Seems Like Monday To Me…

It’s already Tuesday, and I really should be doing other things, but nothing that needs to be done is as much fun as blogging.  Besides, I need the rest!  Trying to keep up with Ed has just about done me in.  We’ve spent the past four days on a vacation–sort of.  It was actually more like a little marathon of activities we needed and wanted to do!

Most recent pics-Spring '13 166

hoeing and weeding never ends…

Most of Friday was spent in the garden–pulling weeds, hoeing, and spraying for pests.  There’s no doubt in my mind, Ed and I got our daily workout on Friday!  We gave it a valiant effort, but, unfortunately, we didn’t finish with the weeding and hoeing.  We did manage to finish painting the back porch though!

On Saturday, Ed and I ran some errands.  Among them, returning a recently purchased weed eater.  Ed’s been having bad luck with weed eaters lately.  This is the second one we’ve had die in less than a year!  We decided to try a different brand.  After finishing our errands, Ed and I took some time to enjoy a delicious lunch together, at one of our favorite little restaurants.

At four o’clock, on Saturday, our two little grandsons arrived at our house.  I’d promised to babysit the boys while their parents went out for an early dinner, in celebration of their recent anniversary.  Meanwhile, our daughter picked up some pizza (for all of us) for dinner, while she and her family were out shopping.  Our daughter and her family joined us for dinner and babysitting, so granddaughter, Madison, could play with her cousins!  We had a busy evening of pizza, playing, and baths for all three grandchildren!  I gave the moms a break and took over bath and hair washing duties for the evening.  I’d forgotten how busy the evenings can be whenever children are involved, but it was fun for a change.

100_2479

enjoying some fun in the sun…

On Sunday, I finally got some beach time.  By then, Ed and I needed some rest and relaxation!  It rained early Sunday morning, but had stopped by the time we got ready to leave  We arrived at the beach around mid-morning, and were surprised to find the ocean breeze a bit on the cool side.  However, by lunchtime, this was no longer the case!  Ed and I had our usual picnic under the trees along the shore, and had an enjoyable time.  After we left the beach, we incorporated a little shopping on the trip back home, too!

All too soon, it was Monday, and the last day of our ‘vacation of sorts’.  I woke up not feeling well, so I didn’t accomplish a  lot on Monday.  I spent most of my day on the couch, while Ed finished hoeing the last of the garden–just in time to start all over again!

100_2507 (2)

our little graduate…

Speaking of finishing–our oldest grandchild, Madison, graduated from Kindergarten on Monday evening!  Ed and I ended our ‘vacation of sorts’ by attending her graduation.   Madison has learned so much this year, and we’re so proud of her.  Wow, I can’t believe we’ve attended the first graduation of our second generation, already!  Time’s passing too quickly.  Suddenly I feel very old…

I’ll be making my way around to catch up with everyone as soon as possible!   I’ve missed you all, and can’t wait to see what’s been going on with everybody 🙂  For now, I need to do a little laundry, vacuum the house, and shell some garden peas for dinner!

Published in: on May 21, 2013 at 12:02 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/seems-like-monday-to-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your little Maddie is growing up. It astonishes me how much they teach in pre-K and Kindergarten now. You and Ed have had a full mini-vacation!

  2. Your garden is amazing and way to go on all the work you have been doing to keep it up! Love the photo of you and glad you got to go to the beach. Sounds like a fun time watching your grandchildren. Congratulations to Madison!

  3. Your graduate is adorable. I have a ceremony for my pre-schoolers too.
    My garden is SOOOO much smaller than yours and it’s filled with never ending weeds. My hats off to you for keeping up with them!

  4. What a great mini-break you had from same-old same old. Your graduate reminds me of my day as a kindergarten graduate. Believe it or not I have the picture on my dresser. My dad had always displayed it on his dresser and so when he passed I brought it home to my place Not many 61 year old pictures have been honored in such a way. In fact it looks like it did the day he framed it. But oh, how I wish I could say the same for the graduate!

  5. Sounds like a good combination of work and play : )

  6. I was hoping you had a good time. Love the pic of you by the beach. Congratulations Madison. They grow up so fast. I’ve got another child fixing to graduate high school.


Leave a Reply

