Thursday’s Thoughts ~ Searching For Better Days

It has not been a good week in our neck of the woods.  First of all, my lap top died on Sunday night while I was trying to check my email.  I’ve spent the better part of this week trying to decide what kind of laptop to replace it with.  I’m not tech-savy and this chore is making my head want to explode!  Sitting in this computer chair (at the desk top) for hours on end is making my behind sore, too.  Computing from recliner is much more comfortable.

After four months of suffering, two rounds of medication by mouth,  taking probiotics twice daily, and two months of topical applications–my problem with overgrowth of yeast persists.  I’m ready to scream!  The weather here has turned cold, and wearing free-flowing dresses is not comfortable–but neither is wearing slacks.  It’s a “no-win” situation.  I’m currently on round three of Diflucan–and I sure would appreciate prayers.  My doctor says sometimes yeast can be difficult to get rid of.  No kidding!

Honeybun, our aging and paralyzed rabbit continues to grow worse.  Ed and I have both been working hard to keep him as comfortable as possible until the end, but the inevitable has happened to him.  He’s developed a “bedsore”, or as Ed would say in medical terms– a decubitus ulcer.  Bedsores are caused by pressure from staying in the same position for a long period of time.  They are horrific things– maggots actually get in them to eat the rotting flesh, but Ed explains to me that this is actually a good thing.  In the past, there have been cases where maggots were actually put in the bedsores of people to clean them out!  Enough said about that!

Last but not least, I couldn’t help but feel a sad and sinking feeling on Tuesday evening, as I watched the election results.  I was hoping and praying for a turnaround for our country, but alas, it was not to be.  The majority of voting Americans apparently approve of the direction our country is heading, but I’m afraid most don’t have a clue of what direction that truly is.  A couple of quotes keep running through my mind…”poor choices have consequences” and “you reap what you sow”…

Like the title of this post says, I’m searching for better days.  Hopefully, I’ll find them lurking somewhere just around the next bend of life!

Published in: on November 8, 2012 at 11:11 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/thursdays-thoughts-searching-for-better-days/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am so sorry your yeast issues continue. My daughter has has luck with the cranberry pills.
    I was devastated Tuesday night. I worked 15 hours at the polls. I never experienced anything like that in my life, post coming as soon as I can catch my breath..

  2. Minor aggravations and huge sadnesses are all harder to deal with when you are facing them through unrelieved health issues. A n acquaintance of mine has been on a diet that her doc mandated a number of years ago for the recurring yeast thing.

    I don’t know what other health challenges she faces, I just know she adheres strictly to that diet and to a daily exercise regimen that includes walking and gym time. Keeping you in my prayers.

  3. Another 4 years and the election will happen all over again!

  4. Sorry about your computer. Since I am on my computer most of the day it is nice to work from the sofa in my office 🙂 So sorry about your bunny and also about your issues too. I will be praying for you. I prayed hard on Monday night for God to touch the hearts of the Americans to see that we need a change. Now I am praying harder for Him to heal my broken heart and make me proud to be an American again. ((HUGS))

  5. Oh goodness, so sorry you are still having this persistent health issue. I drink cranberry juice every day which seems to help keep infection at bay, maybe something to think about once you get this resolved. I will certainly pray this medication works as I know how completely miserable it is.

    I probably said too much re:election on my blog today, but I needed to get it out there before I collapsed into a heap. A sad day for the American taxpayer that’s for certain.

    Hope you sort out the computer too…can your kids offer any advice? Mine are good for that sort of thing : ) Take care!

  6. I write and sell short stories and essays to mags, and for the past 10 years, my office is my recliner. I love my Toshiba laptop. I have wireless internet and a wireless printer. It’s so much nicer than working from a desk.

  7. First of all, I’m sorry to hear your yeast condition is still troubling you.

    My laptop has at times played dead on me so I know how you feel. Fortunately It has always been just teasing me. Like you, I am a recliner reader. Writer, too. That’s where I am right now.

    Also sorry the election results has bummed you out. I’m on the other side of the fence. So all I’ll say is we shall see.

  8. Oh my, what a week you’ve had. Praying that things will improve for you. {{hug}}


Leave a Reply

