Meet Me On Monday…

Once again, it’s Monday. Not too much to write about as far as the weekend was concerned. One of most exciting things I did the entire weekend was to clean out the “bill box”. Yes, I know, that’s pretty sad!

Does anyone else have a “bill box”? I actually have three plastic boxes that I keep old receipts and other stuff in, and all three were filled to capacity. It took me about two hours to get them cleaned out and organized, but I felt a sense of accomplishment when I finished!

The weather in our area was sort of “weird” all weekend.  The sun played peek-a-boo a good bit of the time, and it rained a couple of times on Saturday, and Saturday night.

Ed and I woke up to a power outage on Sunday morning.  We ate cold cereal for breakfast, then sat around for a couple of hours, until the lights came back on.  We both agreed, it’s hard to accomplish much without electricity.

I didn’t even realize that Sunday was Grandparent’s Day, until Sunday evening when two of our grandchildren came to see us, bearing a gift-

I love this thoughtful gift, crafted by the boys and their mother, Christina, and will always treasure it.  I don’t know if I was more impressed by the plaque or the great photo of the boys!   I know, from experience,  that getting little boys to cooperate with anything,  can sometimes be a challenge!

Speaking of challenges, I’m joining “Meet Me On Monday”, and here are Heather’s questions for today:

1. What is your favorite memory you made while on walk?

My favorite “walking memory” is from about 25 years ago, when I participated in our church’s walk-a-thon to raise money for youth camp.  It was a five-mile walk,  so I trained for several weeks to build up my stamina.  Walking along beside me were lots of enthusiastic children, a few more parents, and my seventy-year-old father-in-law!  Toward the end of the walk, I was sort of struggling, while my father-in-law was still comfortably walking, laughing, and talking!  Simply amazing!

2. Do you prefer to live in the city, suburbs or country? Why?

I’ve lived in all three places, and believe me, country living is THE BEST!  I love the privacy–being able to do whatever I want to in my yard, without worrying about neighbors or a home owners association.  We’re also able to have a large garden, chickens, and a variety of pets.

3. Post the cutest kid/pet/whatever picture you have taken lately?

4. What is your favorite recipe made with apples?

I love the fried apples at The Cracker Barrel!  I’m not sure why they called them “fried” though.  If you’ve never tried them, they are basically cooked, seasoned apples, without a crust.

My question for you is:

5.  Do you save a lot of receipts and papers, or are you a “clutter-free” type of person?

Published in: on September 10, 2012 at 11:34 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/meet-me-on-monday-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I save way too much… but I’m learning to purge more

  2. The fried apples at Cracker Barrel are wonderful!

    We have a clutter issue at our house that’s currently making me batty. I save receipts and other things to balance my checking account, then throw them away and other things are in my “to do” box for scrapbooking, but clutter does happen with it. My husband is a clutterer too. Biggest difference is I get nuts about it and whole sale clean everything down to emptying drawers and moving furniture; since I was a teenager I’ve done that. He never gets irritated by it and I can’t keep up with us both. ::sigh::

  3. I save lots of stuff but I try to keep it organized.

  4. I guess uou would say we are clutterers. We gather so much stuff from our trips and it takes a while to sort through them. We wait for rainy days or snowstorms.

  5. We moved a few months ago and although the ultimate goal is to be clutter-free – currently we have bills and papers that are in disorganized piles on the kitchen counter and the office/baby room. We are in the process of moving the office area downstairs to be part of our school area – which is working out GREAT. Eventually my little office area will be organized! I have a bill box too- I just don’t use it right now. lol

  6. I save receipts until they clear my account an then I shred. I’m better at keeping up with this now than I used to be. My purse occasionally still gets out of control : )

  7. Reblogged this on shadowvigil.

  8. I wish I were clutter free, but alas, I am one of the worst!

    My favorite apples were the apple fries we had when we were at Legoland. They were shaped like french fries, deep fried and coated in cinnamon and sugar. Soooo yummy!

  9. Hubby and I are both clutterbugs. Arggghhh! Your power outage Sunday nonactivity sounded like our days with our visitor Isaac. We still had electricity–most of the time, but spent most of our time in idleness watching weather reports on TV, checking on friends and relatives via phone and sleeping.

  10. I’ve never had the fried apples at Cracker Barrel, but boy I sure do want to try them now. LOL

    And, yes, I have a pill box. Every time I open it, I think to myself, “I’m too young for this.” Keep dreaming, Cindy…

    I love the picture of the chicken on the chair. She looks like she’s thinking, “What makes you think it’s your chair?” LOL

    • And the craft with Chase and Caden’s handprints is just precious !!! ♥♥


Leave a Reply

