A Beautiful Monday…

Acting Balanced

It’s been a few days since I’ve been on-line.  I’ve been spending some time catching up on a few things around the house because I’m more than a little behind on housework!  My energy level has been sorely lacking since I deleted sugar and carbohydrates from my diet.  I feel like a car running on empty! I’m giving myself permission to take more blogging breaks in 2013, so forgive me if I disappear from time to time.  There are times when blogging feels more like a job than a hobby.  Every time I get to that point, I’m taking a break!

This past weekend was absolutely gorgeous, so Ed and I spent all day Saturday outside.  Our temps reached near eighty degrees, and I actually opened up the windows and let the fresh breeze blow all through the house!  We raked some leaves and burned them, too.  I wish we had more days like this weekend…  Soon “old man winter” will be showing himself again, and we’ll be housebound.  In the meantime, I’m going to enjoy the final few days of our spring-like weather!

I’m  behind on blogging about what’s been happening around here, but I’ll eventually get caught up.  Today, I’m going to participate in Heather’s Monday meme.  I always enjoy her meme!  Here are today’s questions:

1. What is your favorite animal?

Well, if you know me,  then you know this question is a “no brainer”.  Cats, of course!  I’ve owned cats for as long as I can remember.  I currently have about a dozen outside cats. ( At one point, we had twenty-one!)  No,  I’m not a crazy cat lady, I just have a big, soft heart when it comes to animals–especially cats.  I rescued most of our cats from the local animal shelter.  We live in a secluded area, out in the country, so it’s a good place for cats.  There’s Drake, Big Red, Fat Susan, Mr. Bigelsworth, Charlie, MAC, Kitty Bee, Sara Callie Girl, Hootie, Kyle, Smut, Suzie, and Bobs.  Wow, that’s thirteen, not twelve!  No problems with mice here–and all of my kitties have been spayed or neutered.
2. What is your favorite quote?

“I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me”  Philippians 4:13  (This verse has gotten me though some tough times in my life, and will continue to do so.)


3. What is the one trait that you have that definitely comes from one of your parents?

My teeth!  They look exactly like my daddy’s, and have a mind all their own.


4. If you had a choice between going to a tropical island or a ski resort which would you choose and why?

This is another “no brainer” question for me.  I’d go to a tropical island any day, ’cause I love the beach!  Place me in a lawn chair, in the sand, beside the surf, and I’m one happy lady!  This warm, sunny weather makes me long for the beach…

5.  What’s the weather like where you live?

*As I was getting ready to wrap up this post last night(about 9 o’clock), the phone rang.  Our son, Brad, was on the other end of the line.  He asked for Ed, so I was pretty sure something was wrong.  I was right.  It turned out that  Brad and Jennifer had become stranded in a little town about 30 miles away.  They’d been to Atlanta (to see the Falcons play-off game).  They were returning home when Brad ran over an old piece of  truck tire in the road, puncturing the oil pan of his car.

Ed and I hopped in the car and drove to where Brad and Jennifer were.  We brought them to our house, visiting with them during the ride.  An hour later the couple left, headed for their home, and driving Ed’s mom’s car.  It was great to see them, even under those  terrible circumstances.  Ed’s mom’s car has finicky headlights–sometimes the lights will go off without warning.  I hope there were no mishaps in the next couple of days…

Happy Monday!

Published in: on January 14, 2013 at 10:07 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/a-beautiful-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. When the kids were home, there were many times when the phone would ring and I would have to go out and “rescue” them. Believe it or not, I kindof miss that.

  2. Rescue kids seems to be a part of a parents job although a few times my kids have had to rescue us.

  3. The weather here has been opposite what the weather men call for lol. We were suppose to have a beautiful warm (mid 70s) sunny weekend but instead got a damp foggy three days barely getting in the 60s.

    My heart drops when the phone rings late or super early. Glad everyone was okay. Hope everything gets taken care of with the car.

  4. Your kids are lucky you live close by! It is unseasonably warm here in Indiana. That changed this morning as it turned cold again.

  5. it was so warm this weekend but it’s rainy today.

  6. I would like to say thank you for keeping me informed, entertained and thoughtfully challenged with your blog posts about your life on the other side of the Atlantic. I appreciate the contact I have with you in this Land of Blog and in recognition of that I have nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. Please visit my blog to respond and play along. Keep up the good work!! Thank you.

  7. We’ve been having some 80s round these parts 🙂

  8. Hope everything is okay with the kids car – it was great that you could rescue them… as for the weather, we are enjoying unseasonably warm and sunny weather that is keeping us outdoors as much as possible and totally confusing my garden..


Leave a Reply

