Number Ninety-Four, Really?

It’s hard to wrap my mind around the fact that we’ve been doing this meme for ninety-four Wednesdays, and I don’t think I’ve missed a single one.  It’s still just as much fun for me now, as it was ninety-three weeks ago.  Way to go, Joyce!

1. What’s the best and worst thing  about growing older?

The best thing about growing older is having the knowledge that I’ve gained through life’s experiences.  Now, if I could only go back through my youth again, armed with this knowledge!

The worst thing about growing older is seeing and feeling my body going through the aging process, and realizing that my time here on earth is quickly running out.

2. Autumn arrives this week in the Northern Hemisphere…what one thing do you love most about the fall season?

The weather.  I love cool crisp mornings and slightly chilly evenings, although it will probably be a while before we get those here.  The cooler weather makes being outside much more enjoyable.

3. Speaking of fall…pumpkin seems to be flavoring everything these days-are you a fan? What’s your favorite pumpkin flavored food or beverage?

No, I’m not really a fan of pumpkin, except for pumpkin scented candles.

4. Since we’re on the subject of fall…what’s the worst fall you’ve ever taken?

I remember it like it was just yesterday, but it was back in 1991!  It was my first year working as a paraprofessional, and my classroom was one of eight that were located  in  mobile homes behind the school.  It was a long walk to get anywhere!  One day I decided to leave the sidewalk (our classroom was the last one, at the end of the sidewalk) and take a shortcut down the hilly embankment behind the classrooms.  My foot slipped on some loose rocks, and what followed wasn’t a pretty sight!  I skinned both hands and knees, and of course I quickly got up and checked to see if anyone was looking!  I never took the shortcut again.

5. If you could own a prop from any film what would you choose?

I’m going to say the old car from the movie “Rainman”, a 1949  Buick Roadmaster.  That car played such a prominent role in the film, and I actually liked it, too.

6. What’s the most interesting word you’ve read or learned in the past week?

“Open-ended quantitative easing”–a monetary policy with disastrous consequences predicted!  Our dollars will soon be worth even less than they already are.  People, get your wheelbarrows ready, eventually it will take a wheelbarrow full of our worthless money just to buy that loaf of bread that we need!

7. When was the last time you locked yourself out of your house, car, or office? Was it a big deal?

I still remember this like it was yesterday, too!  It was in the spring of 2006 and I was babysitting for twins, in their home.  I’d taken the girls to town with me, and we’d just arrived back at their house.  The girls were about eight or nine months old at the time, and were strapped in their car seats in the back seat.  I got out of the car, and somehow managed to hit the lock button instead of the unlock button, not realizing it until I closed the car door–with the keys and the babies still inside!  It’s a long story, but I eventually got a locksmith to come and unlock the car–after about an hour and several frantic phone calls!  Fortunately, it wasn’t a hot day, and the babies were fine.  I’d have busted out the window of my car otherwise.

Random:  

The other day I was thinking about how much I like and enjoy the  friends that I’ve met through blogging.  It’s been interesting to catch a glimpse into the lives of people from all walks of life, who are located in all parts of the country, and I’ve learned so many new things!  I’m always sad when someone decides to stop blogging.  I’ll most likely never meet any of my blogging friends, but they still hold a special place in my heart.  Modern technology is truly amazing, isn’t it?

Speaking of special blogging friends, I wasn’t able to access Joyce’s blog yesterday to wish her Happy Birthday.  I know it’s a day late, Joyce, but this is for you…

Published in: on September 19, 2012 at 11:42 am  Comments (16)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/09/19/number-ninety-four-really/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for the birthday wishes!

    Your story reminds me of a few weeks back when hubs and I were walking in the woods. There was a culvert where water ran and I had to leap across. It wasn’t all that wide but I got all discombobulated and jumped awkwardly and very nearly didn’t make it. We were back there this weekend with daughter1 and hubs told her we were going around-ha!

  2. I too love blogging. It was not something I could do until i retired. I have had comments on my blog from all over the world.

  3. Taking the shortcut sounds like what I would have done too. Along with the falling … and never taking it again … : )

  4. Shortcuts are not for you anymore! Glad it was a cooler day with babies locked in a car. I too love blogging, the people I’ve met are amazing!!! Just like you are.

  5. I look forward to your weekly participation in various memes. I am such a sporadic blogger with an abysmal memory that my participation is to just tune in for your often inspiring, sometimes humorous and always interesting answers to the questions. And I admire anyone who can remember makes and models of cars!

  6. Ha! It’s so funny that when we take a great spill we quickly look to see if someone saw us before actually worrying if anything is wrong!

  7. Kathy, thanks so much for your encouraging comment on my blog. And I admire your ability to find what you are looking for via Google. I seem to have difficulty hitting on the right words or phrases to find what I am searching for, although I often don’t even think to google!

    Thanks for update. Happy to hear of positive developments and will keep all in my thoughts. Your blogs were among first I started following at the beginning of my blogging efforts. I so enjoyed our granddaughter’s similar development then and now. Many good laughs, smiles, nods of grandmotherhood agreement!

  8. I’d LOVE to go cruisin’ in that car with H2. It even looks like him.

  9. wow, that’s quite a scary locked car story!

  10. Wow. Locking in those twin baabies must have been REALLY scary! I’m glad they were ok. I’m loving the blogging world and my new friends on it too!

  11. Enjoyed your answers and that car would be a cool prop to own. There have been so many interesting answers to that question.

    That fall does not sound like fun at all. Don’t think I would’ve taken the shortcut again either.

    I love all the blogging friends I’ve made too. So far I haven’t met any of them in real life yet. I’m so glad my friend talked me into trying blogging 4 years ago. In fact my 4th blogoversary was last Thursday.

    Have a great day.

  12. One of these days I will remember to join in on this fun!! You are at the top of my want to meet loggers list:)

    • I really have to stop using my phone to comment.. *’blogger**

  13. Ah yes, the wisdom that comes with age … unfortunately, I have a feeling that if we knew then what we know now, our lives would be so different … and in my case at least, I don’t think that would be a good thing at all! 😉

    That must have been scary … those babies in the car with the doors locked! Glad it all worked out well.

  14. I’m so with you on number one! Enjoy your pumpkin candles, I love them too. Great choice on a prop from a movie.

  15. I’m finding that the older I get – the more I forget. It gets really aggravating at times. 😦

    As far as Autumn – it’s my all-time favorite time of the year !!! ♥


Leave a Reply

