Thirty-four Years Ago…

Thirty-four years ago life was very similar to the way it is today.  The house was neat,  quiet, and the only people sharing it were Ed and me.  It makes me smile now to think of how young and naive Ed and I were back in those days!  We had so much to learn about life, but learn we did!

Ed and I’d been married over five years, but the last one of those five years, we’d begun to feel as if “something” was missing.  The first “missing piece” of our family came to us on October 1, 1978 in the form of an eight pound baby girl!  Ed and I had been married  for six years, three and one-half months.

Ed and I named our baby girl Brandy.  We brought her home from the hospital, loved her, took care of her, blinked our eyes ( or so it seemed) and before we knew it, she grew up.  Her childhood seemed to pass almost as quickly as this video of her life does.

Our Brandy has grown into a lovely young woman with a family of her own.  Brandy now has a daughter who looks an awful lot like she did while growing up–and she, too, is growing up quickly.  Some things never change!

To Brandy on her birthday:

My Wish  (by Rascal Flatts)

I hope the days come easy and the moments pass slow

And each road leads you where you want to go

And if you’re faced with the choice and you have to choose

I hope you choose the one that means the most to you

And if one door opens to another door closed

I hope you keep on walkin’ ‘til you find the window

If it’s cold outside, show the world the warmth of your smile

But more than anything, more than anything

My wish for you

Is that this life becomes all that you want it to

Your dreams stay big, your worries stay small

You never need to carry more than you can hold

And while you’re out there gettin’ where you’re gettin’ to

I hope you know somebody loves you

And wants the same things too

Yeah, this is my wish…


Published in: on October 1, 2012 at 1:35 am  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/thirty-four-years-ago/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I put together a CD for both of my daughters last year (for their birthdays just 12 days apart) and included that same Rascal Flatts song. It says it so nicely! Happy birthday to Brandy!

  2. Happy birthday to Brandy!

  3. Happy Birthday to Brandy! Hope she has a blessed day.

  4. I love that Rascall Flatts song…happy birthday to your daughter!

  5. How beautiful. Happy Birthday, Brandy !!! ♥


Leave a Reply

