Farewell February, Hello Hodgepodge…

Yet another month has almost come and gone, and we’re still having fun with the Wednesday Hodgepodge!  As always, thanks to Joyce, our hostess, for providing some thought-provoking questions.

1. When were you last facing an ocean? Using just ONE word, describe how you felt as you faced that ocean.

I haven’t faced the ocean since last summer.  Now, thanks to Joyce, I’m beginning to feel the urge to see it again!  One word describes how I felt then, and always, whenever I’m near the ocean– happy!

2. What are three sounds you hate to hear?

The sound of the pine trees cracking near our house, (I’m always afraid one will fall– Ed’s aunt was killed by a falling pine tree limb ), my dentist’s drill (for obvious reasons), our phone ringing in the middle of the night ( usually means bad news).

3. This question comes to you courtesy of some real life friends. Hi real life friends! When you shop for yourself, do you try everything on in the store before buying or do you buy, try on at home, and then return what you don’t like or what doesn’t fit?

I always try on clothes before  buying them.  I hate having to return something since we live over thirty miles from the stores!

4. February 26th is National Pistachio Day…are you a fan of the little green nut? Do you use them in cooking and baking or prefer to eat them right out of the shell?

I’m not a real fan of the pistachio, but I will eat pistachio salad–otherwise known as “Watergate salad”.

5. When did you last have to compromise with someone? Were you happy to reach the compromise or slightly irritated it was necessary?

I thought and thought, but nothing particular rings a bell with me.  Once you get married and have a family, life is just a series of compromises anyway, isn’t it?

6. Have you ever written a letter to an elected official? Did you get a response?

Yes.  I  wrote  letters to a couple of our local elected officials, a State Representative and a Senator, about thirteen years ago, concerning a proposed House Bill.  I received responses to both letters.  Both officials live in my county, and the (former) State Representative is a friend.  I, also, once asked for (and was granted) a meeting with our County Commissioner Chairman, too.  I guess sometimes it’s good to live in a tiny town.

7. We ‘March’ into a new month at the end of this week…what’s something on your March calendar guaranteed to make you smile?

I’m looking forward to Easter, and watching everyone hunt eggs.  Our youngest grandchild, Chase, will hunt his first Easter eggs this year!  I’m also looking forward to getting our garden planted, as soon as the ground dries out enough to get Ed’s tractor in the field without bogging it down!

Random:

We’ve received more than our fair share of rain during the month of February!  After two more days of rain, my poor hens were wading in their pen, again yesterday.  Thank goodness for the ditch that Ed plowed, the day before Valentine’s Day, otherwise they would have probably been swimming! There were at least four inches of water surrounding their chicken coop!

100_2178

School has been cancelled here for two days, due to the poor condition of some country roads. There was an accident involving a school bus on Monday. One person killed, several injured.

Here’s a short video of granddaughter, Madison, enjoying her day off from school yesterday.  Children know how to make the best of a bad situation, don’t they?

Published in: on February 27, 2013 at 9:01 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/02/27/farewell-february-hello-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh wow, that rain is really something. I hope it dries out soon for you, but I guess you won’t be having drought conditions this summer. I hate the phone in the middle of the night too, and of course the dental drill…I guess I could have answered with more than three : )

  2. Wow, you’ve really had the rain, haven’t you? Hope you and your girls dry out soon.

    • I’ve only been about 5 weeks since we’ve seen the ocean, but like you said, Joyce has got me really feeling the urge to just pack up and go. 😉

  3. That’s a lot of rain. And it’s good to see kids outside ‘enjoying’ the weather. I think kids don’t do that enough these days. Have a great Wednesday!

  4. Wow…that’s a huge amount of rain! We’ve had plenty here, too. Thankfully, the sun is shining today! Your granddaughter sure knows how to make the best of it!

  5. That is a lot of rain! Yes, kids play in anything don’t they! I hope your March is a lot drier than February was.

  6. I said the middle of the night phone ringing too. Didn’t think about the dentist drill but that is definitely one I don’t like! Oh my, that is a lot of water 😦 Hope you dry out soon and are able to plant your garden.

  7. Wow! That’s a lot of rain!

  8. My, that is a lot of rain, isn’t it. We had a year like that when I lived in Oregon as a teen. We lived on a country road too, with only two homes on the 3/4 mile road. Our property didn’t really get too flooded, but the fields surrounding us did and my dad drove across our field to get to the highway in his four wheel drive, so he could still go to work. It was easier to cross that than our muddy country roads. School closed for several times that spring partially due to all the rain and flooding. The county finally had to come out and add dirt and gravel to our road so the county workers and farmers could get down it.

    I forgot to mention the reason why we flooded so much was because the ground was still frozen a few inches down, but we kept getting rain. It was strange.

    And the other reason we were out of school so much that year? They had recently added a new fire system and drained the old 1000+ gallon tank over the summer. Nobody bothered to take it out of the ground though and when the ground thawed and the water went down the empty tank full of air was forced out of the ground ripping out our phone systems and some electrical cords too, if I remember correctly.

    A few years back we had a rainy, rainy winter and then a huge windstorm blew through and uprooted several trees in our area including the one at the end of our driveway. It laid down on the powerlines pulling poles out of the ground.

    So much fun rainy days can be, eh?


Leave a Reply

