One Last November Hodgepodge…

Can you believe this is already the final Wednesday of November?  Me either!  Today I’m taking a break from decorating for Christmas to participate in the Wednesday Hodgepodge–until I have to leave to go into the city for a doctor’s appointment.  In the meantime, I’ll visit as many of you as I can.

Only four more Hodgepodges until Christmas.  Wow!  We’d better get started!

1.  With that being said I think I need to dive right in to some Christmas related questions, don’t you? Which do you prefer-pretty gift wrap with a bow or a pretty gift bag with/without a bow?  What percentage of your holiday gifts are currently (as in right this very minute) wrapped in some form or fashion?

I’m still a bit old-fashioned, and prefer a gift wrapped in pretty gift wrap, and topped off with a nice bow.  Old habits are hard to break, but I occasionally use gift bags, too. ( Have I ever mentioned that I once worked as a “gift wrapper” in a small department store?  Fun times!)  As for how many gifts I currently have wrapped–zero!

2.  What is one item on your Christmas list this year?

I actually don’t have a Christmas list, but the thing I wish for is a healthy and prosperous New Year for Ed and myself.  Two of my good friends from high school lost husbands to cancer this year.  This really puts things into perspective, and makes me realize what’s really important.

3.  What makes a home?

The people who live inside the residence make it a home.  It doesn’t matter if the place is big or small, fancy or plain, a mansion or a camper– or even where it’s located–it’s who’s inside that matters.  A home should be a warm and inviting place to keep you safe from the world outside, and it should be shared with loved ones.  Both of our homes have always been very special to Ed and me–not because they are large or fancy, but because we literally built them together, with a lot of hard work and love.  Both homes have always been filled with lots of love and memories–and they still are.  We live in one home, while our daughter and her family live next door in the other one!

4.  Motown founder Berry Gordy celebrates his birthday on Hodgepodge Day-November 28th. Are you a fan of the Motown sound?  If so, who’s your favorite Motown artist and/or song? Here’s a list in case you’re stuck. 

I love the Motown sound!  My favorite Motown artists are The Temptations and The Supremes, and hearing their songs takes me back in time–to simple, care-free days.  “My Girl” is still one of my favorite songs, even after all these years!

5.  Red or green-which one is more prevalent in your closet?

I don’t care much for green, but red is my favorite color.  Guess which color is more prevalent in my closet?!

6.  True or false-bacon makes it better? If you answered true, what’s your favorite dish made with bacon?

True.  My favorite dish made with bacon is an omelet–or, of course, a BLT.

7.  Share a favorite holiday memory.

Oh, Joyce, how can I choose just one?  (1) I still remember Ed and I celebrating our first Christmas as husband and wife, and how special it felt to purchase and decorate our first tree.  (2) Then there was the year my cat climbed my MIL’s artificial Christmas tree–and completely turned it over while we were spending Christmas at her house!  She laughed, but I was mortified!   (3) I also remember many happy years of staying up until nearly dawn, making sure everything from “Santa” was perfect for our three little ones–and only getting “caught” once!  (4) I remember fun times during our family Christmas Eve parties, when we played games and posed for  family portraits while wearing funny Christmas hats.  (5)  These days, my favorite memories come from hearing about daily visits from “Buddy”, the Elf on a Shelf, to our granddaughter’s house.  I enjoy Buddy’s “antics” almost as much as my granddaughter does!  Here’s a photo of what Buddy was found doing this morning–

Random:

As we watched The Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade last week, we found it quite interesting that two of the celebrities seen on television were from our “Tiny Town” here in Georgia.  First of all there was Brooke Anderson (of CNN and The Insider ), who was one of the hosts and commentators for the parade.  Brook graduated from the same small, private Christian school as our children.  The other celebrity NFL hall-of-famer, Shannon Sharpe, was raised by his grandmother here in “Tiny Town”, then graduated from our local county high school, and went on to play professional football.  It’s a small world, huh?

Published in: on November 28, 2012 at 10:16 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/11/28/one-last-november-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good answer to #2. As I get older, I’ve come to realize that good health is way underrated. 😉 Love your answer to #3! Wow, your small town has 2 celebrities who called it home at one time.

  2. It is most definitely a small world! Elf on the Shelf has certainly taken off…wish I’d thought of that : )

  3. Our grown children have Elf on a Shelf for there kids. I love hearing where the elf shows up each day. Love your memories of Christmas past. Yes, health is so very important, something I am learning about now.

  4. What is the saying “Health, wealth and happiness” Without your health it is hard to achieve the other 2. I too love our first married Christmas tree.

  5. I couldn’t agree more with your answer for #2. One of my besties from high school is battling breast cancer…it does remind you of what truly is important.

  6. I’ve never met Elf on the Shelf before but he looks fun!

  7. Totally agree with your answer for #2. I have never met Elf on the Shelf.

  8. I enjoyed your thoughts, memories you shared, and, of course, Buddy!

  9. I like pretty wrapped presents too. Bags don’t go around the tree in the same way! I have an Elf on the shelf in waiting ………….. I would have enjoyed that when our children were little.


Leave a Reply

