Thursday’s Thoughts ~ On Time

stopped-clocks-wwwstoppedclockscom

Man’s thoughts concerning time are probably as old as man himself, and more numerable than I could even begin to count.  Right off the top of my head I can think of at least a dozen quotes or song titles concerning time.  For example, Time is of the essence…Time waits for no man…Time is of the utmost importance…Time flies when you’re having fun…Time is passing too quickly...or how about the songs: Time Won’t Let Me…Time In a Bottle…Time Is On My Side…If I Could Turn Back Time…No Time…Time After Time…Time Passages... just to name a few.

Time is something I never seem to have enough of these days, or so it seems.  I don’t know if I’m moving slower or if I  just don’t manage my time as wisely as I should.  Whatever the reason, I go to bed every evening without finishing my ‘to do’ list.  This is beginning to get on my last nerve!

Does anyone else remember when time just seemed to d-r-a-g?  Those boring days in a high school classroom seemed like they’d never end!  When I was a child, the weeks leading up to Christmas seemed to take f-o-r-e-v-e-r!  Don’t even get me started about the six hundred (plus) days Ed was gone overseas…  I nearly used up two entire calendars marking off the days!

These days, it’s Monday every time I turn around, and I find myself thinking there went another week of my life!  Frankly, I’m getting a bit concerned about how quickly these weeks of my life are flying by.  One of my parents passed away at age 70, the other barely made it to age 65.  I’ll be 59 this summer!  Yikes!  I know I’m not my parents, but I do carry their genes…

Having at least two clocks in almost every room of our house only serves to further remind me of how fast time is passing!  I guess you could say we like clocks, since we own thirteen of them!  The only room in our house that’s clock-free is the bathroom.  We’d probably have a clock in the bathroom, too, if wall space allowed it!

The clock and my aging brain tells me I’m not going to gain any speed as I grow older, so I guess my only option is to try to organize my time a little better, and make every minute count.  Come to think of it, my aging brain is telling me I can forget trying to organize better, too…  I’d just better make every minute count!

Men talk of killing time, while time quietly kills them.  ~Dion Boucicault    (isn’t this the truth?!)

Published in: on May 23, 2013 at 9:34 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/05/23/thursdays-thoughts-on-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I thought when you posted your Thursday’s Thoughts you were saying that “look my post is on time!” Ya know, like you just posted it in the nick of time.

    I don’t like to think of the passing of time either. Then end of the school year is winding down and it gets crazy busy where I work. The worst part of it all is Elisha will officially be in Jr. High next year!

  2. I’m with you on this. I’m noticing the same thing. I’ve always heard people say that when you get older, time goes faster. Now I believe it!!

  3. I was just talking about time on another blog. It is moving so quickly yet back in the day it seemed to take forever to turn 16 or 21! Then suddenly you are 62 and didn’t look forward to collecting SS. Enjoy your weekend.

  4. Yes, make every minute count, and try not to be so efficient that you don’t notice the little things that almost go unnoticed in any one minute – a bird calling down from a tree, a newly opened flower. If you miss these precious moments, you’ll never get another chance to appreciate them.

  5. Haha, whats funny is I thought wow, that’s alot of clocks. Then I realized we have almost that many. haha


Leave a Reply

