Mid-week Hodgepodgin’ …

Mid-week Hodgepodgin’ sounds a bit interesting, doesn’t it?  Actually, it is!  Thanks to our hostess, Joyce,  I’ve learned lots of interesting fun facts.  Today was no exception!  Here we go again…

1. Chinese New Year will be celebrated on February 10th, and 2013 is the year of the snake. When did you last see a snake? Are you okay around snakes or do they give you the shivers?

The last time I remember seeing a snake was when our daughter and son-in-law actually found one in their house, a couple of years ago!  The snake was found stretched out in the hallway, when our son-in-law got up during the night .  It’s a funny story, and I wrote about it HERE.  I am NOT alright around snakes, they definitely give me the shivers!

2. The color red in Chinese culture usually means good luck. Do you believe in luck?

Our family has an inside joke about luck–we feel like we didn’t get any, but I actually don’t believe in luck.

3. Sledding-ice skating-building a snowman…if given a choice, which activity would you choose? Which of the three have you done most recently?

I’m not athletic or out-going, so I’d choose to build a snowman.  I may have helped build a snowman at some point in my life, but I’ve never gone sledding or ice skating.

4. Ralph Waldo Emerson is credited as saying, “The years teach much which the days never knew.” Where have you seen this quote played out in your own life?

I’m not sure exactly what this quote means, but I take it to mean we learn much as we grow older.  I’ve found this to be true so many times, especially in recent years!  I remember, in my younger years, my mother-in-law would tell me things, and I couldn’t understand what she meant. One of her quotes was, “When your children are little, they’ll step on your toes.  When they are big, they’ll step on your heart.”  Now that I am older, I know exactly what my MIL was talking about.

5. When was the last time you ate a cupcake?

On Superbowl Sunday.  I was tempted by the chocolate cupcakes at my daughter’s house, so I gave in and ate one.

6. What’s something you can’t say no to?

Apparently, a chocolate cupcake with whipped frosting!

7. Are you a doodler?

If you are referring to drawing on a piece of paper, no, but  I  have a nervous habit of playing with a tissue, napkin, or gum wrapper when I’m bored or nervous.

Random:

Yesterday was a beautiful day in our neck of the woods.  It was sunny with a high of 72 degrees.  I went outside and got busy planting seeds!  I’m already  putting my new green house to good use.  So far, I have planted marigolds, tomatoes, squash, cucumbers, and cabbage.

As for Ed, he’s spent a lot of time searching for his lost pocket knife.  No luck, yet, but he’s found several other interesting “treasures” with the help of his metal detector.  Unfortunately, nothing Ed’s found is of any real value.  Most of what he’s found appear to be parts of old farming equipment.  I can’t help but wonder how many years they’ve been buried though!

Published in: on February 6, 2013 at 9:00 am  Comments (10)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/02/06/mid-week-hodgepodgin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have thought of getting a metal detector since we live at the beach and things wash up, and tourists drop items. The found surprises would be fun!

  2. Biz actually had a snake in his house once and shot it! Then I had to go over and remove it for him. He does not do snakes well at all.

  3. Oh to be able to plant. At the moment our ground is frozen.

  4. The very thought of finding a snake in my house is enough to send me over the top! YUCK! Sure hope your hubby finds his knife…losing things like that can drive me crazy!

  5. Hey Kathy,
    good answer to Nr. 4. Love that quote from your MIL. So true.
    Glad you are having such good weather!

  6. A chocolate cupcake with whipped frosting – now who could say no to that? I prefer a cupcake, actually … it helps ensure that I don’t overindulge. 😉 And goodness knows that I need all the help I can get in the overindulgence department.

  7. Love your answer to the Ralph Waldo Emerson quote! Your garden is going to be awesome. I knew Ed would have fun with that detector.

  8. Wow already growing stuff! Here we are getting ready for another snow storm that could bring 2 FEET of snow. Oh well…..

  9. Yikes is right. I didn’t remember reading that snake post, so I glad you linked to it. It is priceless.

  10. So far I haven’t come across any snake fans in the HP.

    We have a crazy forecast for Friday-they are saying we’ll get feet of snow. I haven’t decided if I hope they’re right or wrong. I’ve rescheduled an appt just in case…that probably means the snow won’t happen : )


Leave a Reply

