The Monday Quiz…

I have the turkey thawing in the ‘fridge, my shopping list on the kitchen table, and pies waiting to be made, but today I’m joining Heather for her Monday meme!  First things first, right?  Here are this week’s questions:

1. What are you thankful for this year?

For Ed, my husband of 40 years, our three grown children and their spouses, and of course, the grandchildren!  For Ed continuing to have a job (during tough economic times), for the amount of debt we’ve been able to reduce this year, for two successful gardening endeavors, and of course, for “my girls” (the chickens).

2. What was your special dish that your parents made for you while growing up?

No special dish, that I can recall, but I loved their vegetable soup, mama’s cole slaw and egg custard pie, and daddy’s bar-b-qued chicken.  It’s funny the little things you miss after your parents are gone.
3. How long are you willing to wait for someone before you give up?

It would depend on who I was waiting for, and why.  I waited for (my now husband) Ed for nearly 3 years, while he was away serving in the army.  I don’t regret a minute of it!
4. What is your favorite quote, poem, song lyric or prayer?

My “go-to” verse for difficult times–“I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me” Philippians 4:13

My question for you:

5.  So, what will you be doing on the day after Thanksgiving?

 

Published in: on November 19, 2012 at 12:10 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/the-monday-quiz/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We usually make turkey soup the day after thanksgiving. Hope yours is a good one.

  2. #5-well I won’t be in the stores, that’s for sure! We ususally take that day (weather permitting) to go for a hike with the dog. We’ll have both girls home too so I’m hoping we have clear skies. Always feels good to climb some hills after consuming all those carbs the day before!

  3. I’ll be watching the Ts the day after Thanksgiving. DD has a vendor fair to work, and it will be a work day for DSIL.

  4. This year we will be hunkered at home finishing up props and wrapping ornament gifts for the Christmas Show before delivering them Sunday afternoon. Saturday we have Second Thanksgiving with my family.

  5. I’ll be decorating.

  6. We’ll be getting our turkey tomorrow for Sunday dinner and it won’t see the freezer first, it will just start the thawing process. It’s just the to of us this year, but I’m still doing smaller amounts of all the fixings…and the turkey soup!

    Last year I was online Christmas shopping to beat the Cyber Monday bandwidth crowds; I imagine I’ll do the same this year.

  7. The day after Thanksgiving, the tree goes up and the decorations come out. We make it a family event. We listen to Christmas carols while we decorate and have a good time together.

  8. A great take on the waiting question. Thanks for participating in the MQAM, hope to see you again next week.

  9. I will be at home with my family watching Christmas movies and decorating the Christmas tree. Unless a friend invites us over, then we’d spend the day with them. No black friday shopping for me. Cyber Monday all the way! Well, if I find anything I feel is worth buying. I’m not a crowds person at all.

  10. Believe it or not, our extended (my husband’s) family is having the family Christmas gathering Friday. As the clan has grown and scattered, the day after Thanksgiving seems to be when most of us will be in town. I am just happy that our younger generation has stepped in to continue the tradition!


Leave a Reply

