September gets into full swing.  Time is moving at such a fast pace,  some days I find it difficult to keep up.   However,  I know that today is Wednesday–and Wednesday means it’s time to participate in “The Hodgepodge”!  Here we go…

1. In your opinion what’s the most important job in the world? Oh, and parenting is a given so besides parenting, what’s the most important job in the world?

I’m not sure–because there are so many jobs in this world that depend on each other–from the doctors who take care of us,  to the construction crew who built that doctor’s office so he’d have a place to practice.  From the police who keep us safe, to the dispatchers who take the calls and direct the  police where to go…EVERY job plays an important role, as far as I’m concerned.

2. Share a favorite or not so favorite memory from a childhood birthday.

I only had one birthday party while growing up.  I think it was when I turned six.  That party is my favorite childhood birthday memory, and is one of the few childhood birthdays that I can actually still remember.

3. Peanut butter-crunchy or smooth?

I prefer crunchy peanut butter, but I’ll eat either one.

4. William Butler Yeats is credited as saying, “Happiness is neither virtue nor pleasure nor this thing nor that but simply growth, We are happy when we are growing.” Your thoughts?

I don’t think we’re necessarily happy when we’re in the process of growing, because sometimes growth can be a difficult or painful process.  That being said, once the process is over,  we are usually happy once we look back and realize that we’ve grown.

5. What’s something that makes you cringe?

Watching anyone get their ears pierced.  I can’t stand to be in a store when someone’s getting their ears pierced, so I’ll bolt for the door!

6. Name a song that always puts you in a good mood?

(You Make Me) Smile by Uncle Kracker

7. The answer is yes. What’s the question?

If you could go back and change anything about your life, would you?

Random:

I’m going to use my random thought to thank our hostess, Joyce, for the fantastic job that she does with this meme each week!  Her questions often cause me to pause and look deep within myself for the answers–and that’s a good thing–a sort of growing process.

I can’t even begin to imagine how Joyce comes up with such interesting, thought-provoking questions week after week, but I’m grateful that she does!  Through her questions, future generations of my family will be able to gain some insight into the kind of person that I am, and I’m pleased about that.

I’ve also noticed that Joyce visits each of the participants of her meme each week, and always leaves the nicest comments!  As bloggers, we all know how time-consuming commenting can be at times!!!

So, Joyce, I tip my hat to you this week, you’re one in a million, and I feel blessed to have you for a blog friend 🙂  I also dedicate the following song and video to you…

Published in: on September 5, 2012 at 9:12 am  Comments (11)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/our-first-september-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I couldn’t agree more with your random comment! I participate in a few other memes and not all the hostesses respond … but not Joyce … she ALWAYS comments. 😉

    Excellent answer to #4.

    I hadn’t heard that song before, but I can see why you chose it … it made me smile. 😉

  2. Yes! Joyce asways comments and I bet it takes her days to get around to everyone! She is the best.
    Loved your answer to #1.

  3. Joyce gets two thumbs up from me, as well! How she manages to do what she does is beyond me. Love that Uncle Kracker song…I’ll be singing it all day long!

  4. Whoa…I have to agree with you about watching someone get their ears pierced. Just reading about it on your post made me cringe!!

  5. Great song choice!
    I agree about Joyce and the great job she does. Great questions, and great comments. Thanks for making it fun, Joyce!!

  6. I totally agree with your random comment! Joyce is amazing! There are a lot of crunchy peanut butter lovers out there today. I think I was one of three who said smooth.

  7. Ear piercing, that’s a new one!!! I do think there are things I would change about my life but I have to trust that I am where I am because God wants me here. Joyce gets me thinking for sure. I know she works hard at our Hodgepodge and I appreciate it very much.

  8. Well I’m certainly glad I made it here today : ) Thanks for that very sweet comment! Something I enjoy about the HP is that often a random question sparks a memory and is the springboard to another post. I do think the HP is full of some very nice bloggers!

  9. You make me smile too :o)

  10. You make me smile is a great song.
    What a nice random thought you had. It has to be a bit of a chore to find questions for the meme. They do get the wheels turning, a good thing to keep our minds active.

  11. A song that always puts me in a good mood is Little Richard’s “Long Tall Sally”. ♫♪♫

    As far as peanut butter – it HAS to be smooth !!! ;-P


Leave a Reply

