Joining In The Hodgepodge…

1. When were you last ‘on a mountaintop’? You may answer in the literal or figurative sense.

The last time I felt as if I were on a mountaintop was in the summer of 2011. It was immediately after all of the stress of Brad and Jennifer’s wedding was over.  I was still basking in my feeling of relief, when I learned our oldest son, Brett, and his wife were expecting another baby!  (They’d known a while, but kept it a secret, so as not to take anything away from the wedding excitement.)  Our grandson, Caden, came walking in wearing a little t- shirt that read “I’m going to be a big brother!”   I wish I had my reaction on film.  I’m sure it was priceless!

The last time I was literally close to being on a mountaintop was during the summer of 2010, when we  rented a cabin in the mountains of Helen, Georgia.  Ed and I hiked up to Anna Ruby Falls while we were there.

Helen Trip 2010 096

 Anna Ruby Falls

2. Do you establish and maintain a strict budget in your household? What is one piece of financial advice you would offer someone just starting out on their own?

Yes, we have a household budget, and we are working toward becoming debt free.  I’m sure I don’t have to tell anyone how it’s becoming increasingly difficult to make ends meet on a budget with tax increases, health insurance premium increases, and the rising prices of food and gas!  So frustrating!

My financial advice to anyone just starting out is “Be patient and don’t get too deeply into debt.  You can’t have everything at once, and you will appreciate things more when they don’t come so quickly.”  Also, “Pay yourself first–into a retirement account.”  I know you think you have plenty of time because retirement seems to be light-years away,  but time passes quicker than you think!

3. Cherries-yay or nay? Cherry pie, cherry cola, black forest cake, or a scoop of Ben and Jerry’s Cherries Garcia…pick one.

I like cherries, but I don’t love cherries.  I’d love to have a piece of cherry pie though!

4. Should you ever discuss religion or politics with people you don’t know?

Probably not.  Both topics are often guaranteed to make some sparks fly–even among friends, if they don’t agree.

5. When you take a road trip do you prefer to be the driver or the passenger? Where were you headed on your last road trip?

I always prefer to be the passenger.  Our last road trip was to Florida to visit my brother and his wife.

6. If we peeked inside your closet, what color would we say is most prevalent?

I have more black and blue than any other color in my closet, but actually, red is my favorite color.

7. Who’s your favorite senior citizen and why are they special?

My favorite senior citizen is my mother-in-law.  She’s been in my life since I met Ed, at age fifteen.  For many reasons, my MIL has always been like a second mother to me.   I’ll never forget the many things she’s taught me throughout my life, or the kindness and generosity she’s shown our entire family.

Random:

Yesterday, I wrote an update about my “feathered friends”, the chickens.  Some people suggested that I have Ed take a photograph of me holding the girls.  I will do that as soon as time and weather permits.  In the meantime, here’s an older photo, taken last summer.  The girls are so much bigger than this now!  Also, some people asked if the odd-shaped egg tasted or looked any different.  No, the egg looked and tasted exactly the same.  I’d wondered about that, too!  Thanks for all of your comments!

Garden, Chickens 034

Thanks to Joyce for hosting “The Hodgepodge”. If you’d like to play along, or read more answers, simply click the button at the top of this post!

Published in: on February 20, 2013 at 10:16 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/02/20/joining-in-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We’ve tried to teach our girls the importance of saving. You never know what a day will bring and with our economy so unstable and prices going ever higher it will be important not to have spent every penny made. Cute picture of you with the girls : )

  2. I can’t wait to see your girls on your lap now that they’re bigger.

    Excellent advice on paying yourself first. Retirement comes so quickly … and seeing my dad struggle to make ends meet on just his Social Security check has confirmed my thoughts that relying on Social Security just won’t cut it.

  3. Great picture of you with your girls! I think it’s so sweet that you have such a close relationship with your mother-in-law…many aren’t as fortunate.

  4. beautiful waterfall picture!

  5. We are out of debt but our income will change drastically when my husband retires. I’m am trying to learn to live on less and it’s okay but the future does scare me but I am grateful for what God has given me so far. That picture of you with your girls is so sweet 🙂

  6. Red is my favorite color too! But I have mostly black in my closet. I love the picture of you with the girls! Can’t wait to see the next one. What a great way to learn of a new addition and how nice that they held off until after the wedding. So many people wouldn’t have thought of being so considerate.

  7. Enjoyed your answers! Love the pics also! And good advice on the budget for newbies. Thanks for sharing.
    until next time… nel

  8. Oh yeah, now that I see the picture I remember it, but an update would be appreciated – when it gets warm of course. Up north here, everything is planned with those three words – “when it gets warm”.That’s four words, isn’t it? Oh well


Leave a Reply

