Hodgepodge Number 98…

I always look forward to participating in the Wednesday Hodgepodge!  I learn something new each week, and I’ve met a lot of great people, as well.  Joyce, our hostess, is great at providing us with a never-ending supply of diverse and interesting questions.  Speaking of questions, here are this week’s questions, along with my answers:

1. Noah Webster was born this week back in 1758….besides the online version, do you own a dictionary? Do you ever use the hardback copy or is your hunt for a definition strictly online these days?

Actually,  I own two dictionaries.  One of my dictionaries is very old.  It’s a high school dictionary, and used to belong to my brother w-a-y back when he was in high school during the early sixties.  My other dictionary is a college dictionary which I purchased  only a few years ago, while taking college courses.  These days I rely solely on the internet for any necessary definitions.

2. Should public schools ban Halloween celebrations? What about other holiday celebrations currently under fire?

No!  Let me just say how sick I am of celebrations, as well as other things, being banned simply because they may be offensive to some!  I’m offended by a lot of things that I see and hear each and every day, but I  put on my big girl panties and deal with it!

3. What’s your favorite ‘dog’ movie?

“Where the Red Fern Grows”.  It’s an old movie about a young boy and two hound dogs.  I love the movie, but the ending makes me cry like a baby.

4. When were you last somewhere you’d describe as ‘too quiet’?

I can’t remember the last time when I felt like a place was “too quiet”.  After many years of raising three children, and working in an elementary school, I happen to enjoy the silence!  I do remember a time, many years ago, when our home seemed almost too quiet after our children all started to school, but I soon joined them by working at the school, so the silence was short lived!

5. Are you a neat cook or a messy cook? In other words do you clean as you go or make a big mess and then deal with it later?

I’m a messy cook!  Sometimes I try to clean up as I go, but somehow I always end up with a mess by the time I finish.  Thank goodness for the dishwasher, and a helpful husband!

6. Did you hear about Felix Baumgartner, the skydiver who broke the sound barrier via parachute? Was your first thought COOL! or was your first thought CRAZY! Are you adventurous?

I heard about this skydiver, and my first thought was this– He must be crazy!  No, I’m not adventurous at all, and I’m not ashamed a bit.

7. What’s not a word but should be?

“Catitudes”.  It’s what the owner of multiple cats has to deal with!

Random:  Update on my brother-in-law

A couple of weeks ago, I mentioned how sick my BIL had been.  Following pneumonia and a lung abscess, he’d been sent home from the hospital  still requiring IV antibiotics every six hours.  He was having to drive 17 miles to his wife’s job, at 2 am, for her to administer his medications in the nursing home parking lot!  My husband, Ed, volunteered to get up and go to his brother’s house to administer the 2 am therapy.  Ed helped out for a week, then our sister-in-law chose to ask for a short leave of absence from her job.  I’m happy to report that my BIL is doing much better.  He still has another week of antibiotic therapy to go, but he’s getting better every day.  Prayers are being answered.

Published in: on October 17, 2012 at 7:09 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/10/17/hodgepodge-number-98/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Glad to hear that your BIL is doing better! 🙂 Catitudes… never heard that one before!

  2. Couldn’t agree more with #2 and #6.

    So glad that your BIL is doing better.

  3. That is such great news about your BIL! How sweet of your hubby to help out. Where the Red Fern Grows is a keeper!

  4. I’m also glad about your BIL and how he is getting better. It was nice of your husband to help out a while. I get tired of hearing all the fun things being taken out of school because it offends someone. They offend me by stopping all the fun. They are only kids for a short time.

  5. I have to clean as I go along or I go a little crazy. Like your word, it sounds perfect. Well I just got tears in my eyes, how sweet of Ed and the family to pitch in and so happy to hear that your BIL is doing better.

  6. Where the Red Fern Grows is one of my all time favorite books, my girls too. We read it aloud together which makes it more special. I liked the movie, but loved the book.

    So glad your brother in law is doing better!

  7. So very glad your BIL is getting better! I remember Where the Red Fern Grows. When I was homeschooling the two youngest lovelies, that was one of the books I had them read.

  8. I said the guy was crazy. And then I asked myself who paid for all of that and thought about what a waste of money that was. And then I “put my big girl panties on” and moved on with my day!

  9. I too chose Where The Red Fern Grows for # 3.
    Catitude…love it.
    Glad to hear that your Brother In Law is doing better. Hope he continues to do so.

  10. I am starting to believe they don’t make “big girl panties” anymore. Glad your BIL is doing better. 🙂


Leave a Reply

