Starting A New Year With The Hodgepodge…

I don’t know about everyone else, but I’m still digging out from under the Christmas decorations, and trying to get my “blogging mojo” back.  It’s slow going, but there’s no better way to start the New Year than participating in the Wednesday Hodgepodge.

1. How did you ring in the new year?

I wasn’t feeling well on New Year’s Eve, so I went to bed around nine o’clock.  I rang in the new year by sleeping like a baby.

2. What is one thing you are looking forward to in 2013?

I’m looking forward to paying off the last of our debts.  It’s been a long time coming!

3. Steven Spielberg is quoted as saying, “All of us every single year, we’re a different person. I don’t think we’re the same person all our lives.” What say you?

I think I’m still the same person I’ve always been, at my core, but I’ve changed in some ways, as I’ve grown older.  I’ve grown and learned through life’s lessons, so thankfully, I’m wiser than I used to be.  Unfortunately, with age comes less patience, and sometimes I’m not as tolerant as I once was.  Sometimes age also brings health issues, so my body is different in that respect, as well.

4. The Pantone color of the year for 2013 is emerald green. Like or dislike? Do you already own something this color? Will you add something in this shade to your home or wardrobe in 2013?

Green isn’t among my favorite colors, but of all shades of green, emerald is my favorite.  I doubt I’ll add anything green to my home or wardrobe though.

5. Speaking of emerald…what’s your favorite gemstone?

My taste has changed over the years.  When I was young I liked aquamarine, and chose this stone for my high school ring.  Then I went through a phase of liking pearls–black ones!  Next came a fascination with opals.  These days, if I had to pick a favorite gemstone, I’d pick the blue sapphire.

6. Share a favorite book or movie from 2012.

I hate to admit it, but I got caught up in the hype and read the “Fifty Shades of Grey” trilogy–not my normal, traditional type of literature, but I enjoyed them none-the-less.  Sex aside, the story of Christian and Anastasia was captivating.

7. What is something you want to tell yourself at the start of this brand new year?

“This, too, shall pass.”  (see explanation below)

Random:

I’m very discouraged as I begin a new year.  I’m entering my seventh month of battling candida (yeast).  Despite taking five rounds of Diflucan, three months of Nystatin (by mouth and topical), and three months of probiotics, I continue to plagued by the  problem.  Tomorrow marks two weeks of being on a very strict candida eradication diet, too.  This is the most restrictive diet I’ve ever seen!  Very few foods are allowed, and  it’s quite frustrating, especially when I’m not achieving the desired results.  My gynecologist has admitted that I have him “stumped”.  I have two weeks left before I go back for a check up.  I’m praying for a miracle between now and then, otherwise I’ll have to be referred to an infectious disease expert.

Published in: on January 2, 2013 at 10:03 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/starting-a-new-year-with-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So very well said on #3.

    Still praying that you will find relief on that chronic yeast infection.

  2. So sorry about your yeast battle. Such a mystery. I hope it gets cured early in 2013 and you can then celebrate that AND no debt!

  3. I used to be plagued by the candida but since I’ve gone through menopause, I don’t have a problem any more. I do remember how bad it can be and so you have my sympathy. I hope they are able to find out why soon so you can look forward to the new year.
    We paid off our house last February. The last of our debt. We took some money out of an IRA and will have to pay income tax on it this Spring but it will be worth it. After Jim retired, we were living on a very tight budget with the house payment taking the most of our income and insurance taking a large chunk as well. We had paid for one house already but then lost that money when we opened our own business (another story). I know you will rest easier once you are debt free.
    Mama Bear

  4. Diets of all kinds suck. I empathize with you. Wishing you and yours a very happy new year!

  5. I hope the doctor can come up with a cure. I have never suffered from it however you have my sympathies.

  6. I am so sorry you have to go through this. I know some women are just prone to yeast infections, but it can’t be an easy time. I do know one thing that has probably already considered, however, in case it has not I will tell you about it. Have you ever taken Acidophillus? This is over the counter natural item. When someone takes an antibiotic even for a short period of time the antibiotic takes away all of the bacteria in the body, We need some. When all bacteria is removed it leaves the body open for yeast infections. The Acidophillus replaces, naturally that which the antibiotic removed. I have used this every time I have been on an antibiotic, and have never had a yeast infection. Neither have my husband or son.
    I am not sure of the spelling, but the I spelled it is close. Do some research. Maybe the answer to your horrible problem is close at hand.
    I’ll be saying prayers for you.

  7. Yes “This too will pass” but hanging in there until it does takes prayer. I’m adding my prayers to so many others.

  8. Exactly, no better way to start than with Wednesday Hodgepodge. I’m afraid I will be working on taking down Christmas for a few weeks! I agree, I am still me but time changes all of us and hopefully for the better.

  9. I almost said pearls because I love them in all colors. I will be praying you get your miracle! Maybe an infectious disease expert is a good way to go…fresh eyes on your chart?


Leave a Reply

