Ho Ho Ho Hodgepodge…

I’ve been having such a difficult week I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to participate in “The Hodgepodge” today, but here I am–because I am a creature of habit and I’m determined!  The good news is- after three days I have finally finished decorating the large tree in the living room. Yay! The bad news is the ornament boxes are still sitting all around, and I have two more trees to go. Perhaps I’ll get them finished today–right after I answer Joyce’s questions and visit a few friends.

1. Share your traditions surrounding the Christmas stocking.
While our children were growing up, everyone in the family had a stocking. We didn’t have an actual fireplace, so I hung the stockings on the wall, near our wood burning heater which stood in the corner.  Some years all of the stockings were filled, but usually it was just the children who found goodies in their stockings on Christmas morning.  The goodies were usually an assortment of Christmas candies and perhaps a small toy or two.  I still have all of our stockings, but no longer hang them.  Here’s a photo from ten or twelve years ago:

7-15-2011 1;53;14 PM Christmas 20023

2. How many hours of sleep do you average at night? Is it enough?

On a good night, I average about 6 hours of sleep.  It’s not enough, but it’s a lot better than the nights when I only sleep 3 to 4 hours.  I’ve found 8 hours of sleep to be the perfect amount of sleep for me, but it rarely happens.

3. If you had to give up one thing for the remainder of this year what would it be?

Considering the television issues plaguing me for the past three weeks, I’m going to say “watching television”.  Three weeks and counting since our big screen was pronounced “unfixable”.  We’re still trying to resolve the problems concerning our new”replacement set”.   It appears that we may end up sending this television back to the company due to its major “issues”.  It’s a very nice television, with internet and 3D, but apparently it’s defective.  What luck!

4. The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge (or Wills and Kate as I like to call them) have announced they’re expecting a baby. Do you follow news of the Royals?

I don’t follow the news of the Royals, but it’s hard since the family is always making headlines.  I don’t really share the fascination that some people have with them.  They’re just people.

5. For me, the sound of childhood is the musical sounds of an ice cream truck!  To this day, I still get excited when I hear one, which isn’t often!   These days there is no ice cream truck around here– only the sounds of our grandchildren squealing with delight while they play outside in the yard.

6. Fruit cake-yay or boo? What’s your favorite dessert made with fruit?

Booyay!  I used to hate fruit cake, but have cultivated a taste for it in my older years.  It’s still not among my favorite desserts, but I don’t mind having an occasional slice.  My favorite dessert made with fruit is apple pie or peach cobbler.

7. What is one thing you want to accomplish before 2012 comes to an end?

To get my house decorated for Christmas!  It’s never taken me this long to decorate before.  By the time I finish, it will be time to take it all down…

Random:

Let me just tell you- introducing your body to four new drugs at once is not a fun experience!  I began my newest phase of treatment for excessive yeast yesterday.  My side effects ranged from dizziness to “the shakes”.  (I’m so grateful I didn’t fall off the ladder while I was decorating the Christmas tree!)  By the time Ed arrived home from work, I was a woman at the end of her rope.  I’d dealt with the lady from the Tax Office, the television repairman, the television repairman’s wife, and I was in the midst of a hormonal episode.  I cried while stirring my pot of chicken and dumplings, as Ed told me about his day.  (He had to have his car radiator replaced, and of course it cost more than anticipated.)  So many issues to deal with lately!   Let’s hope today is a bit calmer, after all,  ‘Tis the season to be jolly 🙂

Published in: on December 5, 2012 at 9:27 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/12/05/ho-ho-ho-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh my, you HAVE had a difficult time lately, haven’t you, dear one? Praying that things will start to look up for you.

  2. WOW! You have had a really hard time this year. Thank Goodness it’s almost over and 2013 will be a better year, I’m sure.

  3. I said the same thing….I want to finish getting the house decorated too.
    Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. ((HUGS))

  4. I’m impressed you made chicken and dumplings in the middle of all that! I hope your day today has been brighter…hugs to you!


Leave a Reply

