Over The River And Through The Woods…To The Hodgepodge!

I love how our hostess, Joyce, always manages to come up with such catchy titles for The Hodgepodge, don’t you? I also love the questions she comes up with each week. Speaking of Joyce’s questions, here they are, along with my answers:

1. So, when did you last take a walk in the woods? A stroll along the beach? A drive going nowhere in particular in the car?

Sadly, I can’t remember the last time I did any of these things, so I know it’s been quite a while.  I don’t care much for walking in the woods, even though we have woods all around us.  I’m afraid of snakes, and rightfully so, since we’ve killed several rattlesnakes and moccasins over the years.  I enjoy taking a stroll along the beach, but this year I spent all of my beach time resting in a chair.  As for driving nowhere in particular, thanks to the ridiculous price of gas, we only drive when we have to.

2. Are you sending Christmas cards this year? About how many do you send? Photo card or something more traditional? How do you display the cards you receive?

I mailed my Christmas cards yesterday.  I sent out about twenty traditional Christmas cards, mostly to family.  I display my Christmas cards on a little “card wreath” that I bought several years ago.

3. What’s a word you’ve heard too much of in the past week?

“Fiscal cliff”.  I know it’s two words, but I’m tired hearing about it.  It makes me nervous and cranky.

4. December 13th is National Cocoa Day-are you a fan? Plain or flavored? Marshmallows or no marshmallows?

I love cocoa.  In fact, it’s the only hot drink that I like.  I prefer plain cocoa, with mini marshmallows.

5. What is something you do to help alleviate the hectic pace of the Christmas season?

I enjoy watching Hallmark Christmas movies, and reading Christmas books.  Both are relaxing, entertaining, and put me in a holiday mood.

6. Besides jewelry, what’s a favorite sparkly-glittery item in your home or closet?

This time of the year, I’d have to say my Christmas tree(s).  I have four, and I love each one of them.

7. Share a favorite line or two from any Christmas carol.

“I’ll be home for Christmas, if only in my dreams.”

This song always reminds me of the two Christmases that Ed spent overseas.  He was stationed in Okinawa during Christmas of 1970, and 1971.  We weren’t married yet, but I missed him terribly.  It made me sad to think of him having to be away from his family at Christmas. ( He says it made him sad, too.)

Random:

Since I finally finished decorating for Christmas, I thought I’d share a couple of photos of my kitchen.

100_1933

My kitchen Christmas tree, decorated with pretend candy and gingerbread cookies

100_1935

My Christmas salt/pepper shaker collection

100_1934

My crazy Christmas clock

(it plays Christmas music at five minutes after the hour, and never hangs quite straight)

Published in: on December 12, 2012 at 9:17 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/12/12/over-the-river-and-through-the-woods-to-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We had the same answer to #3! 😉

  2. I love your kitchen tree! So cute! I hope you’re feeling better Kathy.

  3. I love your Christmas decorations! They are so cute.

  4. I love your salt and pepper collection.

  5. I can’t believe how many people have given “fiscal cliff” as their answer. I think I might have to add it to my list. 😉 You have such cute decorations!

  6. Wow! you decorated your kitchen. You certainly do go all out. It looks great. Probably makes you feel better, too.

  7. My Christmas list isn’t as long as it use to be but I do love mailing out cards. Mine will go out on Friday. I said Fiscal Cliff too! The movies have been fun this year on Hallmark and Lifetime. Your decorations look so cute. Merry Christmas. (Your going to hear that a lot from me this year)

  8. that clock is darling! Granted I have a fondness for snowmen 🙂

  9. I love your kitchen Christmas and your crazy clock!

    My kitchen is decorated for Christmas; flour and cookie crumbs! (I’m going to finish up my baking with a couple days to clean the house up before our Christmas party on the 22nd!)


Leave a Reply

