Winding Down The Year With The Hodgepodge…

I know I’m supposed to be on a blogging break, but I’ve never missed a Hodgepodge, and I couldn’t stand to miss this one either!  If Joyce can come up with questions during the week before Christmas, I figured I could surely come up with some answers–and here they are:

1. How will you spend ‘the night before Christmas’?

Ed has taken Christmas Eve day off from work, but we haven’t made any plans.  Usually our grown children and their families will come over for a while on Christmas Eve night.  Sometimes we eat and play games.  This year, the entire family has been invited to eat lunch, on Sunday before Christmas, with Brad and Jennifer, in their new house.  This will be exciting, since it will be our first family get-together with them in their new home.

2. What is one thing you are not?

I am not able to draw or play a musical instrument!  Believe me, I’ve tried to learn!

3. Fudge-are you a fan? Your favorite flavor?

I love fudge.  The chocolate kind–with pecans or walnuts–I’m not picky.

4. Did you attend any craft/vendor fairs in the month of December? Do you prefer homemade goodies or the more professional stalls? Are you giving any homemade gifts this year?

Yes, I attended a parade and a small craft/vendor event a couple of weeks ago, where I purchased a snowman ornament, made from a light bulb.  The man selling the ornaments said his wife made them.  I love anything homemade, but was surprised not to find many homemade items at the event.  I’ve given away many homemade gifts in the past, but not this year.

5. What’s your favorite type of holiday gathering?

I enjoy a casual, finger food-eating, game-playing, type of gathering with our family.

6. We’re approaching a new year…what’s going to be different in 2013?

If all goes well, Ed and I should be debt-free by the summer’s end.  I’m looking forward to that moment!  It’s been a long time coming.

7. Share a favorite scripture, quote, saying, or song lyric relating to peace.

I’ve never been especially fond of this particular carol–until this year.  With everything that is going on in the world, and at home, this year I have found comfort and hope in the lyrics of “I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day”…

I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day
Their old familiar carols play,
And wild and sweet the words repeat
Of peace on earth, good will to men.

I thought how, as the day had come,
The belfries of all Christendom
Had rolled along the unbroken song
Of peace on earth, good will to men.

And in despair I bowed my head:
“There is no peace on earth,” I said,
“For hate is strong and mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good will to men.”

Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
“God is not dead, nor doth he sleep;
The wrong shall fail, the right prevail,
With peace on earth, good will to men.”

Till, ringing singing, on its way,
The world revolved from night to day,
A voice, a chime, a chant sublime,
Of peace on earth, good will to men!

(Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (1807-1882), 1867)

Random:  Here’s a photo of my new snowman ornament–made from a light bulb!

Chase and Cade's b'days 076

Wishing all of you a very Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year!

Published in: on December 19, 2012 at 12:02 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/winding-down-the-year-with-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I couldn’t miss Hodgepodge either. Enjoy your time with family on Sunday. Hooray for being debt free, that will be awesome. Merry Christmas to you and your family. Have a wonderful time!

  2. Cute ornament- Have a great time with family on Sunday.

  3. Cute ornament – Debt free!!! How wonderful, I sure hope you get there. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  4. Cute snowman ornament! We have a Santa made out of a light bulb. And a crab shell. And a gourd. And an okra husk. And…LOL How exciting having their first family gathering in their new home!

  5. The ornament is adorable! I was never a huge fan of that carol either, but the Casting Crowns version changed my mind. I play it many times a day…it’s on my blog linked in one of the December HP’s if you’ve never heard it. Hauntingly beautiful!

    Have a wonderful time at your son’s! I hope you have a very happy Christmas and wish you peace and good health in the new year. So nice getting to know you thru the magic of the internet!


Leave a Reply

