May I Introduce You To The Hodgepodge?

Hello May!  Hello Wednesday!  Hello Hodgepodge!  Hello visitors!  I’m so glad you stopped by.  Below you will find Joyce’s questions, along with my answers for this week.  Don’t forget to click Joyce’s button at the top of this post if you’d like to join in the mid-week fun!

1. When the children of today grow up, what do you think they’ll say about this period in time? What do you most hope they remember?

I think a lot about my grandchildren and this period of time they are growing up in.  Things are not heading in a positive direction, and it worries me a lot–especially for my grandchildren.

I’m sure today’s children will remember technology.  They’ll have fond memories of all of the gadgets and games they grew up with.  Perhaps they will remember the corruption of politics, their loss of freedom,  and the decline of morals within society, too.

As for what I hope today’s children will remember?  I hope they’ll always remember faith and family.  These two things will carry them through life, no matter what is going on in the world around them.

2. National Teacher’s Day is celebrated in the US of A on the first Tuesday in May, this year May 7th…share how a particular teacher positively impacted you.

Although it’s kind of sad, I can only think of one teacher who positively impacted me.  I was the shy kid, who just wanted to get lost in the crowd.  As a result, I didn’t receive a lot of special attention from the majority of my teachers.

When I was in the sixth grade, my teacher happened to be a former neighbor of my parents.  I didn’t really know him that well, but he was extra nice to me, and the time spent in his classroom is among my favorite school memories.

3. What’s a dish your mama made, that if set in front of you today would whisk you right back to childhood?

Egg custard pie!  Mama was noted for making the best egg custard pies.  I have her recipe, but the ones I make just aren’t the same as mama’s.

4. Mother May I was a game we played when I was growing up…no pieces, parts, or plugs required. What games from childhood do you remember loving that were also pieces, parts, and plug-free?

Mother May I, Simon Says, and I Spy are the games that come to mind.

5. Besides your own mother, tell us about a woman who influenced you as a child?

My maternal grandmother greatly influenced me while I was growing up.  She was a wonderful lady, and I always wanted to grow up to be just like her.  Because of her, I wanted to learn how to cook, sew, embroider, and crochet–and be a good wife and mother, of course!

6. Mamma Mia! What’s the best play or musical you’ve ever seen?

The best play I’ve ever seen was a version of “The Wizard of Oz” at the Savannah Civic Center.  My favorite musical (on film) is “Grease”.  I’ve never seen a live musical.

7. What are three smells that make you feel nostalgic?

*The smell of a live Christmas tree.

*The smell of fresh coffee brewing.

*The smell of the ocean.

Random:

Last week I wrote a post entitled Trouble and the Man With the Can.  Today I have an epilogue to the story.

Trouble, the cat, has since moved again!  As of last week, she’s moved to our oldest son’s house.  Trouble is a bit of a loner, and I think the three kittens may have proved to be too much for her!

My husband, Ed,  now feeds the cats at his mom’s house, then stops by our son’s house and gives Trouble her share of the food, too.  She’s waiting on the steps for him every day.  Now there’s a man with a heart of gold–and I didn’t ask him to do this either!

P.S.  We had to treat for fleas at Ed’s mom’s house, last weekend.  This cat saga never ends…

Published in: on May 8, 2013 at 8:00 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/05/08/may-i-introduce-you-to-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love all of those smells! It makes me sad that the shy kids don’t always get so much attention.

  2. we played a lot of simon says also…fun times

  3. Love your Trouble the cat stories!

  4. Oh Yes coffee! I so love that smell but we didn’t have a coffee pot growing up, My mom made instant which just doesn’t smell the same. I love simon say as well. What fun.

  5. Yes I worry about the very young children of today because our world is changing so drastically. Do you know that my SIL’s favorite thing is Egg Custard Pie.

  6. I remember waking to a percolator perking…I love the convenience of our coffee maker, but it’s not the quite the same is it?

  7. I’m totally with you on trying to recreate family recipes. I have tried to make some of the dishes my grandmother used to make and it’s just not the same!! oh, how did I forget the smell of coffee! That is so one of my favorite smells!!!

  8. Yes, Ed is a keeper! And as for trouble I feel better knowing he’s living with humans (until they get on his nerves too!)


Leave a Reply

