Hello Again, Hodgepodge…

It’s great to be joining in with “The Hodgepodge”, this week, after last week’s “spring break”.  I’ve become quite fond of Joyce and “The Hodgepodge”, and I look forward to answering her questions each week.  I also enjoying reading her answers, along with everyone else’s!  Speaking of Joyce’s questions, here they are:

1. Share one fun thing you did last week, while the Hodgepodge was on ‘spring break’.

Nothing.  Zero.  Nada.  Zilch.  I was down with the stomach flu for pretty much the entire week.  Bummer…

2. April 10th is National Sibling Day…do you have siblings, and if so are you close? Share a favorite story featuring one or all of your siblings. If you don’t have siblings, did you ever wish you did?

I have one brother, David, who is almost nine years older than I am.  That’s a big age difference when you’re growing up, but once I was grown up, the years just seemed to melt away.  I’ve always been “old at heart”, while David has always been “young at heart”, so we sort of meet in the middle.  We’ve lived in neighboring states for most of our lives, but have been able to maintain a close relationship, in spite of this.  Now that our parents are gone, it’s just the two of us.

Many of my favorite memories of my brother center around many “trades” going on between him and his wife, with Ed and me, over the years.  David is a “trader” by nature.  He likes to buy, sell, or trade–while Ed and I rarely get rid of anything. We’ve made deals for each other’s cars, motorcycles, lawnmowers, and even stereos!  Many of these “trades”  involved “last-minute trips” to each other’s houses.  Fun times!  I miss those days.  By the way, Ed and I still have that stereo, even after thirty-something years!

3. Is it important to you to ‘buy American’? Why or why not? How much of an effort do you make to ‘buy American’? If you’re not American, insert your own country in the blank.

Yes, it is important to me to “buy American”, and given a choice, I’ll choose “American-made”, even if it costs a little more.  Unfortunately, there’s not always an option anymore.  I remember the days when “made in China” or “made in Japan” was synonymous with “junk”, and in many cases, it still is.

I also remember a time, when three garment factories were located within a ten-mile radius of our tiny town.  There were plenty of jobs for everyone, and people actually earned their living.  These days, there are no more factories, since work has been outsourced overseas.  If I had to guess, I’d say about half of our town is probably on welfare.

4. Besides The Bible, what book has impacted your spirituality in some way?

I can’t think of one.  I don’t do a lot of “deep reading”, other than the Bible.

5. April showers bring May flowers or so the saying goes. Do you find rainy days calming or depressing? When were you last caught in a rainstorm? What’s blooming in your neck of the woods today?

I find rainy days a little depressing–unless we are in the middle of a drought.  In that case, I find the rain calming!  I was caught in a rainstorm a couple of weeks ago.  I thought I’d have time to get my shopping done before it hit…but I was wrong.  The last of our Azaleas are still blooming, but that’s about it.  The dogwoods and pear trees are shedding their blossoms.

6. What’s your favorite yellow food?

Lemon meringue pie!  (can you tell I miss sugar?)  Following a close second, would be fresh corn on the cob or fried squash.

7. April is National Poetry Month…what’s a poem that holds special meaning for you, and why is it special?

A few years ago, my daughter wrote the following poem for me.  I printed her poem on pretty paper, framed it, and will always treasure it (for obvious reasons).

A Poem About My Mama

Mama, you taught your kids right from wrong,

you would read to us, and sing us songs.

You gave us spankings when we were bad,

we hated it then, but now we are glad.

You always made sure we were dressed and fed,

and then told us to make up our beds.

When we got hurt, you were there with a hug and a kiss,

and always made sure the bus we did not miss.

You took us to church and taught us about God,

and told us just because we were different, we are not odd.

I thank you now for all that you do,

and I hope I can be as good a mother as you.

Random:  

4 blogiversary

On April 7, I celebrated my fourth blogging anniversary.  Wow, four years–that was 1067 posts ago!  I’m so grateful to my son, Brad, for helping to get me started.  I still enjoy blogging as much today, as I did back then, although I’ve found it a bit more difficult to keep two blogs going.

Thanks to all who have taken the time to stop by my little corner of the internet, and leave a comment–over seven thousand of them!  Many of you have gained a special place in my heart, as we’ve shared each other’s trials and triumphs, as well as quite a few “Hodgepodges”, over the past several years.

 I’m excited about beginning my fifth year of “reflecting”!

Published in: on April 10, 2013 at 8:28 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/hello-again-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a sweet poem! A treasure for sure.
    I love lemon meringue pie but can no longer eat it since I am off of eggs 😦

  2. Love the poem very much, how sweet. Don’t mind therain either, especially when it rains at night and I hear it on the roof. But, by morning, I want it GONE.

  3. Very cute poem and Happy Blogoversary!

  4. That poem must make you happy every time you read it. What a lovely tribute.

  5. It is very sad where our country is today. I want the old America back!
    Well you did have a lot of rain this year so I’m sure your tired of it. What a lovely poem she wrote. We are only days apart from our Blogiversaries. It’s been a great 4 years and I am thankful that we meet!

  6. That poem is so sweet! So glad you’re feeling better this week. I saw Tricia Yearwood make a lemon meringue pie the other day and I’ve been craving some ever since!

  7. Oh why did you have to mention lemon meringue pie! I am trying to get off gluten again but i love that pie. Sweet poem. Awww.

  8. My friend, Congratulations on your 4th Blogoversary !!! I have always loved reading about you and your family. I feel be became fast friends through our blogs. I look forward to many more years blogging with you. lmk what link to find out about your dil expecting and any news I have missed please. Love you.

  9. Happy blogging birthday!

  10. Nice Mom poem… I am so very happy for your son and dil. I know they must be thrilled. Does she blog ? Do you have any posts up about them ? I’m the worst at finding posts. Yes, the ultrasounds are great. Hope you are feeling better. It’s so good to talk to you.

  11. Happy Anniversary. I am glad you enjoy blogging and plan to continue. A visit to your blog always makes me smile, touches my heart, inspires or encourages me or brightens my day with memories that send me down my own happy memory trails. Thanks for the memories!


Leave a Reply

