Make Me Crazy Monday…

Acting Balanced

It’s been a while since I posted, but I’ve had an awful lot going on lately.  I’ll do some catching up at the end of this post, but first I want to participate in Heather’s fun Monday meme.  Here are today’s questions:

1. What is your favorite charity to donate to?

My current favorite charity is relatively new, and it’s known as “Mercury One” (mercuryone.org)

2. When was the last time you danced?

The last time I danced was June 25, 2011, at our youngest son’s wedding.

3. How do you show someone you care about them?

By spending time with them, telling them I love them, or doing something special for them.
4. Do you send holiday cards?

I don’t send “holiday” cards, but I do send Christmas cards–which reminds me, that’s on today’s “TO DO” list!

My question for you:

5.  Do you enjoy Christmas Parades, and if so, do you prefer daytime parades or illuminated nighttime parades?

I love Christmas Parades, and actually attended two this weekend–a nighttime parade and a daytime parade.  I prefer the illuminated night parades.

My recap from the past four days:

Our daughter-in-law, Jennifer, got some good news regarding her biopsy, but she had to wait five  l-o-n-g  days to get the news.  It was a tense time for all, especially her.  We were all relieved to hear the good news, and greatly appreciate the prayers sent up in her behalf.

As for me, I’m still taking my yeast medications and trying to cope.  There is some slight improvement, but the problem still persists.    Today I will take my last Diflucan, but will continue the other two drugs for three more weeks.  By then, I will have been dealing with this problem for six months.  I have a follow-up doctor appointment next week.

I mentioned in an earlier post that my HRT has been reduced by one-fourth.  My body is having a hard time adjusting.  My emotions are all over the place.  Hopefully, I’ll level off in another week or two.  I go through this every time my dosage gets adjusted, and it’s pure hell ( for me and for Ed).  No hot flashes or night sweats, so far,  just terrible mood swings, and an inability to concentrate.  If that’s not enough, I’m also having to limit caffeine due to fiber-cystic disease, but wait, there’s more…

My gynecologist called last week requesting permission to refer me to an endocrinologist because my fasting glucose level was a bit high (7 points) at the beginning of my glucose tolerance test.  Since Ed works with my doctor, he ran this suggestion by my primary care physician.  He wasn’t concerned about the slight elevation,  since my glucose level was normal just a month ago.  He monitors my glucose levels regularly, along with everything else, so I’m declining the referral unless my primary care doctor sends me later.  For now, some lifestyle changes are beginning to happen.

My blood pressure has been high on the past two doctor visits, but I attributed it to being nervous.  On Sunday, Ed checked it at home, and it was the highest it’s ever been-160/90!  Not a good thing.  I’ve never been one to have high blood pressure.  I’m going to have to keep a closer watch on that.    My cholesterol has been on a steady increase, too.   Geez, I seem to be falling apart!  A permanent diet change and more exercise is apparently in order.  If I can’t get my numbers down through diet and exercise, then I’ll have to go on more medications, and I’d really like to avoid that, if possible.  Age is apparently catching up with me!

On the bright side, I FINALLY finished decorating the house for Christmas!  I’ve never been this late getting finished before, so I’m relieved to get it done.  Next on my list is mailing Christmas cards and wrapping gifts!  There’s some baking to be done, too, but it will be limited this year.  Sugar and flour are on the “naughty list”…

In case you are wondering, our television saga continues.  We’re still waiting for the trucking company to call and schedule a pick up of the faulty television that was sent to us.  We’ve been waiting since last Wednesday…(This situation is probably not helping my blood pressure either!)  We have to ship this television back before we can get it replaced.  We’re heading into week four of this saga, with no end in sight yet.

If the television saga isn’t bad enough, something is apparently wrong with our satellite reception, too.  Dish Network is mailing us a new receiver this week.  I’m going to lose all of my recorded programs on the old DVR!  I have some great concerts recorded, plus a ton of movies.  A new receiver better solve our problem or I’ll really be bummed…

Now, doesn’t your life seem calm, compared to mine?   Happy Monday!

P.S.  I’m way behind on blog visits, so please be patient with me.  I’ll get caught up with everyone as soon as I can.

Published in: on December 10, 2012 at 9:45 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/make-me-crazy-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Glad to hear the good new about your DIL. Our SIL is finished his treatment and hopes it worked. I have never been to a Christmas parade although we do the Easter parade because our family used to participate. I have just cut back on my “happy” pill medication. The doctor feels that since I don’t have work stress anymore I can cope with life on a more even keel. Wishing you the best results possible.

  2. I pray your health improves and things stabilize for you.

    As for Christmas parades, I’ve never seen one. I have been part of one’s years back. Helped design and create one for the company hubby had worked for in TN. LOL it was a nightmare, paper mache and cold weather don’t mix. Our globe looked like a globe with a mountain on top. But it was fun times.

  3. They don’t have Christmas parades around here – I’ve never been to one.

  4. No Christmas parades here. I’m so sorry that you’re facing so much with your health … praying that you will be able to get your health issues under control. {{hug}}

  5. I’m so sorry about your multiple health issues. I know first hand just how hard life can be with your body will not help out. We don’t go to the Christmas Parades because it’s just too cold up here. Who wants to stand in 14 degrees with a wind chill of ) for 2 hours watching a parade. I’ll catch it on the news, in front of the TV, and the fireplace going….. Much better thank you.
    Hope you get the TV thing worked out. Now go do some deep breathing and get your mind off of all your problems. Your blood presure will thank you for that.

  6. Whew! I hope you got a nap today : ) Hope they figure this all out for you soon. I’m sure it is incredibly frustrating! Take care and so glad to hear your dil’s good report!

  7. I like watching parades, but I don’t like crowds. I’d much rather watch them from the comfort of my living room.

  8. I enjoy the parades but can’t make myself sit down long enough to watch them.

  9. I don’t care much for parades, especially if it’s cold outside!

  10. i love parades! i have only ever been to one christmas parade at night and it was awesome. this year my hometown is having its first ever christmas parade; i’m so excited!

  11. I do enjoy a parade, lifting you up in prayers I hope things work themselves out and you get the numbers back down. Janice
    lovingtheday22.blogspot.com

  12. I am not really a parade person but I do like night ones for the photography opportunities they provide. Thanks for participating in the MQAM – look forward to seeing you again next week.

  13. I love a parade, daytime, nighttime…anytime!


Leave a Reply

