Happy Happy Hodgepodge!

Once again, it’s time to get happy with a few friends by participating in “The Wednesday Hodgepodge”.  Our hostess, Joyce, has graciously provided us with another great set of questions this week, so let’s get started!

1.  This week’s Hodgepodge is Volume 123.  What’s something you’ve done recently that was as easy as 1-2-3?

I fell asleep…and it was wonderful!  On Monday night I was so tired I went to bed at 8:45.  I fell asleep immediately and slept through the entire night.  I never go to bed early, fall asleep quickly or sleep through the entire night, so it was quite a treat!

2.  The Wednesday Hodgepodge also happens to fall on the first day of May …what is something you may do this month?

I may spend an afternoon sitting under my favorite oak tree on St. Simon’s Island, enjoying that wonderful view of the ocean!

3. The Englishman Horace Walpole is credited as saying, “The world is a tragedy to those who feel, but a comedy to those who think”  How do you see it?

I see the world as a tragedy waiting to happen– because too many people aren’t thinking these days!

4.  May is National Hamburger Month…how often do you eat a burger? What are your must-haves when it comes to burgers?  I assume you vegetarians won’t be celebrating so tell us what you’d like instead?

I’ll eat a home-made hamburger about twice a month, but I rarely eat ‘fast food’ burgers anymore.  I love my burgers grilled over charcoal, served on a whole wheat bun with lettuce, tomato, pickles, mayo (or Miracle Whip), and ketchup.

5. Pansies, petunias, geraniums, impatiens…of the four mentioned, which is your favorite in a patio pot? Will there be pots on your patio this spring? (Or whenever spring comes to your part of the globe?) Who does the gardening at your house?

I love geraniums in pots–red ones, but this year, the only plants on our porches will be some ivy that I’ve had growing in pots for over three years.  I do have a couple of large barrels filled with coleus and begonias, but they’re sitting out in the yard.  In our family, I do the flower planting, but Ed and I tend the vegetable garden together.

6. When did you last (literally or figuratively) shout “Mayday, Mayday!”

It’s been a while, so I really can’t remember when I last called for help.  However, my daughter, who lives next door, has called “Mayday, Mayday” twice during the past two weeks, due to two different snake sightings in her yard!  We’re watching where we step very carefully these days!

7.  Say farewell to your April in ten words or less.

Goodbye cool, wild, windy, unpredictable weather!

Random:

200px-Duck_Dynasty_Promo

Have any of you ever watched the show “Duck Dynasty” on the A&E channel?  It’s about a close family from Louisiana  who makes a very prosperous living by making duck calls.  All of the men in the family are known for their long hair and beards–and for being quite entertaining! We love the Robertson family and their wholesome family values.  Every show ends with the  family praying around the dinner table, while someone reflects on the lessons learned from the day.  It’s one of our family’s favorite shows, and it’s guaranteed to make you smile–or as Phil Robertson would say, “happy, happy!”

 

Published in: on May 1, 2013 at 8:08 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/happy-happy-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My husband watches that show as well and loves it. I’m glad you got to have a good nights sleep.

  2. I love Duck Dynasty : ) I dislike snakes. We have a huge rock wall in our back yard, boulders really, and I know there are snakes in there. I’ve only seen one slither in there once, but its rocks and they’re snakes so I’m sure there’s more. I like to think they stay there as opposed to getting under my feet! Yay for sleeping!

  3. I haven’t watched Duck Dynasty, although my daughter is trying to get me to watch … I just never think about it on Wednesday nights. 😉

    So glad you got a good night’s sleep. I’ve been having trouble sleeping, so I know how wonderful it is to get a good night’s sleep.

  4. Hand’s down…Duck Dynasty is one of my favorite shows on TV. It’s just good, wholesome entertainment and always leaves you feeling good! I love that they’re all strong Christians and are eager to share their faith. Jase spoke at our church about a month ago and I could kick myself that I didn’t attend!

  5. Hubby and I watched Duck Dynasty one time. We figured that was 30 minutes we’ll never get back. However, I do love the Christian and family values. I just got bored with the show. I’ll have to try it again sometime because so many of you out there seem to really like it.

  6. It feels so good to get one of those rare nights of sleep. Hope you get to sit under that tree! I see the world as a tragedy most of the time. I’m not into many reality shows but I know my husband watches that one.

  7. Duck Dynasty is a great show! It has family values and you don’t see anything on the show that is bad for TV. Phil Robertson is coming to our area in July and I can’t wait!

  8. Lots of our friends, family and acquaintances are die-hard fans of Duck Dynasty. I have caught it one time and laughed my head off, but my TV watching is unplanned and limited. Days are busy. Nights I am in bed early, reading awhile then zonking out.


Leave a Reply

