A Short And Sweet Hodgepodge…

Folks, it’s Wednesday again, but  after the busy, stressful Tuesday Ed and I just had, it’s a wonder I am even able to turn on the computer today! (see #8 for explanation)  I’m very tired, stiff, and sore, so my answers will be somewhat brief today.  (I don’t know how Ed was able to get up and go to work this morning!) As always, a big thank you goes out to our hostess, Joyce, for her  sometimes thought-provoking, and always interesting questions!  Don’t forget to visit as many participants as you can!

1. My real life friends came through with another question this week so thank you real life friends. When you’ve eaten in a restaurant do you complete their comment card? Do you take online surveys highlighted at the bottom of store receipts?  

No, I never complete restaurant comment cards, but, occasionally, I’ll take an online survey.

2. The (US) ban on women in combat was lifted at the end of January. It will probably be next year before specifics are worked out, but its been reported over 200,000 front line positions will eventually open up to women. Your thoughts?

At the risk of sounding old-fashioned and out of date–in my opinion, women do not belong in combat!  End.of.Story.

3. In looking back at all the blog posts you’ve written, what’s your favorite post title?

I’m afraid I’m not very creative with my blog titles, but after searching all 55 pages of them, I settled on this one:  Last Night We Had Our Neighbor For Dinner  We literally had one of our neighbors for dinner.  (Click on the title, if you’re curious.)

4. What’s worse-overly permissive parents or overly protective parents? Did your own parents lean more to the permissive or the protective category? If you’re a parent where do you fall?

It’s a fine line to walk, but I believe overly protective parents may be a little worse than overly permissive ones, especially during the teen years.  I’ve seen many teenagers go wild because of over-protective parents, but also a few from over-permissive ones, too.

When all is said and done, I believe we have to set a good example for our children, teach them what’s right (and what’s not), and trust them to make the right decisions.  Mine and Ed’s parents were very trusting, and tended to lean toward permissive.  Ed and I were the same way.  I can’t say that we were never disappointed by a few of our teenagers’ choices, but each one turned out to be a responsible, respectable adult, and we’re proud of each of them.

5. Candlelight-moonlight-firelight-bright lights in the big city…which one’s your favorite?

I love candlelight best, but a full moon ranks a close second.

6. Dr. Seuss’s birthday was celebrated on Saturday. What’s a favorite book you remember (Seuss or otherwise) from your own childhood? Did books play an important role in your growing up years? Explain.

Sadly, I only owned 3 books as a young child–Pollyanna, The Shaggy Dog, and a book of Mother Goose Rhymes.  Of those three, the Mother Goose Rhymes book was my favorite.   I loved memorizing all of the rhymes.  After I became older,  my parents would let me purchase Scholastic books through school.  I still love to read, so I guess books played an important role in the end.

7. To quote Dr. Seuss…

“From there to here, and here to there, funny things are everywhere.”
from One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish

Share something funny you’ve recently read, seen or heard.

Here’s my granddaughter, Madison, showing off her new wig.  She got it to wear for  Dr. Seuss Week at school.  Yesterday was “green day”.

100_2192 (2)

Random:  

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you might remember that I have a goldfish pond, an anniversary gift from Ed, many years ago.  You can read about the original goldfish pond HERE and the second goldfish pond HERE.  If you have the time, both stories are intertaining!

Pond liners only last a certain number of years, and ours had begun leaking a while back.  Finally, we had to make the decision of whether to replace it, or cover up the  pond.  I’m not ashamed to admit, our first thought was...cover it up, but we have LOTS of LARGE  beautiful goldfish in our pond. Although we tried, we couldn’t find anyone who wanted any of them, and we just couldn’t bare the thought of killing them.

Finally, I asked Ed if he would be willing to put in another pond liner, and he said he would. (I tell you, the man has a heart of gold.)  I ordered the new liner, and it arrived a couple of weeks ago.  We’d planned to wait until a warm, dry weekend to tackle this mega chore, but the pond’s leaks were getting so bad, we just couldn’t wait any longer.  Yesterday was the day!  Blog post about the whole ordeal to follow… as soon as I’ve recovered enough to write it!

Published in: on March 6, 2013 at 9:00 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/a-short-and-sweet-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I do love a full moon. Madison looks adorable. Happy to hear your getting a new liner for your pond. Have a great day!

  2. Your granddaughter looks so cute in her green wig : ) We had a pond in our England garden and they do require some maintenance. Glad you got your liner in…take it easy today!

  3. In my book, you can’t beat a full moon, especially on a warm, summer’s evening when all the stars are out. Your granddaughter sure knows how to rock that wig!

  4. I wondered why you were so tired, sore and stiff. Hope you’re able to get loosened up today … and I’m looking forward to your story about the new pond liners.

    Your granddaughter looks so cute in green. ha!

    I didn’t own any books as a child … I had to check my books out of the library … I could have used a wagon to carry my books home! 😉


Leave a Reply

