Reflections of This Past Week…

The end of another week is upon us.  This has been a week I’d just as soon forget, since I spent most of it dealing with “the virus from hell”.  After three days, I’m feeling much better, but still feeling sort of  tired, so I think I’ll let my mind wander and do some reflecting…

Getting the chickens, cats, and dogs fed each morning, this week, has been a monumental task!  It took lots of determination to make it that far from the bathroom, and “scooping poop” out of the chicken house is not what I felt like doing the first thing each day!

Have I not told you that’s how I begin each day?  “My girls” have a plastic runner on the floor of their chicken coop, and each morning, I take a little broom/dustpan, and clean under their roosts.  It keeps their home smelling much nicer!  I keep their droppings in a  covered bucket, and we use it for fertilizer.  Nothing goes to waste on a farm!

It’s cold and rainy here–and it’s only 47 degrees.  It doesn’t feel much like spring today, but from the looks of the woods, it’s spring!!!  Green is everywhere!  (By the beginning of next week, the temperatures are supposed to be back up into the eighties again.)

I haven’t visited the garden since Monday.  I can’t wait to see how much everything has grown–and get back to planting!  Ed’s been having to take care of the greenhouse all week.  I’m sure he’s about ready to give that chore back to me.

Poor Ed!  He’s been eating light all week, expecting this stomach “bug” to hit him next.  We have a refrigerator filled with food, and nobody feels like eating.  My daughter’s household has been the same way, since granddaughter, Madison, caught the bug on Easter night.

Yesterday, Ed went to visit his mom, and found her sick with “the bug”, too!   We’re assuming this bug migrated its way to all of us through our oldest son and his family.  It went through their entire household, last week!  I hope Ed’s mom will be okay, ’cause I’m telling you, I can see how an older person could die from this stuff–and now it’s making its way through the assisted living facility!

Madison finally was able to go back to school yesterday.  She’s been sick and out of school for most of the past two weeks.  Last week it was the croup,  this week it’s been the virus!  It’s been two weeks since my daughter was able to keep little Alex, due to all of the sickness at her home.  Perhaps, the next week will be a normal one.  One thing’s for sure, we’ll all remember Easter 2013!

The television has been my best friend, this week.  I’ve kept it going from early morning until late night, just for the noise, if nothing else.  One particular evening, I became quite annoyed, when every show seemed to have someone eating something particularly disgusting on it–like worms, grasshoppers, and duck embryos! Ugh.

The rainbow roses have kept me company the entire week, too.  After seven days, they are beginning to look about like I’ve been feeling.  Come to think of it, I probably look about as rough as the roses, too!  I don’t remember ever having bought myself roses before, but I will definitely do it again, if I find another dozen for $8.99!

We have no plans for the weekend.  I hope the sun will decide to shine, so I can drag out my trusty lawn chair!  Breathing in some nice, clean, fresh country air sounds pretty good, after being shut in all week!  How about you, do you have any weekend plans?

Published in: on April 5, 2013 at 10:01 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/reflections-of-this-past-week/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well I won’t be visiting anytime soon until that bug is gone 🙂 I can’t believe that everyone got sick. Hope your all feeling better soon.

  2. I see you like watching “Survivor” like I do. Those duck embryos were disgusting and I would never eat one. Hope you get better!

  3. Hope you have a wonderful weekend. You deserve it after the week you’ve had.

  4. It’s going to be nice and warm tomorrow so I think we are going to get out and work in the yard. We’re beginning to see the sign of spring so it’s time to get out there and get the dregs of winter cleaned up in time for spring.

  5. Thanks for stopping over. I don’t know why we DVR the movies but I do think because it is easier than finding the movies and using all the crazy remotes to watch them!!! Glad to have someone who does it too, I didn’t think I was alone in this.

  6. Your plans for the weekend sound like just what the doctor ordered. I know what you mean about the TV. I haven’t been sick like you (thank goodness) but I have been snowed-in. And the TV can be a comfort – even if you’re not watching.

  7. The virus…UGGGGH. Hope it leaves quickly!

  8. Hi Kathy, I sure have missed you. I’m sorry yall have been sick. We all have the same exact thing here. It leaves one person and the next gets it. I hope you and your family are well soon. Did you read the news on my blog ? Love you and hope to talk soon.

  9. So sorry that you’ve had such a rough go of it … praying that you and your family will all be feeling well soon.

  10. You are a real trooper, although I guess you would have welcomed someone else to fill the role of pooper trooper this week. Besides the horrible sick feeling, those viruses leave you so weak.

    Prayers have been going up for you. Now I know why. May your complete recovery arrive speedily!


Leave a Reply

