It’s Going To Be One Of Those Weeks…

Happy Monday, everyone!  It’s going to be one of “those weeks” around our house.  By the time some of you are reading this post, I’ll be sitting in the doctor’s office, waiting for my check up.  What a way to begin the new week!  (Hopefully, I’ll get only good news, this visit.)  In addition, Ed will be home on Tuesday, in preparation for his first colonoscopy on Wednesday.  Joy! Joy!  I told you it was going to be one of “those weeks” around here!

As for my weekend wrap up, there’s not much to tell.  It was a wet, windy, cool weekend!  The weather felt more like early March than late April.  Thanks to another three inches of rainfall, we’re wet, wet, wet…again!  I walked out into the garden on Saturday afternoon, and nearly lost my shoe when my right foot bogged down!  Fortunately, we plant our garden rows up on raised beds, so our plants are sitting high and dry.

Speaking of the garden and our plants–everything we planted last weekend has sprouted!  So far so good.  The plants on the first rows, which were planted in mid-March, are getting really big.  Our radishes are now ready for eating.  We have some small squash on two of our larger bushes, and most of the cabbage plants are now developing heads, thanks to their early start in my greenhouse!  There are also a few “almost ripe” strawberries on our plants.

Ed has already had to add a second row of string for the tomatoes, which means they’ve grown several inches taller.  Those plants now have blossoms, which will soon be replaced by little tomatoes.  We seem to be having much better luck with our tomatoes this year, than we had last year–at least so far.

What I’m not having luck with is– keeping the dogs out of the garden!  Several of our green bean plants have become victims of several roaming feet. I guess I’ll just have to look at the bright side–better dogs, than deer or rabbits, right?

On that note, I’ll be joining the “Monday Quiz About Me”.

Here are today’s questions:

Acting Balanced

1. Who do you like to quote?

I rarely quote anyone famous, but sometimes I like to quote two very wise women in my life– my maternal grandmother and my mother-in-law.  Grandma- “Pretty is as pretty does.”

2. Have you ever made something you wore out in public?

Yes.  For many years, I sewed the majority of my clothing, but that was a long time ago!  ( I learned how to sew in home economics.)  I’ve made dresses, skirts, shorts, slacks, and a bathing suit, but never a blouse because I never mastered making pretty buttonholes 😦

3. When was the last time you used a telephone (not a cell phone)?

On last Thursday, when I talked with my brother and sister-in-law, using our home phone.

4. What was the first recording you bought with your own money?

I have no idea what record I bought first, but I know it was forty-something years ago, when I was about 16.  I’d gotten a part-time job, so  I became a member of a record club. Record clubs and vinyl records–now there’s a blast from the past!  I still have all of my albums, but I got rid of my 45’s.

My question for you:

5.  Do you still own any records? 

Published in: on April 22, 2013 at 7:23 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/its-going-to-be-one-of-those-weeks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am the anti-pack rat, so I don’t have any of my records. 😦

    Good luck on your doctor’s visit.

    I think we’ll be planting this week … just onions. Next week we should be out there planting the rest … green beans, tomatoes, corn and zucchini.

  2. My husband has over 600 record albums as well as 200 78 records. He has some that date back to the 1940’s. Good luck at the doctor this week.

  3. Hope your doctor visit goes/went well.

    I have a few records, though most I passed on to my baby sister seeing as she has a Record Chest (that’s what we call it but its one of those long waist high players where you slide the top to get to the record player).

  4. Fun post. I think we may still have some records around here, but I’m not sure. Hope all was good at the doctors.

  5. Yes, better dogs than the deer and woodchucks I have. I don’t have time or enough sunny areas for a garden like yours, but saturday I saw a program on PBS where a man grew plants in the cut out areas of cinder blocks. I have a few lying around someplace. I think I’m going to give it a try. Since it’s too late to start from seed, I’ll have to buy baby plants.
    If it works, you just read a review of a future blog of mine. Hope all went well at the doctor’s.

  6. I have a stash of records in my father’s basement.
    Some great tunes! But I only listen to them when I visit him.

  7. I still have a bunch of my old records and I have the box record player I had as a kid (A true antique now) so, I can listen to them once in a while too.


Leave a Reply

