Hangin’ Around On Monday…

Acting Balanced

It’s a new week, and that means it’s time to link up with Heather for The Monday Quiz.  Here are this week’s questions:

1. What was your favorite lunch this past week?

Ed grilled hamburgers for lunch on Sunday.  The burgers were very good, but having our son, Brad, eat lunch with us helped make our meal special, and also made it my favorite lunch of the week!
2. Do you shop online?

Yes, I shop online all of the time.
3. Do you get the “Winter Blues”?

Yes, I tend to get the “Winter Blues” every year during the month of January.

4. Slippers, Socks, Shoes or Bare Feet?

Socks in winter, bare feet in summer!

My question for you: 

5. Have you ever typed on a manual (non-electric) typewriter?

(Yes, over 40 years ago!)

Weekend Recap:

Our weekend got off to a roaring start when two of our three grown children and their families came over on Friday evening.  It had been three weeks since I’d seen one of our grandchildren, Chase, or his mom. (sickness hit their home shortly after Christmas)  Chase turned one-year-old, two days after Christmas, and began walking about the same time.  I hadn’t seen Chase since he’d learned to get around on his feet, so Friday night was a real treat.  It was nice having almost everyone under our roof again.  We were only missing Brad and Jennifer, who now live about an hour away.

Our weather was sunny and mild, once again, and we tried to spend as much time as possible outside on Saturday and Sunday.  Once again, Ed took care of a few outside chores, while I sat and enjoyed some time in the sunshine–a great cure for those “Winter Blues”.  We also managed to incorporate a little  shopping into the weekend because I enjoy using my $5.00 off coupons on Saturdays, and I had four of them.

Our internet wasn’t working on Saturday morning, and it didn’t come back on as the day progressed.  We called the phone company, and were told it would be Monday–or possibly Tuesday– before they could get a repairman to come out.  In the meantime, Brett, our oldest son, looked at our modem and discovered that it wasn’t working anymore.  Some hours later, I remembered that our son, Brad, had left a spare modem behind when he and Jennifer moved.

On Sunday morning, we called Brad and asked him about using his old modem.  We got the modem hooked up, but couldn’t figure out to get it working because it kept asking for Brad’s password.  Fortunately, Brad showed up for a visit, about lunchtime, and saved the day for us.  Within thirty minutes we were up and running again!  Yay!  It’s amazing how much we’ve come to rely on the internet–and our children!  Oh the joys of growing old…

Jennifer was working a twelve-hour shift, so Brad spent the rest of the day and evening with us, watching the football play-off games.  Since we are from Georgia, we were sad to see the Falcons lose 😦  but we had a nice visit anyway!   I guess you win some, and you lose some–but the weekend ended up being a winner in my book!

Published in: on January 21, 2013 at 10:46 am  Comments (12)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/hangin-around-on-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Funny you mentioned typewriters. I have been looking for a portable one in good shape to type envelopes with. I took Typing I and Typing II in high school and the took transcription with my shorthand class. That was in the 1970’s and we learned on manual Olivetti’s and Underwoods.

  2. Sounds like you had a great weekend!

    Yes, I learned to type on an old typewriter like that! (I am 62) Ha!

    Have a Marvelous Monday!

    Linda

  3. Yes I have typed on a manual typewriter. I have never mastered the actual typing so I created my own 2 finger version with an adaptation. Sorry your football team didn’t make it.

  4. Yes I’ve typed on a manual as well but it was alot harder than the easy keyboard I use now! Sounds like a fun weekend – sitting in the sun…..Oh how I long to do that.

  5. My mom had an old typewriter and I took a typing class in high school that was on the old typewriters too.I never did figure out how to do it without getting my firers stuck between the keys! I used an electric word processor in high school and the beginning of college and was on the computer when I finished my degree in 1996/97

  6. I enjoyed catching up with you….some of these I would have had the same answers……I learned to type on a manual typewriter…..I only took one semester of typing but it has served me well as I type with both hands still……now they teach it in computer class in elementary class…….my Honey Bear uses the two finger method.
    Blessings,
    Mama Bear

  7. Family together is always the best of times! I am like you, and if my Internet access is down I am a very restless and unhappy camper, but I might get a bit more housework done if it happened now and then! 🙂 Typing class back in the dinosaur days was all on manual typewriters and that’s how I learned. Then came electic IBM typewriters and we really thought we were in Heaven. Now it’s hard to type a sentence without spelling errors, we’ve become so spoiled by our ability to spellcheck and correct on screen! Makes life a lot simpler in the office though. I remember typing long legal documents in the old days that couldn’t have any errors and had carbon copies… ugh!! 🙂

  8. wonderful weekend, and it’s hard to realize that baby Chase is at the walking stage!

    Thank goodness for kids . . . and grandkids who can help with those technological challenges. Have a great week!

  9. I’m a socks and barefoot kinda gal too!

  10. I rely on my kids for anything technical. Thank goodness someone knows what they’re doing! It is bitterly cold here today with flurries.

  11. Yep sure did! In high school and when I first started working in an office. Then PCs arrived on the scene, thankfully.

  12. I have typed papers on a typewriter during my undergrad years. Though PCs became prevalent before I finished however. Thanks for linking up this week, hope to see you back again next week.


Leave a Reply

