Meet Me On Monday, Since I’ve Been Missing In Action…

Sometimes life just seems to get in the way of blogging, and that’s been the case with me lately.  I began last week running behind, and things didn’t get any better as the week wore on.  Something had to give, and I chose to step away from the computer for a few days in an effort to catch up.  What have I been up to, you may ask?  Well…

I picked and shelled lots of peas, then blanched them and put them in the freezer.  I lost count of how many bags.

I babysat our youngest grandson one evening, while his mom went to her Ladies Meeting at church.  I’d forgotten how to cook and take care of a 9 month old at the same time!  Fun times.

I baked some brownies for my brother-in-law who is still recovering from his recent illness.  He looked like he could use a treat!

I’ve been caring for my sick and aging rabbit, “Honey Bun”,  who recently became paralyzed in his back hips.  His cage has to be cleaned twice a day now.  Getting old sucks!  Honey Bun is 8 years old.

I finished making my Halloween tree decorations, then decorated the “year round tree” for Halloween.

I brought out the indoor and outdoor Halloween decorations, and finally put them up.  I still don’t have my electric jack-o-lanterns plugged in though.

I helped Ed paint the back porch–I have the aching back to prove it!

I dusted off the sewing machine, and did some repairs/alterations to several pieces of mine and Ed’s clothing, and last, but not least

I did a bit of house cleaning!  That’s what I’ve been up to!

I haven’t done any blog visiting in several days, but I promise to catch up today and tomorrow!

Now, let’s join Heather for the Monday Quiz about me!  You can play along by clicking her button below:

Acting Balanced

1. What is the nicest thing someone has ever done for you on your birthday?

I’ve received several random acts of kindness over the years, in celebration of my birthday, but the most recent birthday is still at the forefront of my memory.  First of all, my husband offered to take the day off from work, and take me to the beach on my birthday!  He never offers to take the day off from work!  It rained, and I ended up having to go to the doctor anyway, but we still spent the entire day together, and it was so special.

What is it about a little boy bearing flowers???   After arriving back home on my birthday, I received a special card and a “hand-crafted” floral arrangement.   I wish I could have gotten a picture of our almost four-year-old grandson coming up the steps carefully carrying those flowers!  Instead, I only got a picture of the vase and flowers.  Caden, the oldest grandson, helped his mom make the vase, then pick the flowers from their yard.

2. What is the funniest thing that ever happened to you while you were on a ‘date’?

My first date with my husband, Ed, was sort of funny.  First of all, it was a blind date, arranged by mine and Ed’s mutual cousin because she wanted to go out with Ed’s best friend. (Her mom was Ed’s aunt, while her dad was my uncle)  Our mutual cousin double dated with us, along with Ed’s best friend.  We ended up at the drive-in watching the original 1969 movie of “Dr. Doolittle”!   Ed was a perfect gentleman, while his friend kept trying to put “the moves” on our cousin in the back seat!  The whole date was just sort of odd, but who knew that over 43 years later, Ed and I would still be together?!

3. What is your favorite backhanded compliment?

I really can’t think of one, so I’ll just say, “You really shouldn’t have…”

4. Have you ever had someone guest blog for you? If so, how was the experience?

No, I haven’t had a guest blogger on my blog.  It wouldn’t be “Reflections by Kathy” if anyone else was doing the blogging.

My question for you is:

5.  Did you watch last Wednesday night’s “Presidential Debate”?  

Published in: on October 7, 2012 at 9:19 pm  Comments (13)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/meet-me-on-monday-since-ive-been-missing-in-action/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. No, without cable we are immune to all of the televised debating, commercials etc… it’s kinda nice to be able to read the results at my own leisure…

  2. Nope, no cable here. I know I could have watched it online, but once I read a lot of the stories about it, I didn’t figure there was any point.

  3. No, being Canadian we watched a pre-recorded DWTS.

  4. I am also a no TV person. Missed it all.

  5. No. I don’t live in the US. I only watched a brief news story about it.

  6. I swear I left a reply. Let me try again.

    You really WERE busy, weren’t you? I hope you have a chance to rest up and relax this week.

    And I didn’t watch the debate … too sick and tired of all the political rhetoric.

  7. Hubby and I caught the last end of the debate. Curiosity got the best of us, originally we were going to just read up on it.

  8. I love the flowers and the vase… nothing like a child bearing flowers!
    and No… I didn’t watch it either….

  9. Real life has been needing my attention lately too. I’m trying to roll with it : )

  10. No I didn’t watch the debate! Great funny story of the first date and you have been way to busy to blog!!! I’m surprised you got to eat, or shower, or go to the bathroom! Good Grief woman!!

  11. Wow. Been busy much? LOL The flowers and the vase are such a great gift! I can just imagine his little face walking up the steps. Such joy! No, I didn’t watch the debate. I never do. My mind has been made up long ago. No need to watch those stupid things.

  12. I did watch the debate. Neither candidate really said anything and neither had any passion. I watched the ticker with the rating of the group of undecided voters. They also didn’t seem impressed with either side side.

    Flowers are always beautiful presented by little hands!

  13. I have to go to bed now. I am exhausted from reading about all you have accomplished!


Leave a Reply

