Thursday’s Thoughts ~ On The Other Side Of The Situation

Yesterday, as I sat in the hospital room, watching Ed getting ready to have his colonoscopy, it occurred to me how different if feels to be the person on ‘the other side of the situation’.  In over forty years of marriage, it was a first for me.

I’ve always been the one in the hospital, getting the IV’s and waiting to be whisked away.  With three births and two surgeries in my history, I’ve had plenty of experience being on the receiving end of the situation!

As I sat and listened to the anesthesiologist explain the procedure and possible risks to Ed, I began to think about how fragile life really is.  It’s a sobering thought, especially for the one whose left behind in the waiting room!

Fortunately, Ed’s procedure went well, and he received a clean ‘bill of health’.  That’s always a relief, especially when there’s a history of colon cancer in your family.  I only had to spend thirty minutes in the waiting room, contemplating how fragile life is, before the nurse came and took me to the recovery room to be with Ed.  Hearing the surgeon give Ed the good news was like music to my weary ears!

After yesterday’s experience, I now have a new appreciation for all of the things Ed has had to endure with me throughout the years, especially my cancer scare.  Now I better understand the tired, distressed look on his face following each of my births and surgeries.

Given the choice in life, I still think I might rather be on the receiving end of the situation.  Ed awoke from his procedure saying, “That was some good sleep!”‘  Meanwhile,  I was still trying to soothe my frazzled nerves from the whole ordeal.

I feel slightly older and wiser today…and I treasure Ed more than ever before.  Sometimes it’s good to see things from a different perspective.

Published in: on April 25, 2013 at 7:51 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/thursdays-thoughts-on-the-other-side-of-the-situation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am so glad Ed had good results. I know how you feel about the waiting part. It’s always been me too, up until recently. I hope you can relax now and get some rest my friend.

  2. Glad everything went well!

  3. So true! Thanks so much for update. It is always happy to be able to switch to a thank-you prayer!

  4. Hooray for the clean bill of health!

  5. Glad to hear Ed got t he clean bill of health and glad you took it as an opportunity to be mindful of how precious each second of now is.

  6. So glad that Ed got a good report. Having to wait on a loved one undergoing a medical procedure sure does give one food for thought, doesn’t it?

  7. I know what you mean, I live it every day lately with my elderly and very fragile father. Glad to hear a positive story about a loved one’s health.


Leave a Reply

