What In The World…

(image from Google)

I’ve been glued to the images of the aftermath of hurricane Sandy for two days.  My mind can’t fathom the devastation or heartbreak those people are enduring.  My heart and prayers go out to all of them.  The stories appear to be turning uglier by the hour, as people’s survival instincts begin to kick in and they do what they feel they must do to survive.  No homes, no gas, no food, no electricity equals a lot of chaos and misery!  Yet, the New York Marathon will go on this weekend!  What?!  This is a crazy world that we are living in!  It would seem to me,  that now would be a perfect time to postpone such an event.

Speaking of a crazy world–I sat in awe, last night, watching a television special entitled “The Machine”, concerning voter fraud.  In the words of Charlie Brown, “Good grief!”  As evidenced by the show, these incidences have been going on for years, but just seem to be growing in number over time.  What is happening to our country?

Ed and I took advantage of early voting for the first time this week.  Fortunately, there was no line, our ballots were short, and we didn’t feel pressured.  We checked and rechecked our choices before casting our ballots–and it’s a good thing as voters in some states have been reporting machines “defaulting” to a particular presidential candidate, even though they didn’t vote for him!

Then, of course, there’s the problem of our news media!  We can no longer depend on them to bring us accurate news.  I’ve never been more disgusted with news reporting, than I am right now.  Thank goodness, for those rare individuals who are still willing and able to deliver the truth, and thank God for the internet!  If the government gets its hooks any deeper into the internet, we’re all screwed!  It’s our only reliable resource for “unfiltered” news.

I don’t know what the answers for all of these problems are–other than prayer.  In times of trouble, I hang on to three little words, “God is able”.  I find comfort in knowing that God is in control.  He has a plan.  I’m thankful I’m a believer, and have this knowledge to comfort me in times of trouble.  I will continue to pray…

Published in: on November 2, 2012 at 8:26 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/11/02/what-in-the-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I wish I could find a truly unbiased source for news, especially with the election coming up. It just seems that every source I find has an agenda … some are better at disguising that agenda, but it’s still there if you look.

  2. One stroy I heard this morning was that a Southern Electric company drove up to help the people of NJ but were turned away because that company was not part of the UNION!! Really! No food, no gas, no water, no union can’t help. One more reason I hate unions. It just is so sad.

  3. I too have been watching a lot fo coverage about Sandy. I lived in NJ for 12 years and still have friends there. Not many are right along the coast but just about everywhere in the state there is much damage, and lost power.
    Events like these have happened throughout time but it seems we feel the pain of them, seeing others more now by the “up close and personal” news coverage. 24 – 7 on so many channels!!
    I agree the news networks are different now and even tho they call themselves unbiased or “fair and balanced” they are not. I don’t know if it’s a purposeful thing, because then we really have to call it propoganda. A few are better than some. I still prefer NBC Nightly News over the others.
    Praying to God is ALWAYS right!

  4. Prayer is a relief. All that footage brings back those Katrina memories. I shudder to think where the Miss. Gulf Coast would have been without Good Samaritans from churches, organizations and private individuals working solo and together.

    And Kathy, thanks for visits and comments on our travels. I am still “recuperating” and will be playing “blogging catchup” as energy allows for awhile!

  5. I thought the marathon was cancelled. I haven’t watch the news this weekend, so I’m not sure.
    I feel horrible for the people who were affected by Sandy.

  6. I took advantage of the early voting this year myself. I’m glad it’s done. I think I might take advantage of that option every election. 🙂


Leave a Reply

