Springin’ Into Another Hodgepodge…

Hello Spring!  Only this morning it’s forty-something degrees outside, so it doesn’t as feel much like spring compared to yesterday’s high of 77 degrees!  What’s up with all that?

Hot or cold, rain or snow, it’s Wednesday–and that means it’s time for The Hodgepodge.  Our hostess, Joyce, has provided us with a great set of questions, so let’s “spring” right into my answers, shall we?

1. March 20th is the first day of spring…is she a lion or a lamb in your part of the world?

Only one word can accurately describe the weather in our neck of the woods–unpredictable!  One day it’s hot, the next day it’s cold.  Part of the day it might be raining, the other part might be sunny.  One day it’s windy, the next day it’s calm.  We never know what to expect from day-to-day, as our weather forecast is constantly changing!  I’ll characterize our first day of spring as an “unpredictable lamb”.  Tonight’s predicted low?  Mid-thirties!

2. What’s the most dreaded task on your spring clean to-do list? Do you have a ‘plan of attack’?

My most dreaded spring task is painting our porches and their rails.  Since all of our porches are uncovered, and we live under a bunch of trees, we have to paint Every.Single.Year!  I have no real plan of attack, other than to get started, as soon as it stops raining so much!

3. Peas…love ’em or hate ’em? What’s a favorite dish you make using peas?

Us southern folks love our peas!   Southern peas are an important part of our diet.  Crowder peas, blackeyed peas, and garden peas are just a few of our favorites.  We just put them in a pot and cook them in some water, along with some salt and seasoning meat, then we usually eat them over rice, except for the garden peas.  Simply southern!

4. Do you feel under appreciated?

Not much, thanks to a husband who often tells me how much he appreciates me and everything I do.  I used to feel under appreciated, a lot, while the children were growing up.  Children are needy!  In those days,  so much was required for them, there was very little time left for myself.  Time has taken care of all of that, as the children grew up, married, and now have families of their own.  I think my children appreciate me more now than they did back then–most of the time.

5. Have you been using Google Reader? If so, what are you switching to now that GR has announced retirement? If not, how do you read your favorite blogs?

I didn’t realize GR was retiring.  Why, oh why, must things continually change???   Sometimes I use Google Reader, sometimes I subscribe to blogs through email, other blogs I just visit on my own or through the links provided on memes.  For now, I guess I’ll bookmark my favorites.

6. Anne Bradstreet is credited with the following quote~

“If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant; if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.”

Agree or Disagree? Why?

I agree.  Although I hate going through difficult times in life, I always come out stronger in the end, and I learn life lessons.  Tough times cause me to be a lot more appreciative of the many blessings I have been given, too.  Without the difficult times, I’d probably just sail through life being complacent.

7. When did you last ‘spring for something’? What was it?

A couple of weeks ago, I bought the complete dvd collection of the television series “Little House on the Prairie  and “The Waltons”.  I love both of these old shows, and have always wanted to own them on dvd.  I found both sets through Amazon.com, for a price that was too good to pass up, so I bought them.

Random:

Recently I discovered a humorous blog entitled “Parenting: Illustrated With Crappy Pictures” (I’ve linked to one of my favorite posts)  I never fail to laugh when reading Amber’s posts, which deal with parenting, and are illustrated through crazy drawings.    Check it out, I guarantee you’ll laugh, and who couldn’t use a good laugh these days?!

Published in: on March 20, 2013 at 9:02 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/springin-into-another-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love snow, but we’re now 2/3 of the way through March, it’s the first day of spring … aren’t we done with the cold weather??

  2. Little House has always been my favorite. My son likes Andy Griffith so we have bought him the sets by season. He needs season 5 next I think. We enjoy watching them together.

  3. I’ll check out that blog later today. I do believe that once our kids – have kids, they learn to appreicate us then. That’s OK with me.

  4. Bloglovin is simple and the switch is easy. I’m liking the format, it’s different from GR, but not so different you can’t figure it out immediately.

    When it comes to weather perspective is everything…we’re at 40 today and think that’s warm compared to yesterday’s snow and 20 something temps : )

  5. I LOVE Little House and the Waltons! I watch them every chance I get. Some things just never get old! Ditto on #4.

  6. Isn’t it wonderful how once our children grow up they see us in a new light – and appreciate us?! Yey!

  7. I do like snap peas but that’s about it. Well for me, having well over 1,400 blogs in my reader I definitely needed a plan of action. Also this is a good time to clean out my reader because I obviously don’t read most of them! Enjoy your new DVD’s. I never watch Little House but I loved the Walton’s.

  8. I just borrowed Little House season 3 from the library and we have been enjoying it. It’s one of our favorites 🙂

  9. I’m ready for spring to be here in earnest. sigh. i do think that once it comes i’ll appreciate it more after this winter!


Leave a Reply

