Just Me On Monday…

After a week, I know you’re tired of hearing about this, but the stomach “bug” has struck our house again!  I think hubby, Ed,  was secretly breathing a sigh of relief and thinking he’d dodged the bullet, when it hit him yesterday–almost a full week after I caught it.  Sometimes life can be so much fun, can’t it?

In other news around the house…

On Saturday, I left the house for the first time in seven days!  Shopping for  fresh meats and vegetables has never ranked very high on my list of preferred activities, but, believe me,  it was an improvement over the past few days!  It’s the little things in life that mean so much…like fresh milk, bread, and bananas!

Ring the bells, sound the whistles!!!  The hens laid their 1000th egg on Saturday!!!  I tell you, those girls are really earning their keep!  Well, not really, if you take into consideration the cost of their coop, and the feed I buy for them, but still– I currently have over four dozen eggs in the refrigerator!  I’m thinking egg salad for lunch…

Speaking of the chickens–have I ever mentioned what the farmer told me in Tractor Supply, on the day I bought my baby chicks?  He said, “Remember, you’ll have to watch out for those snakes when you go to pick up your eggs each day.”  Now, I think he was just having fun with me, because he knew I was ignorant about raising chickens, but his words stuck in my brain like Super Glue sticks to your fingers!  I know some snakes do eat eggs, and our chicken coop is located at the edge of the woods, so  I never put my hand into the nests without first scanning the area for snakes!  So far, so good, but the other day, I opened the back door of the nests, and a bossy hen stuck her head out at me.  I’m not ashamed to admit, it gave me a bit of a scare!

In other chicken-related news, Ed finally got around to adding some dirt, and building up the area around the chicken coop on Saturday.  While he was doing this, he fenced off a tiny area, and let the chickens out of their coop for a while.  I tell you, it was like spring break for “the girls”!  I’ve never seen such scratching and digging, and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves the entire time!  Chickens are the original “cultivators”.  If only we could harness them and use them in the garden!

I was finally able to take a tour of the garden over the weekend.  Everything we planted last weekend is coming up!  It’s great to see several rows of “green” in the field, and know that it’s not all weeds!  I had to laugh at a couple of the rows–and how crooked they are…sort of looks like a “person under the influence” was driving the tractor, but, I can assure you, that wasn’t the case!  I’m looking forward to getting the other rows planted in a few more days.

Our weekend weather was beautiful, on Saturday, and I spent most of the afternoon in a lawn chair.  An intermittent breeze made alternating between the sun and shade a necessity, but I didn’t mind, ’cause I was in good company–with our daughter and oldest son.  Two of the “grands” were happily running around outside,  enjoying the weather, too.  The simple times are the best!

Unfortunately, the weekend is now history, and it’s time to get up and get busy.  The heaping laundry basket is calling my name, so I’d better hop to it.  I hope you have a great Monday, and a fantastic week!

Published in: on April 8, 2013 at 9:58 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/04/08/just-me-on-monday-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Boo for that recurring stomach bug!!!
    How cool it must be to see things growing in your garden!
    By the way…you can catch the “Vikings” episodes on the History Channel website! 🙂

  2. Glad to hear you’re feeling better. Hope your hubby will be better soon too.

    Love hearing about your chickens. That’s as close as I intend to get to being a farmgirl again. Just listening to other’s talk about theirs. haha

  3. That’s a lot of eggs! Hope you never encounter a snake, that would scare me! Sorry that Ed got sick too. Sitting out in the lawn chair sounds like it was perfect. Have a great week.

  4. I got the flu twice too. It has been awful! Luckily my boys and husband haven’t had to deal with it. I’m glad you are on your way to recovery. I hope Ed feels better soon!!

  5. I’m so glad that you’re feeling much better … and praying that Ed will feel better real soon. I can’t wait until we can survey our garden, seeing rows of plants. 😉

  6. Glad you are feeling better and that your garden is growing. Hope Ed feels better soon as well/


Leave a Reply

