Thursday’s Thoughts On Friday ~ Farming

Old family photo of Ed’s daddy – posing with some of his tall corn

I found myself absent, once again, from blog land yesterday.  The garden was calling my name for one last time.  I spent the day gathering and canning what will most likely be the last of our fall crop of peas and butter beans.  Our gardening experience of 2012 is coming to an end, and what a wild ride it has been!    Ed and I have learned so much since April!

On Tuesday, Ed’s brother (the one who’s been so sick) came over for a visit.  Technically, he lives next-door to us, but a wooded area separates our homes, so we can’t see each other’s houses.  At one point in time, the area we all live on used to be Ed’s daddy’s cow pasture.  Ed and I have been living on one side of the former pasture for 35 years, while Ed’s brother and his wife moved on the other side about a dozen years ago.

Anyway, Ed’s brother showed up bearing a bag filled with sweet potatoes and a thank you card to show his appreciation for our help during his illness.  Imagine our surprise, when we learned that he, too, had spent the summer of 2012 learning to grow a garden!  What are the chances that two brothers, living on the same family farm would choose to learn to grow a garden during the same year–each without knowing what the other was doing?!

We had the best time sitting there comparing our gardening experiences, and sharing what we’d learned!  We talked about everything from squash bugs to protecting our gardens from wildlife.  It turned out that we’d both lost battles with those pesky squash bugs, and none of us knew what they were for a while!  It also turned out that we’d both relied heavily on the internet for information.

I could tell from the conversation that Ed and his brother both share a love of gardening now.  Both of them, sons of a farmer, yet it took them both well-over fifty years to decide to learn the art of growing food.  I guess better late than never–or should I say, “Desperate times call for desperate measures”?!  ( Is anyone else cringing over the price of food these days?)

As I was sitting on my grasshopper gardening stool picking the last of those butter beans, I couldn’t help but think about the many years Ed’s dad had spent growing food on this land that we call home.  I now have a new appreciation for how hard he worked all of those years to keep food on the table and in our freezers.  What’s that old saying, “Walk a mile in my shoes”?  Now I know!

So the next time you are sitting at your table eating those fruits and vegetables that came from the farmer’s market or the grocery store, think about the farmer who grew that delicious food, and give thanks for him.  I can assure you–from experience–  that a lot of work, worry, and sweat went into the process of growing it.

P.S.  We sent Ed’s brother home with a dozen eggs!  He’s now considering getting some chickens, too!

Published in: on October 19, 2012 at 9:03 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/thursdays-thoughts-on-friday-farming/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love the old picture with the tall corn. I still have to learn how to can. I put so much effort into my garden, and we do enjoy the food through out the seasons. Then winter comes and I am missing all my fresh food. I think it’s really neat how both brothers are going back to their roots. It’s never too late to learn!

  2. What a great story of 2 brothers. I see a lot of sharing of info for next year! Have a great weekend.

  3. Our prices here are outrageous. I spent 4.19 on a bottle of ranch dressing the other day. I need to make my own, but I love the fat free Hidden Valley. Have a nice weekend!

  4. That is so awesome that you both had gardens this year. It’s also so nice that you live on property that has been in the family for years. I cannot believe the size of that corn!!! How nice to get a bag of sweet potatoes too. Definitely better late than never! Your worked so hard and I know you will feel so proud eating all of them!

  5. I love coincidences like that. It’s al ost like it’s programmed in their genes. And yes, I will try to think of a farmer tonight at dinner.

  6. Amazing how they both started gardens this year, unbeknownst to each other.

    That’s TALL corn!

  7. To your list of work, worry and sweat you can add bonding and sharing.


Leave a Reply

