More About Me On Monday…

Hello, first Monday of autumn! It’s a crisp, cool morning here, and fall is truly in the air. I watched all weekend as the leaves fell like rain. Now, if only someone would please tell the mosquitoes around here that summer is officially here and it’s time for them to leave!

The weekend around here was a busy one. Ed and I got up early on Saturday morning, and did our “coupon shopping”.  We do this on a regular basis.  I had five coupons for “$5.00 off twenty-five dollars or more”, and we used them all!  It’s really sad the small amount of items it takes to equal twenty-five dollars now. They fit in a hand-held basket most of the time! When I first began using those coupons, a couple of years ago, I could buy a lot more for $25.00!  Of course, toilet paper didn’t cost seven dollars a package back then!

After doing our “coupon thing”, Ed and I raced back home so we could babysit our grandsons for the rest of the day.  Their parents were going on an afternoon “date”. Chase, the youngest, will be nine months old this week, and his brother, Cade, will be four in December. It’s a trip down “memory lane” watching those two boys together.  They remind me so much of our sons, since their age difference is about the same.  After the boys went home, I realized how much difference twenty-five years has made in my life–I was tired and went to bed at nine-thirty!

The rest of our weekend was spent enjoying the wonderful fall weather outside. All too soon, the weekend was over.  Speaking of the weekend being over–it’s time to participate in Heather’s Monday meme!  Here are her questions:

1. What room in the house do you try your hardest to keep clean?

The kitchen, although it’s a never-ending job, and sometimes it doesn’t stay clean long!

2. How do you describe your blog to someone you just met?

I write my thoughts on the past, present, and future–along with a couple of memes thrown in for fun.

3. What was your lie from last week? (If you didn’t play last week, What was your favorite cartoon you watched as a kid?)

My lie was “I enjoy the side effects of growing older”.  Imagine that!

4. What is your favorite kind of salad? (post a recipe if you got one)

I really like “the zalads” at Zaxbys.

My question for you is…

5.  Do you use coupons?

Published in: on September 24, 2012 at 9:15 am  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/09/24/more-about-me-on-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My hubby does the shopping (yay!) but he never takes coupons with him (boo!).

  2. I use some coupons, but I’m not addicted to them.

  3. Unfortunately couponing is not big in Canada – we have store brand products which save us money and are of the same quality and even made the name brand companies. With retirement we are more frugal and buy as we need.

  4. I’ve never had a salad at Zaxby’s. I’ll have to try one!

  5. Most of the companies have figured out the best couponing methods and have killed the ways we were saving big money using them. It seems not the ROI on them is not worth it as much.

  6. I use coupons sporadically.I just don’t have the time to look for them usually.

  7. My coupons expire before I get to them. “That’s like I just threw 50 cents out the window,” I deride myself every time that happens.

  8. I typically use the coupons I get from one of our local stores, Winn-Dixie. They are for $5 or $10 off an order of $50 or $55. Other than that, no. Most coupons are for items I don’t buy or use, or I buy store brands that are cheaper even with the coupon.

  9. Sounds like a nice weekend. What a blessing to watch your grandson’s. Yes I do use coupons but not as many as I use to years ago. I do like the dollar ones I find online!

  10. Yes, I use coupons. I’m getting better at it, but with our tight budget sometimes I still don’t get to use them when items are on sale because that particular thing may not be as important as something else. However, last weekend I really scored. I shopped CVS and got $44.00 dollars worth of stuff for $21 (that includes tax). Then headed to Safeway and scored $60.00 worth of groceries for $25.00. Grocery outlet cleaned up the rest of my list, where you almost always can save money if you pay attention to the prices.

  11. I definitely use my supermarket ‘save 5$ on $25’ type coupons. And all my store bonus cards. CVS gives store bonus bucks so I’ve started buying some items there I used to get at the supermarket.

    Glad you enjoyed a day with your grand boys!

  12. I hate to admit it, but I’ve never eaten at Zaxby’s. LOL


Leave a Reply

