It’s Me On A Rainy Monday…

Once again the weekend has passed so quickly it’s only a blur in my mind. Does anyone else feel that way on Monday?  It’s cloudy and raining outside this morning, a perfect morning to sleep in…

There’s no sleeping in going on around here, instead it’s time for the “Monday Quiz About Me”, hosted by Heather over at Acting Balanced.  Here are today’s questions:

Acting Balanced

1. What is the most expensive car repair you ever paid for?

 It was probably when the air conditioning went out or when we had to have the radiator replaced.  Once, we had to have the motor and the transmission replaced in the same vehicle!  Thank goodness, I didn’t have to pay for either one of those costly repairs since the vehicle was still under its 36,000 warranty!

2. Who is the big bad wolf in your world?

The “big bad wolves” of my world are the chronic health conditions I share my daily life with.  They can, and often do, make life miserable.  I won’t bore you with all of the details, but believe me when I say this, If you have good health, you are blessed!
3. At what age is the best to have a first child?

I don’t know if there is a “best age” for having children, but judging from my own experience, I’d say mid-twenties.  I had a lot more energy in my mid-twenties than I did in my mid-thirties, and I had a lot more common sense in my twenties than I did during my teen years!
4. When was the last time you said something nice to someone?

A few days ago when I apologized to Ed for asking him to replace the liner in our goldfish pond.  What a trooper he was to accept such a challenge–and never complain!

My question for you:  What will the first day of spring find you doing? ( It’s supposed to be cooler here, so I’m not sure I’ll be able to get outside.  Bummer!)

Weekend recap:

The goldfish pond project is officially finished now!  Ed finished the retaining wall, and put the garden rocks back in place.  You’d never know it looked like a disaster area just two weeks ago!  All 169 fish are happily swimming in their new home.  We expect the frogs to show up for their annual “frog party” (in the pond) at any time.  The frogs will be disappointed at the amount of water lilies they will find to sit on this year, but there is still plenty of algae for the tadpoles to feed on, thanks to lots of warm, sunny days.

We also managed to get our garden started on Saturday!  Late Friday afternoon, Ed and our son-in-law, Clint, got the ground ready.  Our tractor had been out of commission for a while, so it was great to hear and see it running again!

The ground was still pretty wet on Friday, but thanks to March breezes,  the garden dirt had dried out nicely by Saturday afternoon.  Ed and I planted some Lincoln peas, radishes, carrots, cabbage plants, lettuce plants, and onions late Saturday.  It was a great feeling to finally get something planted!  I just hope we don’t get too much rain this week!  Two rows planted, several more to go…

Published in: on March 18, 2013 at 9:37 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/its-me-on-a-rainy-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Lincoln peas? What are Lincoln peas?

    I’m so glad that you got your fish pond completed … are you going to show us pictures of the finished project? 😉

    The high here for the first official day of spring is going to be a mere 37 degrees! Brrrrrr! That’s NOT very spring-like, is it?

  2. The first day of spring will find me working as usual.

  3. I’m not sure exactly what day that is but I’m hoping it will be warm and I can sit out on my back porch reading.

  4. For the first day of spring we will be out with shovels again—-we have 18 inches of snow coming tonight and all day tomorrow. We still have a foot of snow on the ground and what is under that is frozen solid! So much fun living in the north.

  5. We had snow all day on Saturday and I’ve heard there’s more in the forecast. Nothing significant, but still I don’t think the first day of spring will find me doing anything too springlike…unless you count dreaming of spring : )

  6. I envy your garden! We don’t really have space for a garden anyway and I’m hoping to get some farmers market time in this year!

    For me the spring starts with baseball’s Opening Day (April 1 this year) and I’ll be in front of the TV toggling between the Reds and Tigers games and reveling in the return of spring. 🙂

  7. Those AC car repairs are so expensive but so critical to survival in the south. Looking forward to Kathy and Ed’s Garden Chronicles, Year 2! We have 4 “mater” plants in the ground. Hope we will get more in soon.

  8. The first day of spring is Wednesday and hubby and I will be getting our spring check up from the doctor!


Leave a Reply

