Monday, Monday…

It’s Monday again!  Man, the weekend sure went by in a flash!  As always, I’m kicking off a new week by joining Heather for her meme “About Me Monday”.  Here are this week’s questions, along with my answers, followed by a very quick recap of the weekend:
1. What is your favorite kind of soup?
My favorite kind of soup is homemade vegetable beef soup, served with  hot cornbread!  I especially enjoy making it with home-grown vegetables–and I just made some a few days ago!
2. When was the last time you saw snow?
Sadly, we don’t get snow here in the south very often.  The last time we had enough snow to stay on the ground was in February of 2010.  It didn’t begin snowing until after dark, and most of it melted by noon the following day.  As a result, most our snow activities, and the photographs of them, took place at night!
3. What is a must have trait if someone is going to live with you?
Probably lots of patience.
4. Who was your favorite James Bond? 
I’ve never been a fan of James Bond movies, but I do like Pierce Brosnan!
My question for you is:
5.  Who cooks the turkey for your family’s Thanksgiving dinner?
With the exception of a couple of years, the turkey task has been my responsibility for somewhere around twenty years.
The weekend wrap up:
It was a very busy weekend at our house, so I am beginning the week tired.  I won’t take time to tell you the details, but I will tell you that our weekend involved traveling out of town to get a new laptop, looking at someone’s new house, eating out, doing some grocery shopping, and hosting a birthday dinner!  No wonder I’m tired today!  There are a lot of things I want to document here, but today I have to clean up a bit, and get ready for visitors.  Our two little grandsons are coming for a visit while their mama goes to an out-of-town appointment.  I’ll be back tomorrow!
Published in: on November 12, 2012 at 9:09 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/monday-monday-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a glorious way to spend a Monday:)
    I hope you get some rest tonight!

  2. I cook the turkey! Last year Thanksgiving was at my daughter’s house but I had to go over early in the morning and cook it for her.

  3. I’ve been roasting the turkey for years. As a matter of fact, I make the entire meal myself. I got tired of hearing folks complain about not having time or not wanting to be in the kitchen. Now I cook just for our family and that’s just fine too.

  4. We have Double Thanksgiving. On Thanksgiving day Hubby and I travel to his family gathering and then the Saturday after my family gathers for, After Thanksgiving Still Thankful Dinner. My dad typical is the turkey cooker! Though Hubby last year also grilled a turkey. On in-law’s side I am not sure who cooks the turkey, but I know granddad buys it fresh, as in feather’s get plucked in the sink, the day before.

  5. My mom and sister are the cooks. I am the cheering section from the table, my job is to keep the coffee pot full. 🙂

  6. Definitely my job to do the turkey! have been doing it for over thirty years now…. and have to make that extra stuffing on the side…. just found out it was called dressing if it isn’t in the bird… go figure!

  7. Turkey…a bit of a sore spot for me. It had always been my Mom’s dinner. After she passed, Grandma took over bankrolling it, but I cooked it at her place. The year Grandma was in assisted living, I made part of dinner, including the stuffing, and took it to my Dad’s house where we finished it and took dinner to the family dining area for full Thanksgiving dinner with Grandma. Last year, my dad and aunt did the whole dinner, no longer with Mom’s stuffing recipe, and I was told to do nothing, because of my MS even though I still cook at home. It was actually pretty awful for me having any essence of my Mom kicked out and being called “too sick to help.”

    This year I’m cooking the turkey at home. 🙂

  8. My husband makes the turkey! He loves to cook.

  9. My daughter and I co-cook the Thanksgiving meal. It’s at her house, but I get up there bright and early so we can cook the meal. 😉

  10. Heather makes the Turkey though we tend not to celebrate US Thanksgiving. Thanks for participating in the MQAM. Hope to see you again next week.


Leave a Reply

