Messed Up Monday…

It’s hard to believe it’s already been four days since I last posted.  The older I get, the faster time goes.  I wonder if it will always be that way…probably not.  I’m pretty sure I’ve heard some older folks complaining about having too much time on their hands. The weekend is history, and now it’s a soggy, messed up Monday–and I’m running about four hours behind!

I’m running behind because I woke up to find one half of our house without electricity!  After inspecting the breaker box, and finding no breakers which appeared to be thrown, I called Ed to come home and rescue me!  I was concerned because the stove and refrigerator were among the appliances not working.  (Meanwhile, Ed was dealing with his own electrical problems at work, too!)

Ed came home, and was in the process of trying to figure out why half of our breaker box was without power, when the Georgia Power truck drove up.  It seems the “smart meter” picked up on our electrical malfunction, and automatically alerted the power company.  Apparently, something in our underground wiring outside the house had shorted out, causing the problem.  Nearly four hours later, we are finally back up and running!  There’s something disturbing about that “smart meter” monitoring our power consumption  and being able to dial-up and report a problem though.

Late or not, I’m linking up with  the “About Me On Monday Quiz”:

Acting Balanced

1. What is your best solution for getting rid of a headache?

My preferred headache treatment of choice is two Excedrin tablets (tension headache formula).  There was a recall on Excedrin several months ago, and I’m having trouble finding those now.  Fortunately, I’ve found a generic brand which seems to work nearly as well.
2. Do you enjoy taking naps?

Yes, I enjoy taking naps very much!  I take advantage of them every chance I get.
3. What was the last ‘block buster’ movie you saw at the theatre?

I haven’t been to a theater in nearly three years!  Toy Story 3 was the last movie I saw.  Most of today’s movies don’t really appeal to me anymore.
4. If you could have anyone cook you dinner who would it be?

I’d love to be able to sit down to one of my father-in-law’s delicious meals again.  He’s been deceased for eleven years, but that man could cook the best fried chicken I’ve ever eaten!  If we’re talking celebrity cooks, then I’d love to have Paula Deen come over and cook dinner for me.

My question for you:

5.  Are you familiar with “Smart Meters”?  If so, what do you think about them?  

The Weekend Recap:

Ed took Friday off from work, and we attempted to finish planting our garden.  According to the Farmers’ Almanac, Friday and Saturday were supposed to be great planting days.  Somebody should have consulted the weatherman!  Friday was the strangest day of weather!  One minute it was cloudy, the next minute the sun would try to shine, and then it rained twice–a couple of quick flash showers.  In spite of all of this, we managed to get two rows of the garden planted, and Ed mowed the grass.

The weather redeemed itself on Saturday, and we managed to get seven more rows of vegetables planted!  This gives us a grand total of seventeen  L-O-N-G rows of vegetables. We’ve planted the garden in stages, this year, so hopefully everything won’t be ready at the same time!  If it doesn’t work out, I’m in real trouble!  By the way, you should see my farmer’s tan–on second thought, no, you shouldn’t!

On Sunday, Ed and I left the country, and ventured into the big city.  It’s not our favorite thing to do, but sometimes it’s necessary. I ordered some new spring clothes, which didn’t fit, so a trip to the Outlet Mall to return them was in order!   Our son, Brad, and his wife, Jennifer,  live only about twenty minutes from where Ed and I were. We called and invited Brad to drive over where we were shopping, and join us for lunch.  Unfortunately, Jennifer was working, so we missed seeing her on this trip.

Ed and I had some garden shopping to do at Wal-mart, so we stopped there first.  Brad surprised us by showing up at Wal-mart while we were still shopping!  It’s a strange feeling to see one of your off-spring, in a strange store, in a strange place!  I didn’t even recognize him at first.

After lunch, Brad kept Ed company while I tried on, what seemed like, every outfit in BonWorth before finding something that would fit!  My recent weight loss has left me in between sizes, but, eventually, I found three outfits that I liked, which actually fit.  Mission accomplished!

It was bitter-sweet having to say good-bye to Brad in the Wal-mart parking lot, then going home without him.  It still seems strange to have him living in the big city, after having him living so close for so long!  He seems to enjoy being a suburbanite though.

All in all, it was a good weekend. Like always, it went by entirely too fast.  Happy Monday, everyone!

Published in: on April 15, 2013 at 12:47 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/messed-up-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I haven’t heard of the smart meters. I’ll have to check it out before giving an opinion.

  2. What a weekend! I am in awe once again of all you and Ed do. Best wishes for abundant harvest . . . in manageable stages!

  3. What a busy weekend. We have smart meters here although when our house is half lit it is because we live in the middle of the street and are serviced by 2 different transformers. We also have water meters that are causing people to spend a lot of money upgrading their plumbing.

  4. I’ve never heard of a smart meter. But I’m so glad your electric is working again. This summer when you’re harvesting all those vegetables, I’m gonna wish I lived near you! Not for the work mind you, but for the vegetables. haha

    Glad you found you some new clothes. That is always fun!

  5. They haven’t put in smart meters here but I heard that one county is wanting to place them and everybodies up in arms over it.

  6. That’s funny about the smart meter. I was thinking “isn’t she luckly it detected the problem.” Guess it’s all relative!

  7. We don’t have them here, but you could opt for one in Maryland. I don’t know…seems like there is a sudden surge in privacy invasion. It’s a fine line. I read today the IRS can read emails without a warrant. I get that there are people out there wanting to do harm, but is that all they’re using the power for? Potential threats? I can’t think too hard about this stuff or I’ll be needing some of your Excedrin : )

  8. This is the first I’ve heard of “smart meters”. Glad you’re getting plenty of your garden planted. We will have to wait until this weekend – or later – to do any planting as it’s going to rain all week … we’ll have to wait until the soil dries out enough to get out and start planting.


Leave a Reply

