It’s Me Again, On Monday…

100_2114

our green lawn in January…

I started to entitle this post “And the Green Grass Grew All Around and Around” because that’s what’s happening around here!  I can’t remember another January as mild as this one has been.  Ed actually had to mow our grass a couple of weeks ago!  Many of our trees are trying to bud out, and the pine trees are already shedding their pollen.  Very strange, indeed.  What’s left for spring?

These mild days make me want to plant something–so I did!  I’ve already planted 28 cabbage seeds, and about 20 tomato seeds in little trays.  Most have sprouted, and are already an inch tall!  I put the plants outside when the weather is warm, then bring them inside at night.   I’ll be able to transplant the cabbage plants in about a month or so.  Of course, I’ll have to wait a bit longer on the tomatoes.

While shopping, Ed and I bought an apple tree and a blueberry bush this weekend.  We lost two of last year’s new additions, so we had to replace them.  Everything else seems to be doing fine– the remaining apple tree, the remaining blueberry bush, 3 plum trees, 2 peach trees, and a grape-vine are all happily growing in a row beside our garden area.

We still have  mustard greens growing in the garden, as well as a few carrots left from our fall crop.  I planted the carrots for “Honey Bun”, our pet rabbit, but he died back in November.  The carrots and mustard greens have made good food for our chickens, as well as for us.  The girls look forward to their treats each day!

In my last post, Finders Keepers, Losers Weepers, I was debating what to get Ed for Valentine’s Day–a new pocket knife or a metal detector so he could search for his old, lost knife.  Thanks to your suggestions, I decided to go with the metal detector.  Even if Ed isn’t able to find his knife, he’ll have a good time trying!  Of course, the search may be a tad more complicated now that the top soil of the field (where Ed believes he lost his knife) got turned under this weekend…  Ed didn’t know I was planning to buy him a metal detector, so he and our son-in-law did a little land prepping!  Oh well…

Acting Balanced

Now it’s time to get on with the Monday business at hand, and join Heather and her hubby, Wayne, for the “Monday Quiz”.  Here are the questions along with my answers:

1. On along road trip do you prefer to be the driver or a passenger? Or do you prefer to travel a different way all together?

I rarely drive when Ed’s in the car with me.  It just feels unnatural for me to be the driver, probably because I didn’t even get a driver’s license until  eight years after we were married!  I’m quite happy being a passenger though, no matter who is driving!  I don’t really like traveling on a long trip–or a short one either, for that matter.  I like to make frequent stops, so it takes us forever to get reach our destination.

2. Do you use a slow cooker? Favorite thing to make?

Yes, I occasionally use a slow cooker.  

My favorite thing to make in a slow cooker is  Pulled Bar-b-que Pork.  Put in a whole boston butt,( salted and peppered)  a few slices of onion, and a bottle of bar-b-que sauce on top of it, and cook it on high for about 7 to 8 hours.  Remove from the pot, and shred with a fork.  It’s delicious!
3. Which type of festival would you rather go to… Wine and Food, Music or Sports?

A music festival, of course.  I love all kinds of music.
4. What is your favorite fallacy?

That children will grow up to be exactly like their parents.

My question for you:

5.  Who taught you how to drive?

My husband, Ed, taught me how.   I was a third generation “non-driver” up until that point.  Looking back, I can hardly believe it!  I’ve driven many miles since those days.

Have a great Monday, y’all…

Published in: on January 28, 2013 at 9:47 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/its-me-again-on-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I took a “Young Driver’s” course although my father did the fine tuning. He taught me to drive like a truck driver.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about Honey Bun … I don’t remember you reporting that he died last fall … I remember his being sick and your try to nurse him back to health.

    Two of DH’s friends have metal detectors … and I keep waiting for DH to ask for one so he can join them in the detecting fun. 😉

  3. I took Driver’s Ed in school but really learned much more from my dad.

  4. I learned in Driver’s Ed because my parents never did drive or own a car.

  5. My husband taught me to drive

  6. I learned to drive later in life too – so I went to a driving school. Thanks for playing along once again this week. Heather and I appreciate it.

  7. Never mind wondering why, just enjoy. 🙂
    Know that I left work early due to snow and ice. 😦

  8. My dear aunt and uncle patiently taught me to drive.

  9. We have a small yard and tried to plant 2 each of tomatoes and .peppers. Something ate the plants down to the ground while were away for a weekend! Sounds like you have much better luck!

    I learned to drive in a 2-wwek course at Sears back in 1982.

  10. my dad after my mom and brother just laughed me out of the car!

    http://growninsouthernground.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/monday-quiz-about-me-30/

  11. Wow-gardening in January! We’re covered in snow, although it is supposed to warm up near 50 today and tomorrow. I love the snow, but love a break from it too. Enjoy your day!

  12. my friend kim let me drive her car around the neighborhoods when we were in high school. my mom thinks SHE taught me how to drive!!!

  13. Sounds like your going to have a great garden again this year. I am glad you went with the metal detector! Third generation non driver…I find that amazing. My father taught me to drive, my mother didn’t drive at all so I guess we had a first generation non driver 🙂


Leave a Reply

