Let’s “Fall” Into The Hodgepodge…

It’s officially fall, so let’s get down to business with the first Hodgepodge of the new season.  Joyce has some fun questions lined up for us this week!  Don’t forget, you can join in the fun simply by clicking Joyce’s button at the top of this post!

1. The Wednesday Hodgepodge this week falls on John Chapman’s birth date. He’s more famously known as Johnny Appleseed…what’s your favorite variety of apple?

I’m not really picky about what kind of apples I eat.  I usually buy Red Delicious or Macintosh or Gala…

One of my favorite fall activities at school, used to be when our class graphed our favorite apples.  The teacher brought in four different varieties of apples, and let each child sample them all, along with some caramel dip, of course!  Afterward, we’d take a poll of how many students liked which apple best, then we’d make our graph on a huge piece of chart paper.  It was a tasty and fun math lesson for all!

2. When did you last say ‘ick’?

I don’t remember when I last said “ick” or if I ever did.  I usually say something more like “gross” or “eeew”, and the last time I said this was while picking up rotten pears from under our trees last weekend.

3. Do you think there’s a generation gap? Explain.

Yes, I do think there’s a generation gap, and I believe it happens due to the difference in age and life-experience.  People in different stages of life view things in different ways, and have different interests and circumstances in their lives.

For instance, Ed and I can identify with the phases of life that each of our adult children are going through, having already lived them.  They, on the other hand, have no idea what it’s like to be a senior citizen.  They don’t understand how we think and feel–but they will, eventually.  The other day I told our 27 year old that in five years he won’t be the same person that he is today because we’re all constantly evolving.  I can still remember every “A-ha” moment I’ve ever had–at least for the time being!

Likewise, there’s a gap between Ed/I, and our own parents, too.  My own parents have been deceased for years, but more recently we’ve watched as Ed’s mama has had to experience dealing with a sick spouse, then lose him.  We’ve seen her gradually lose her independence and ability to function, then experience what it’s like to be unable to live in her own home anymore.  We can feel pain and sympathy for her, but we’ll never truly understand until we’ve been there.

4. What’s on your computer screen saver? Do you leave it alone or change it often?

I don’t have a screen saver on either one of my computers.  I put them in sleep mode when I’m not using them.

5. If you had the attention of the entire world for two minutes, what would you say?

Turn from your wicked ways and turn to God–the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob!

6. Four fashion trends to try this fall are-brocade/jacquard (fancy printed fabrics), peplum, lace, and printed pants…which of these four would you be most likely to wear?

Well, I think at my age, with my figure, my best bet would be something made out of brocade/jacquard.  Several years ago, I had a red dress made from this fabric, and I liked it a lot.

7. What can make your bad day better?

Seeing Ed come home at the end of the day is always a ray of sunshine!  I often think how sad it would be not to have that to look forward to.  Also, a candlelight bath, with some soft music playing or an opportunity to sit beside the ocean are guaranteed to lower my stress level and make me forget my troubles–at least for a while.

Random:  

When will bag boys learn how to properly bag and load groceries?  I bought two strawberry shortcakes, at two different supermarkets, this summer.  The cakes were lovely when I paid for them, but when I got home with them, they looked like a disaster because the bag boys placed my cakes on their ends in the bags!  Whatever happened to common sense?

Published in: on September 26, 2012 at 8:45 am  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/09/26/lets-fall-into-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We almost always have to bag our own, which is actually how I like it. I’m picky about my grocery loading : )

  2. I remember the apple math graphs. A fun lesson, and a cute chart as well. Tasty too!

  3. We bag our own as well so if we have a disaster it is our fault. I bet the cake tasted good though.

  4. Apple math sounds like fun.
    I have had to correct the bag boys a time or two also. They are usually more concerned about talking or goofing off then bagging the groceries.
    A candle light bath can be very relaxing and mood changing.
    As for the generation gap question, I agree with you about the a-ha moments. I have had a few of those too. My parents died at an early age but I do remember my great-grandmother becoming fragile and not being able to live in her house alone. I would stay with her at times before she had to move in with my grandparents, those were treasured times for me and it was sad seeing her digress afterwards.

  5. #5 good answer! We get our bread smashed a lot because it’s on the bottom of the bag with can goods on top! Really!!!!

  6. I have a pic of H2 driving a transit bus on my screensaver. It always brightens my day.

  7. I’ve done those apple graphs with students! It is a lot of fun. The baggers around here are like that too. Except at Whole Foods and Trader Joes.

  8. Our school does apple graphs too!

    My screen saver has pictures on it that have happened during that month. For example, I currently have September pictures running. All pictures are from events that have happened in September. Next Monday I’ll be changing to October pictures and we’ll see a lot of Halloween costumes from the past pop up!

  9. I remember saying icky to my children when they were little and would pick things up off the ground. So sweet about Ed coming home and making you happy. The bath sounds pretty awesome too. Sorry about your cakes 😦

  10. What a shame on the shortcakes. We shop at a store where you bag your own groceries … then I can make sure that there are no bagging mishaps.

  11. This was like a trek through my own mental processes, including the bad bagger lament! Your answers are always interesting and often moving and inspiring. Your answers also show a willingness to reveal yourself as you truly are. All admirable!

  12. It’s not just you, Miss Kathy. Sometimes I think I could do a better job at bagging groceries. Believe it or not – the other day – they put my 5 pound bag of potatoes in a grocery bad with Ashley’s potato chips !!! Needless to say…he was less than happy. 😦

    As far as wallpaper – I have the 2012 Georgia Bulldogs schedule as mine right now. GO DAWGS !!!


Leave a Reply

