Let’s Indulge In A Little Hodgepodge…

It’s time to, once again, indulge myself in a little Wednesday Hodgepodge!  Sure sounds like a fun way to celebrate the middle of the week to me, so here are the questions provided by our gracious hostess, Joyce:

1. In what ways do you indulge yourself?

Some of my favorite past indulgences have been–going to the movies alone in the middle of a weekday afternoon, buying myself a banana split, then eating the entire thing, or traveling over 90 minutes to St. Simon’s Island,  just to sit under my favorite oak tree for a while!  Around the house, I enjoy taking an afternoon nap, spending an entire day “crafting”, or just relaxing with a good book.

2. Have you ever taken a cooking class? Any interest? What type of class would you most like to try?

The only type of a cooking class I’ve ever taken was during a “Home Economics” class, w-a-y back in high school!  Gee, do they even offer Home Ec anymore?  If I ever decide to take a cooking class, it would most likely be one on how to make fancy desserts!  The dessert is always the best part of the meal to me anyway 🙂

3. What does it mean to be a good citizen?

To me, being a good citizen means abiding by the rules, as well as taking pride in where you live, work, or go to school.  It also means being respectful of others, and being willing to lend a hand whenever it’s needed.

4. ‘Tis the season of the political advert…do these ads influence your vote?

No!   These ridiculous political ads do not influence my vote in any way.  (Speaking of ridiculous–have you seen the “Big Bird” ad?)  I’ve done my homework on the candidates, and I just hope others have, too.

5. What’s something you see today that makes you wish you were a kid again?

My reflection in the mirror each morning–and missing the childhood innocence of yesteryear.

6. What’s your least favorite cliche?

Diamonds are a girl’s best friends.  To me, this just sounds so wrong.

7. What percentage of your Christmas shopping has been completed? How does that make you feel?

0%–and it makes me feel a little anxious, but it will be okay.  I always ask the mothers of our grandchildren for some suggestions, which makes gift buying a lot easier.  As for the adults, we don’t buy for everyone, instead we usually do a gift exchange.

Random:

Today is not going to start out in a fun way.  It’s time to go and have my routine blood work done–and it’s also time to get a flu shot.   Fun times ahead!

Published in: on October 10, 2012 at 7:55 am  Comments (6)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/lets-indulge-in-a-little-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There are a lot of us that are sick and tired of the political ads! You would think that the powers that be would listen and stop it all. I will be so glad when it’s over.

  2. I haven’t seen the Big Bird ad … something tells me that I don’t want to either??

    I love your answer to #3.

  3. I just heard that PBS is requesting that the ads with Big Bird be taken off the air. Guess he’s trying to be neutral!

  4. I like your indulgents! I wish they would put that ad money into paying off our debts!!! The mirrow is a great answer. I actually wrote a poem about that. Good answer on the cliche too. Good luck with all of your tests.

    Thanks for stopping over. I wish I could comment back 🙂 Thanks for the prayers. I will say more when I can. No one is sick or dying so that is good. Will keep your family in my prayers.

  5. When my kids were in school home ec was called FACS (Family and Consumer Science). I kinda think we need to put economics back in the name : ) I told myself I was going to get a flu shot this week too. Oh well, I’ve still got two days left in the week so I will put it off a little longer.

  6. My indulgences tend to slide over into addictions, such as reading “fluff” paperback fiction, eating dark chocolate, and eating pizza. Your cooking lessons via Home Ec reminded me of my kitchen disasters in Home Ec. I guess I was too interested in reading “fluff” to benefit from practical classroom experiences. My teacher did try. Friends with more aptitude were creative in rescuing me from the consequences of my culinary mishaps.


Leave a Reply

