Thursday’s Thoughts ~ Juror Number 16…

Does anyone remember back in February when I received my first jury summons?  Do you remember when I reported,   I was also chosen to serve on a case on April 2?  Out of about two hundred  people–only twelve of us were chosen to serve on the lone case scheduled for the entire month of April.  What were the odds?!

Despite being terrified, I ended up enjoying my court room experience.  I’d never been to court, and it was interesting to see how the process works–and they fed us well!

Unfortunately, I ultimately paid a price when it was all over.  I was sick for a couple of days following my one day of jury duty.  You see, sitting for long periods of time, along exposure to stressful situations often takes a toll on my body, and causes health issues.  After all was said and done, I began to ask myself,  What would have happened if court had lasted one more day?  Could I have made it to court the second day?  I was concerned.  I knew there was no way I could ever last through a long trial.

On my next doctor’s visit, I discussed these concerns with him.  He told me to let him know if I got summoned again, and he would take care of it.  I don’t think either of us dreamed it would be so soon, but around August 10, guess what appeared in my mailbox?!  Another jury summons for me–juror number 16!

If I ever had any doubts about not being able to serve, my “medical issues” of the summer of 2012 definitely laid those doubts to rest!  Since the first week of July, I’ve been unable to sit comfortably–for even short periods of time, and wearing fitted clothing is a nightmare!  Sometimes even wearing underwear is a nightmare.  Um, I don’t think showing up in court, pantyless,  would go over well with the judge, do you?  

Needless to say, I was at my doctor’s office bright and early on Monday morning, after receiving my jury summons on Friday!  My doctor took care of things, and I’ve been permanently excused from any further jury duty.

Last week the list of jurors was published in our local newspaper, and of course, my name was no longer on the list.  While reading over the list of names, I recognized two people’s names who were also called with me back in February!  Now what are the chances of that?!  Perhaps the three of us should go out and purchase a few raffle tickets, since somebody obviously likes to draw our names…

Published in: on September 6, 2012 at 10:15 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/thursdays-thoughts-juror-number-16/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. WOW I’m so sorry you hae such health issues. With all your stories about the garden and chickens I would never have known how hard it is on you. I sure hope your doctor gets to the bottom of this and gets you some relief. I’m glad you don’t have to go back.

  2. It was my understanding that you couldnt be called for jury duty more often than once per year. Perhaps that court had a glitch in their system when they called at least 3 of you twice.

    Anna

  3. Glad you have been dismissed. We never get called more than once a year.

  4. The details of your jury-duty enforced sitting for a day reminds me that unless we have personal experience with a specific medical condition, we are likely not aware of the many ordinary circumstances of daily life that can become painful and frustrating challenges. So glad you don’t have to repeat that experience, although I know you still face challenges. Your courage and determination to squeeze all you can out of the good days are an inspiration to me. Still praying.

  5. Was it a different jurisdiction like town court vs state or Federal. here in NY once you serve on a county or town jury you’re exempt for something like 5 years. It doesn’t carry over to Federal court, though

  6. What are the odds??? Hope you feel better soon!

  7. Never heard of anyone getting called that often. Ugh! Glad you got out of it, but so sorry you are not feeling well. Enjoyed stopping by, you have a cute blog.

  8. I’m so glad your doctor helped you out like that. I’m sorry you’re having health issues. I know that’s NO fun. Sending “feel better” prayers your way. ♥

    Believe it or not, I’ve NEVER been called to jury duty. LOL


Leave a Reply

