There’s No Place Like The Hodgepodge…

It’s hard to believe this is the 125th edition of The Hodgepodge, but it is!  I don’t know how she does it, but our hostess, Joyce, continues to have an endless supply of thought-provoking and informative questions at her disposal.  Did you know that May is National Blood Pressure Month?  Me either!

Joyce’s questions are printed below, along with my answers.  Don’t forget to hop around a visit a few friends after you read my answers.  You can do this by clicking on Joyce’s button at the top of this post.

1. May is National Blood Pressure Month…what sends yours soaring, either literally or figuratively? What calms you down? When did you last have your bp checked?

Thinking about the rapid decline of our nation (the out-of-control government spending, declining morals of people, loss of personal freedoms– not to mention all of the lying and deception from our top-ranking government officials) is a sure-fire way to make my blood pressure rise!  Other contributing factors would be unexpected doctor/dentist visits or any kind of discord within my family.

When I feel like I just can’t take anymore, I’ll distance myself from the news.  Other relaxation techniques include relaxing in a candlelight bubble bath while my favorite music plays in the background, or my all-time favorite–spending a relaxing day at the beach!  Troubles just seem to melt away whenever I’m beside the ocean.

I purchased a blood pressure monitor around Christmas, so I can check my own pressure on  regular basis. Thanks to a loss of 25 pounds, my blood pressure is now lower.

2. You just found $1-what do you spend it on? How about 10$ 100?

It’s funny that Joyce should ask this question.  I actually found a dollar in the trash can outside of a store just the other day! I put it in my purse, and have no idea what I spent it on.  Last weekend, Ed found ten dollars on the floor of a store, and gave it to me, although I tried to get him to keep it.  I bought a new garden sprayer with it yesterday.  I don’t know what I’d buy if I found $100.

3. Mandatory labeling of genetically engineered (GE) food has been proposed, but not enacted in the US. How much attention do you give food labels before you buy? Are you in favor of labeling if it means an increase in food prices? Is this an issue you’ve been following and feel strongly about, or is this the first you’ve heard of the controversy?

I am aware of the genetically engineered foods, due to my on-going battle with candida albicans.  I never was a label reader before I became ill with this condition, but I am an avid label reader now!  As I’ve become more educated about candida albicans, I’ve become much more aware of what NOT to put inside of my body.  GE foods are not a good thing to put inside of our bodies–and neither is sugar!  Since what I eat directly affects my health, I’m in in favor of labeling, so I’ll know what to avoid.

4. May 15th marks the birthdate of Frank Baum, author of The Wizard of Oz. At this point in time, are you more in need of brains, courage, heart, or a trip back home? Explain.

At this point in time, I am in need of more brains.  The brain I have seems to be malfunctioning more and more often!  Sometimes I can’t remember names or details, and if I don’t perform a task on a regular basis, sometimes I may forget how to do it!  For instance, I stopped drinking sweet iced tea six months ago.  Ed makes the tea now because he’s the only one who drinks it.  Last night, I was going to make the tea because Ed was outside.  I quickly discovered that I’d forgotten how many tea bags and how much sugar to use!

5. “There’s no place like home” is an oft repeated line from Baum’s book. When was the last time you felt the truth of that statement?

I’ve never felt the truth of that statement more than I do at this point in my life!  The older I get, the more I prefer to be at home, especially at bedtime!  I remember Ed’s parents becoming like that, as they grew older, and I couldn’t understand why they didn’t like to spend the night away from home anymore.  Now I understand.  No other bed sleeps as good as my own, and I like the familiarity of my own home versus a strange place.

6. Steak…yes please or no thank you? What cut do you prefer and how do you like yours cooked? Sauce or no sauce? Besides your own kitchen, where’s a place you like to go to get a great steak?

Yes, please!  Steak is one of my favorite foods.  I prefer a Delmonico or a New York Strip, but will eat anything, as long as it’s well-done.  Of course, I have to have my steak covered in steak sauce or ketchup, too!  My favorite steak place is Longhorn’s Steak House, but we rarely go there.

7. When was the last time you were in a genuine hurry?

The last time I remember being in a genuine hurry was when our oldest grandson was about to be born, four years ago.  Our daughter-in-law went for her routine check-up, and ended up getting sent to the hospital for a c-section.  I was in the middle of hosting a Christmas dinner for Ed’s employees, but I had to make a hasty exit and head for the hospital!

Random:  

Here are a few of the photographs included in the wonderful book I received for Mother’s Day:

400673_10152812858530693_448460223_n
My grown children

247785_10152812826345693_643477861_n

The grandchildren (including #4 who’s not born yet)

946563_10152812826555693_2124193504_n

A family portrait of all

There’s no doubt, I’m one blessed mother and grandmother!

Published in: on May 15, 2013 at 7:22 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/theres-no-place-like-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great family pictures! And I am with you about needing more brain! This aging thing is challenging, isn’t it??

  2. I am with you on the brain. It worries me sometimes, but I guess its normal. I try to do things to exercise my brain and hope it helps in the long run. I love the family pictures! Such a special gift.

  3. Great pictures. I think I’d like to hang around with you since you always seem to be finding money! : )

  4. Such special pictures! We also have three grandchildren and are expecting our fourth. So much fun! Sounds like many of us are missing our brains these days. 🙂 Have a great day!

  5. What a lovely family! I hear you on the brain fog–today I took my kids to school and did safety patrol with my slippers on! And I totally forgot to make their lunches. Stopping by from hodgepodge. Have a fabulous day!

  6. I don’t know how she does it either! So what were you doing in that trash can….LOL! Our government really needs to crack down on so many items that we eat. Other countries don’t allow many of the ingredients that we still allow. So true, you are definitely blessed.

  7. Great family shot and of course the others are great too. I’m with you on the Brain as well. Mine is just too full with stuff right now.

  8. Awww.. Love the family photos!.. Congrats on the loss of 25 lbs! Wow! Good for you!!!… I’ve always been a stick, skinny as a rail, until I TURNED FIFTY! It’s been a cruel year, and I’m facing facts that I just HAVE to start making a few changes. I’ve been watching my sugar intake, and my salt intake, and I’ve been exercising at least 6 days a week, if not the full seven days every week! I haven’t noticed any great, significant weight loss yet, but I’m patient and hopeful, especially with Summer on the way… Nice to meet you, anyways, via Wednesday Hodgepodge! Have a great week!

  9. The photos of your kids are great! Did they do that themselves or did your hubby help?

  10. Beautiful family photo, loving gift, and, oh my goodness, Maddie looks so grown up!


Leave a Reply

